• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
189 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
yes ,can they modsli?
You can SLI with 8800GT / 9800GT / 8800GTS 512MB (NOT 320/640MB) / & GTS240(?) because they are all using the same G92 GPU.

But to do it you must flash the cards BIOS to the same model using nvflash, if it goes wrong you can kill the card!!!

There is a program called Nibitor that you can use fix the bios timings if needed, look here & on MVKtech forum for help with it.

i think i know in what matter is. i'm working on new halmod.
Great, I look forward to testing it. :). I thought that I must be doing something wrong.:banghead:

I do not think Biostar will ever make a geforce fix for my TA790GX board

(last time I buy a Biostar :wtf:) so sadly I can only test the old nforce4 board now.

I hope that you do not have to do a lot of work to fix it for nforce4.

I thought that because this board already has an SLI chipset & SLI bios then it might not need to use the x58 driver patch / HALmod.

Maybe there is some basic ACPI table patch that could make it work? But it is probably a lot more complicated then I think,

I do not really understand it. :confused:. thankyou for all your help, I live in hope...
 
Last edited:

agentdax5

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium
Cooling Scythe Mugen-2
Memory Cosiar 4GB (2 x 2GB) (PC2 6400) TWIN2X4096-6400C5
Video Card(s) XFX 9800 GT
Storage Seagate 750 GB, Hatachi 250 GB
Display(s) Acer X191W (19" Widescreen)
Case Antec 902
Power Supply Cosiar 750 Watt CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 x64 RTM
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
You can SLI with 8800GT / 9800GT / 8800GTS 512MB (NOT 320/640MB) / & GTS240(?) because they are all using the same G92 GPU.

But to do it you must flash the cards BIOS to the same model using nvflash, if it goes wrong you can kill the card!!!

There is a program called Nibitor that you can use fix the bios timings if needed, look here & on MVKtech forum for help with it.


Great, I look forward to testing it. :). I thought that I must be doing something wrong.:banghead:

I do not think Biostar will ever make a geforce fix for my TA790GX board

(last time I buy a Biostar :wtf:) so sadly I can only test the old nforce4 board now.

I hope that you do not have to do a lot of work to fix it for nforce4.

I thought that because this board already has an SLI chipset & SLI bios then it might not need to use the x58 driver patch / HALmod.

Maybe there is some basic ACPI table patch that could make it work? But it is probably a lot more complicated then I think,

I do not really understand it. :confused:. thankyou for all your help, I live in hope...
Hi

Is your board an TA790GX A2+ ? what BIOS?

thx
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
189 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
Hi, I have the TA790GX-128M (AM2+) I think it is a different board, is that A2+ board ok with x2 geforce cards?

The Bios is 78DEA113 BS (13/01/09) but I have also tried the other 2 other official bios and they have the same problem.

There are some BIOS mods on Rebels Haven to fix x3 unlocking & HT1600 bugs, I have asked Polygon about this problem but no reply yet...

thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Hi, I have the TA790GX-128M (AM2+) I think it is a different board, is that A2+ board ok with x2 geforce cards?

The Bios is 78DEA113 BS (13/01/09) but I have also tried the other 2 other official bios and they have the same problem.

There are some BIOS mods on Rebels Haven to fix x3 unlocking & HT1600 bugs, I have asked Polygon about this problem but no reply yet...

thanks
Well... about 128M don't know, but I tested the A2+ some months ago with CrossfireX, and it detected both 4850 cards, it should detect 2 nVidias cards also.

Are you sure both PCIe slots are working?

I don't have the A2+ any more, but if a can get my hands on one AMD Biostar board I will test with nvidia and ati cards.

BTW have you tested the latest (78DEA804.BST) ?
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
System Name Going Broke with Over Clocking
Processor Phenom II X4 955 @ 4.0GHz @ 1.475v, NB @ 3.0GHz @ 1.375v
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair III with EK FC Black Acetal Water Block
Cooling Vapochill SS on CPU @ -15°C idle, 2x Feser 360 Rads, 2x Swifty 655 Vario's, 6x Panaflo Fans
Memory OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-24 @ 1600MHz 7-7-7-21-31-1T @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) 2x XFX 8800GT's for now, waiting on 5870x2's
Storage 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0 and 1 VelociRaptor 300GB
Display(s) Chimei 22" Flat Screen - 1680x1050
Case Thermaltake Armor Black
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream 900w
Software Windows 7
Benchmark Scores 25066 3DMark06 with 4870x2 and 955 @ 4.5GHz
Thanks again, aGeoM, finally got it working after some weird installation issues with Win 7 x64.

 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Nice score!!!!! xD

I am so excited, I am going to be on SLI here in a couple weeks!!!
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
252 (0.07/day)
Likes
52
Location
Algarve/Portugal
System Name aGeoM's Black Spider Project
Processor AMD PHENOM X4 9950BE JAAHB AA 0820BPMW @3500
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II Formula, Bios 1210
Cooling D-Tek Fusion V2+Swiftech MCP655+Black Ice GTS-Lite 240 w/ 2 AC-Ryan 120 fans
Memory 2*1Gb OCZ 2N1066SR2GK @1066 CL5 5-5-15 2CR Unganged
Video Card(s) ASUS 9800GT Ultimate SLI
Storage RAID 2x Seagate 250Gb SataII ST3250410AS
Display(s) ACER P221W 22''
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II
Power Supply LC POWER ARKANGEL 850W
Software Windows Vista x64
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
System Name Going Broke with Over Clocking
Processor Phenom II X4 955 @ 4.0GHz @ 1.475v, NB @ 3.0GHz @ 1.375v
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair III with EK FC Black Acetal Water Block
Cooling Vapochill SS on CPU @ -15°C idle, 2x Feser 360 Rads, 2x Swifty 655 Vario's, 6x Panaflo Fans
Memory OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-24 @ 1600MHz 7-7-7-21-31-1T @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) 2x XFX 8800GT's for now, waiting on 5870x2's
Storage 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0 and 1 VelociRaptor 300GB
Display(s) Chimei 22" Flat Screen - 1680x1050
Case Thermaltake Armor Black
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream 900w
Software Windows 7
Benchmark Scores 25066 3DMark06 with 4870x2 and 955 @ 4.5GHz
Thanks.

Yeah, I tried first with the OC of 4.0GHz CPU and 3.0GHz NB (which is what I had "game stable" on Vista x64), but for some reason it would BSOD when installing Win7 x64 after the first reboot. Tried stock clocks and still the same thing. Then I tried reinstalling from scratch again, stock clocks, hung up, but no BSOD, right before it asks you to pick a username. So I tried for a fourth time and it finally felt like playing nice.

It was probably just a problem with the copy of the OS I have, since the 32bit installs w/o a hitch... a few times at that. Once I started installing the drivers and HALmod and the SLIC you sent me aGeoM, no problems at all.

And yeah, the score was with CPU @ 4.0GHz, NB @ 3.0GHz, RAM @ 1600 7-7-7-24 1T and stock XFX 8800GT's with Core @ 650, Shader @ 1600 and RAM @ 800MHz. I might try and tweak a lil more to see how much I can get outta this. Haven't tried in a long time to OC and make passes on the benchmarks... could be fun :D
 

cxghjcqr

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
86 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
CHN
System Name wolf :D
Processor Q6600
Motherboard GA-EP45-DS4
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Memory DDR2 1066 1GB×4 (GEIL Blackdragon by Micron D9GMH pellet)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC N260-896D3 X2 SLI
Storage ST SATA 320G(7200,10)
Display(s) SAMSUNG SyncMaster 226BW
Case Tt Armor.Jr Mini (VC3000BWS)
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Tt AH680
Software windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://bbs.expreview.com/viewthread.php?tid=24023&extra=page%3D1
I wonder why my PC can't enjoy playing CRYSIS after slimod.
In win7 64,running the game at 64bit, when ran crysis.exe ,it became black screen,the program can't be wakened.in win7 at 32bit ran it,the game could start,but when began playing , my PC reboot right away. I am upset about it.BTW it is usually BSOD when i switch between SLI and NO SLI in NVIDIA control panel
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
189 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
Well... about 128M don't know, but I tested the A2+ some months ago with CrossfireX, and it detected both 4850 cards, it should detect 2 nVidias cards also.

Are you sure both PCIe slots are working?

I don't have the A2+ any more, but if a can get my hands on one AMD Biostar board I will test with nvidia and ati cards.

BTW have you tested the latest (78DEA804.BST) ?
x2 ATI cards (of same model) are always OK, with x2 Nvidia cards only one is detected.

Looking at the bios history: http://www.lejabeach.com/Biostar/TA790GX128M/

It seems that there were a lot of graphics fixes early on, maybe this bug was introduced back then?

BIOS 78DBA525 description says: "1. Support Phenom II and Athlon II CPU."

I want to test older bios's but I can't risk it at the moment, if old BIOS can not POST the Phenom II then I will have a big problem,

I do not have an old AM2 Athlon here to fix it if it can not POST, I will have to try and pick up one up on eBay.


But, there is a new BIOS out today! If enough people have reported this problem to Biostar so maybe they have fixed it,

I will test it later but I am not holding my breath...



thanks again
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi
I have Biostar TP45 HP and 2x8800GT. I tried SLI mod and it didn`t work.
I tried on Vista64, Win7-32 and Win x64 RT.
I did:
1. Install OS(ACPI 3.0), drivers(forceware 190.62) and restart.
2. Turn off UAC.
2. Run slistringinstall as a admin, I selected a ASUS and restart.
3. Run Halmod 0.71 as a admin and restart.
CPU-Z shows X58.
4. Copy moded nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) Win7 x64 to C:\windows\system32\drivers\
5. Sign the nvlddmkm.sys and restart.

By falcon86
Why it doesn`t work ?
Please help me :)
 

cxghjcqr

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
86 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
CHN
System Name wolf :D
Processor Q6600
Motherboard GA-EP45-DS4
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Memory DDR2 1066 1GB×4 (GEIL Blackdragon by Micron D9GMH pellet)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC N260-896D3 X2 SLI
Storage ST SATA 320G(7200,10)
Display(s) SAMSUNG SyncMaster 226BW
Case Tt Armor.Jr Mini (VC3000BWS)
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Tt AH680
Software windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://bbs.expreview.com/viewthread.php?tid=24023&extra=page%3D1

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Hi
I have Biostar TP45 HP and 2x8800GT. I tried SLI mod and it didn`t work.
I tried on Vista64, Win7-32 and Win x64 RT.
I did:
1. Install OS(ACPI 3.0), drivers(forceware 190.62) and restart.
2. Turn off UAC.
2. Run slistringinstall as a admin, I selected a ASUS and restart.
3. Run Halmod 0.71 as a admin and restart.
CPU-Z shows X58.
4. Copy moded nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) Win7 x64 to C:\windows\system32\drivers\
5. Sign the nvlddmkm.sys and restart.
http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/5190/tp45x58.jpg
By falcon86
Why it doesn`t work ?
Please help me :)
Did you use the latest slistringinstall?

You could try manually placing the cert see this page: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1555905&postcount=644
Use the cert in red to replace the one slistringinstaler place, then use the nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) modded driver.
Follow your steps above, but without use of halmod. If your bios has (ACPI 2.0) give it a try lastly.

Edit:BTW I don't see were you say Test Mode is enable. Is it? If not that's you problem.
 
Last edited:

OgaiB

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi

I just did a clean OS install, this was what I had to do:

Motherboard DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH (0820a)
Graphics 2 x ASUS 9800GT
OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64

1 - Install Win7 x64.
2 - Install System and 190.62 Win7 x64 (WHQL) drivers.
3 - Disable UAC.
4 - Restart.
5 - Run SLI string installer as Admin select ASUS certificate.



6 - Run LHALMod as Admin



7 - Copy moded nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) Win7 x64 to C:\windows\system32\drivers\



8 - Sign the nvlddmkm.sys with:



http://img.techpowerup.org/090921/SLI Enabled.jpg

:toast:
Hi!
On the 5-th step, give error:



on the my Asus M479T Deluxe.

ASPI 2.0 is enable
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Hi!
On the 5-th step, give error:

http://i070.radikal.ru/0909/09/de898f63814f.jpg

on the my Asus M479T Deluxe.

ASPI 2.0 is enable
Have a read here: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=60844&page=16 forward a few pages.

Dump the DSDT table & look to see if there is a cert already there.

Give this cert a try:
This cert was designed to work with nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) Win7 x64 modded driver.
If you read forward from the link I posted you will see that sveets says the driver is modded to use this cert only.
Code:
            }
        }
    }

    Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Name (SLIC, Buffer (0x9E)
        {
            "987134512781Genuine NVIDIA Certified SLI Ready Motherboard for ASUS X58 Motherboard3287-Copyright 2008 NVIDIA Corporation All Rights Reserved-765289891023(R)"
        })
        Device (WMI1)
        {
            Name (_HID, "pnp0c14")
            Name (_UID, "MXM2")
            Name (_WDG, Buffer (0x14)
            {
                /* 0000 */    0x3C, 0x5C, 0xCB, 0xF6, 0xAE, 0x9C, 0xBD, 0x4E, 
                /* 0008 */    0xB5, 0x77, 0x93, 0x1E, 0xA3, 0x2A, 0x2C, 0xC0, 
                /* 0010 */    0x4D, 0x58, 0x01, 0x02
            })
            Method (WMMX, 3, NotSerialized)
            {
                CreateDWordField (Arg2, 0x00, FUNC)
                If (LEqual (FUNC, 0x41494C53))
                {
                    Return (\_SB.PCI0.SLIC)
                }

                Return (0x00)
            }
        }
    }
 
Last edited:

cxghjcqr

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
86 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
CHN
System Name wolf :D
Processor Q6600
Motherboard GA-EP45-DS4
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Memory DDR2 1066 1GB×4 (GEIL Blackdragon by Micron D9GMH pellet)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC N260-896D3 X2 SLI
Storage ST SATA 320G(7200,10)
Display(s) SAMSUNG SyncMaster 226BW
Case Tt Armor.Jr Mini (VC3000BWS)
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Tt AH680
Software windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://bbs.expreview.com/viewthread.php?tid=24023&extra=page%3D1
Hi friends!

I will be not here. I am very busy with modding hal. Therefore i can't help anyone for now
Ok,wish you a successful work.we will wait your achievements and will enjoy it.good luck
 
Last edited:

cxghjcqr

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
86 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
CHN
System Name wolf :D
Processor Q6600
Motherboard GA-EP45-DS4
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Memory DDR2 1066 1GB×4 (GEIL Blackdragon by Micron D9GMH pellet)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC N260-896D3 X2 SLI
Storage ST SATA 320G(7200,10)
Display(s) SAMSUNG SyncMaster 226BW
Case Tt Armor.Jr Mini (VC3000BWS)
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Tt AH680
Software windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://bbs.expreview.com/viewthread.php?tid=24023&extra=page%3D1

agentdax5

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium
Cooling Scythe Mugen-2
Memory Cosiar 4GB (2 x 2GB) (PC2 6400) TWIN2X4096-6400C5
Video Card(s) XFX 9800 GT
Storage Seagate 750 GB, Hatachi 250 GB
Display(s) Acer X191W (19" Widescreen)
Case Antec 902
Power Supply Cosiar 750 Watt CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 x64 RTM
Hi

I just did a clean OS install, this was what I had to do:

Motherboard DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH (0820a)
Graphics 2 x ASUS 9800GT
OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64

1 - Install Win7 x64.
2 - Install System and 190.62 Win7 x64 (WHQL) drivers.
3 - Disable UAC.
4 - Restart.
5 - Run SLI string installer as Admin select ASUS certificate.
6 - Run LHALMod as Admin
7 - Copy moded nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) Win7 x64 to C:\windows\system32\drivers\
8 - Sign the nvlddmkm.sys with:
I borked my last Win7 x64 installation so I did a clean install and folowed these instructions exactly.

I'm using an ASUS P5Q premium board, using a 9800 GT amd 8800 GT (Flashed to a 9800 GT Bios). Any idea why it isn't working?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Did you use the latest slistringinstall?

You could try manually placing the cert see this page: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1555905&postcount=644
Use the cert in red to replace the one slistringinstaler place, then use the nvlddmkm.sys (rev2) modded driver.
Follow your steps above, but without use of halmod. If your bios has (ACPI 2.0) give it a try lastly.

Edit:BTW I don't see were you say Test Mode is enable. Is it? If not that's you problem.
slistringinstaler i downloaded from here
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1562277&postcount=923
Now I`m going to try to do this like u said.
Thanks
ps. sorry for my english :)
 
Last edited: