• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

oiluj

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (G0)
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (Intel P35)
Cooling Zalman CNPS8700 LED
Memory 4GB: Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 2x2GB kit
Video Card(s) 2x nVidia 8800GT in SLI (YES, I said "in SLI" with a P35 chipset!!)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150GB + 2x WD CaviarBlue 500GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226CW + LG Flatron F900P
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Analog Devices AD1988B HD-Audio (Integrated)
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Any good news/step forward in v195.62 drivers work ??? (either with modded HAL or directly modded drivers?)
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
zmgbyn

What CPU do you use? If Xeon, try with some generic Core CPU. Just for test, to be sure on this
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
137 (0.05/day)
Likes
64
Any good news/step forward in v195.62 drivers work ??? (either with modded HAL or directly modded drivers?)
It's being worked on, but I've been low on time lately. I'm doing what I can. Worst case scenario, I've got 9 days off coming up at the end of the month.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
We are working on 195 drivers.

Still no much success yet, but we have next ideas to try.
 

Attachments

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
I got 2 8800GT's in SLI on my P4 661 with a 915chipset :laugh: thats one big ass bottleneck
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
p_o_s_pc

LOL. what exact mobo?
 

oiluj

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (G0)
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (Intel P35)
Cooling Zalman CNPS8700 LED
Memory 4GB: Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 2x2GB kit
Video Card(s) 2x nVidia 8800GT in SLI (YES, I said "in SLI" with a P35 chipset!!)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150GB + 2x WD CaviarBlue 500GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226CW + LG Flatron F900P
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Analog Devices AD1988B HD-Audio (Integrated)
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
i keep working. they did check for patches.
It's being worked on, but I've been low on time lately. I'm doing what I can. Worst case scenario, I've got 9 days off coming up at the end of the month.
We are working on 195 drivers.
Still no much success yet, but we have next ideas to try.
OK, keep on this AWESOME work!! You're doing great!

In case you wanna include another succesful one:
I got SLI working with 2x8800GT on an Asus P5K Premium/WiFi-AP (Intel P35 chipset), under Vista x64 (modded 190.62 drivers) and Windows 7 x64 (modded HAL & original 191.07 drivers)
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
I figured I would add yet another datapoint:

Asus Crosshair III Formula (790FX chipset)
Dual GTX280s
Windows 7 x64
HAL mod
191.07 drivers
-Works great

Upgraded to 195.xx WHQL drivers, no SLI. Decided to run with only 1 card, video would drop out completely (black screen) and lock the system. Uninstalled the extra GTX280, still 195.xx WHQL drivers and would still get black screens and lockups. Uninstalled 195.xx WHQL drivers, reinstalled 191.07s, system is stable, runs great.

Obviously they are not only doing extra checks for 195.xx WHQL drivers, but they are also causing problems if they do find things patched. I did not undo the HAL mod to see if 195.xx WHQL drivers would work or not without it.

I was originally running a Foxconn Destroyer (nvidia 780a chipset) with a 9950BE along with the dual GTX280s. But, I decided to setup a machine for my oldest daughter that would server double-duty as a server, so the motherboard/processor/memory and a 9800GTX I had sitting around went into her setup and I upgraded to a Asus Crosshair III Formula with a X4 955 and DDR3 RAM because I got a hell of a deal on everything, but really the major reason I decided it was doable was because of the SLI hack due to my dual GTX280s.

The new setup runs flawlessly with the 191.07 drivers and I really hope you guys figure out how to get even newer ones running.

I just can't believe that nVidia doesn't offer a consumer level 'upgrade' where we as consumers could buy a nVidia SLI certificate/certification for our motherboards. Hell, I believe the cost I heard for x58 motherboard producers was $5 per board for certifying them, so why not offer the same to consumers for $7-10 for whatever system they want to run under SLI?

Now I do understand that some system may not be 100% compatible, and nVidia probably doesn't want to get into the testing/certification market because of that, but why not offer it on a 'development' basis for those of use that want to 'take the risk'? (well, outside of the OBVIOUS, and probably biggest reason they don't, and that being all the idiots that can barely put there system together, let alone configure a system to run a setup it wasn't intended/certified for, as I am certian they would be inundated with support calls/problems... Hell, I wouldn't doubt this hack alone hasn't generated some increased tech-support for some vendors)
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
here is some proof that i got it to work on the old 915 chipset
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Okay so I got hold of another 7950GT and I have an SLi bridge ready

I have one question though...

The only 6 pin PCI-E connector I could get hold of only has 3 wires going into it, and 3 metal pins, even though it is a 6 pin socket design, therefore it still fits onto the card...

Will this work? Cos it worked for my X850XT and that had a 6 pin socket

If so, I'll set up my SLi on this ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (i975x chipset) and let people know how it goes :)
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Yea... drivers just say they're installed but say "The system has not been modified. Please run the installation again to complete setup" and it says that every time (of course, I'm referring to the modified drivers on this page: http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30 )

I've installed the SLICString and that is okay, but the drivers won't install :|

Why?

EDIT: It won't even let me install normal original drivers either, I'm guessing it's cos I have this other card in...

Obviously it knows that and won't let me install drivers :/

Is there anybody who can help me get SLi working?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
If it have +12V and GND + GND for sense i should work, but I suggest you to change your PSU to better one
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Lack of data to help
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
137 (0.05/day)
Likes
64
195.62 has been cracked and is running on my P45 board. I will not be releasing details or drivers until we are sure on how we want to release this. I'd like to make it less confusing this time. I will be talking with anatolymik to figure out if he can properly implement this without running a modified unsigned driver.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
195.62 has been cracked and is running on my P45 board. I will not be releasing details or drivers until we are sure on how we want to release this. I'd like to make it less confusing this time. I will be talking with anatolymik to figure out if he can properly implement this without running a modified unsigned driver.
well done Svetsnelda. You are best :)
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
195.62 has been cracked and is running on my P45 board. I will not be releasing details or drivers until we are sure on how we want to release this. I'd like to make it less confusing this time. I will be talking with anatolymik to figure out if he can properly implement this without running a modified unsigned driver.
Wow great news!

If you need a tester, you know I'm here & willing to do so.

Running a modified unsigned driver is fine with me.
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
nVIDIA 7950GT SLi on i975x ASUS P5W DH Deluxe

Modded Forceware 190.68 with SLi String Installer

 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.35/day)
Likes
161
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
n1, so glad to se fellow p45 members with sli :)
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
nice to see this working on alot of chipsets... I almost want to grab a 2nd 7900GS to see how 2 voltmodded 7900GS would do in SLI on a X2 240 when i get it :laugh:
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Just tested with 3D Mark 06

My score went from 5000 with SLi disabled to 8000 with SLi enabled, and it was a lot smoother in the animation sequences (obviously lol)

Loving it :)
 

hdcore

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Great work guy's! Glad I found this forum. I got it working with method 1 and 2 from the http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30 website. However its not working stable. Some game's (battlefield 2142, left 4 dead) crash the pc after few minutes of game play and the computer just restarts. I can't finish 3d mark 06 benchmark without it restarting the system :( It works fine in Section-8 and FFOW though :) Maybe I'm doing it wrong but I can enable sli in nv control panel and gpu-z shows 2 gpu cores. Same results with both methods.

EVGA 8800 gts 512mb x2 w/bridge
190.62 nvidia
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
ASRock P45X3 Deluxe (P45 chipset)
Xeon 3060
2 gig DDR3
silverstone 600 watt sli ready
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
Great work guy's! Glad I found this forum. I got it working with method 1 and 2 from the http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30 website. However its not working stable. Some game's (battlefield 2142, left 4 dead) crash the pc after few minutes of game play and the computer just restarts. I can't finish 3d mark 06 benchmark without it restarting the system :( It works fine in Section-8 and FFOW though :) Maybe I'm doing it wrong but I can enable sli in nv control panel and gpu-z shows 2 gpu cores. Same results with both methods.

EVGA 8800 gts 512mb x2 w/bridge
190.62 nvidia
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
ASRock P45X3 Deluxe (P45 chipset)
Xeon 3060
2 gig DDR3
silverstone 600 watt sli ready
Are you overclocking your CPU or video cards?
If OC of CPU, you may have to add extra voltage to stabilize the system.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
you may need to add alittle voltage to the chipset and are you sure the PSU can handle it? One last thing the 191 drivers work great