• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
As far as I see, since mod was released 99.99% of all instability reported here is caused by non-stable overclock, flawy videocards, PSU or another hardware problem. Check every component in detail. SLI mod just fools ID for driver, it's doing NOTHING to SLI tech or driver routines. It's all there as was made by nvidia.

And now, Good news!
Forceware driver 195.62 WHQL succesfully patched now by our master Sveetsnelda. :rockout::respect::toast:

This time Windows Vista/7 32-bit version.

Test rig:

QX9650
ASUS P5B DLX (P965 chipset)
2 x 8800Ultra
Win7 32bit RTM build 7600, with just only SLIC patched in registry by SLIstringinstall v2.0



Even no test mode , no need for that for 32bit.


We will release mod public soon. :cool:
 

hdcore

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Are you overclocking your CPU or video cards?
If OC of CPU, you may have to add extra voltage to stabilize the system.
Yes I do overclock my processor and thought about that while I was testing all this out and I get the same results overclocked or not. I'll keep tweaking tell I can find out whats causing this. Everything is fine when I disable sli so I dunno. Maybe this mod don't like my board :(

What I've tried:
bridge no bridge
reformat reinstall everything
default bios settings
swapped card slots
tested cards individually
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
As far as I see, since mod was released 99.99% of all instability reported here is caused by non-stable overclock, flawy videocards, PSU or another hardware problem. Check every component in detail. SLI mod just fools ID for driver, it's doing NOTHING to SLI tech or driver routines. It's all there as was made by nvidia.

And now, Good news!
Forceware driver 195.62 WHQL succesfully patched now by our master Sveetsnelda. :rockout::respect::toast:

This time Windows Vista/7 32-bit version.

Test rig:

QX9650
ASUS P5B DLX (P965 chipset)
2 x 8800Ultra
Win7 32bit RTM build 7600, with just only SLIC patched in registry by SLIstringinstall v2.0

http://www.xdevs.com/sli/sli195.png

Even no test mode , no need for that for 32bit.


We will release mod public soon. :cool:
Nice going!
Pass me the patch so I may test with GA-X48-DQ6 & 2x 260GTX.
Thx in advance.
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
If you want anyone to test the patch with Win7 x64, 790fx (Asus Crosshair III Formula) and dual GTX280s, just let me know.
 

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Sweet :)

Can't wait until it goes public

Gonna see if the SLi stays on same performance level in Windows 7 as XP setup
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Sweet :)

Can't wait until it goes public

Gonna see if the SLi stays on same performance level in Windows 7 as XP setup
Before it become public, we should know about checking completely.
appears i finished with hal. it emulates completely. now i'm modding kernel.
there is a lot of work i think. it's too bad i don't have x58 platform.
i need help from sveetsnelda to make patch faster.
 
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,514 (0.48/day)
Likes
257
Location
South California, The desert.
System Name My Computer
Processor Core 2 Q9550 4Ghz 1.23volts
Motherboard Gigabyte
Cooling Corsair
Memory OCZ
Video Card(s) Galaxy
Storage Western Digital
Display(s) Acer
Case Lian li
Audio Device(s) Asus
Power Supply Corsiar
Software Microsoft
Benchmark Scores 25,000 3dmark06 at 4.35Ghz processor, 835core card!
How would i get SLI working on a EP45-UD3P and 2xGTX 260's, because i got one and I would love to get another for christmas, if you can step it for me this would be wonderfull, I have windows XP 32-bit, Vista 32-bit, Might be getting windows 7 32bit for 30 bucks in a couple of days.
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
How would i get SLI working on a EP45-UD3P and 2xGTX 260's, because i got one and I would love to get another for christmas, if you can step it for me this would be wonderfull, I have windows XP 32-bit, Vista 32-bit, Might be getting windows 7 32bit for 30 bucks in a couple of days.
32bit isn't the best OS to try this on. I had more success using 64bit. if you can get 64bit Windows 7 and follow the steps for the HAL mod and things should work ok. Or you could try the HAL mod under 32bit. BUT its not a sure things keep that in mind
 
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,514 (0.48/day)
Likes
257
Location
South California, The desert.
System Name My Computer
Processor Core 2 Q9550 4Ghz 1.23volts
Motherboard Gigabyte
Cooling Corsair
Memory OCZ
Video Card(s) Galaxy
Storage Western Digital
Display(s) Acer
Case Lian li
Audio Device(s) Asus
Power Supply Corsiar
Software Microsoft
Benchmark Scores 25,000 3dmark06 at 4.35Ghz processor, 835core card!
32bit isn't the best OS to try this on. I had more success using 64bit. if you can get 64bit Windows 7 and follow the steps for the HAL mod and things should work ok. Or you could try the HAL mod under 32bit. BUT its not a sure things keep that in mind
Were do i find the intructions, for the HAL mod, cause im ready to download tools and edit some file code and stuff, i really just want to get 260sli on the p45,

I have a 64-bit vista that i can use. When i do a fresh install i will try and try again if i fail for a while.
 
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,514 (0.48/day)
Likes
257
Location
South California, The desert.
System Name My Computer
Processor Core 2 Q9550 4Ghz 1.23volts
Motherboard Gigabyte
Cooling Corsair
Memory OCZ
Video Card(s) Galaxy
Storage Western Digital
Display(s) Acer
Case Lian li
Audio Device(s) Asus
Power Supply Corsiar
Software Microsoft
Benchmark Scores 25,000 3dmark06 at 4.35Ghz processor, 835core card!
Were do i find the intructions, for the HAL mod, cause im ready to download tools and edit some file code and stuff, i really just want to get 260sli on the p45,

I have a 64-bit vista that i can use. When i do a fresh install i will try and try again if i fail for a while.
found link to a thread which i think tells me everything omg im ganna get sli working i put it on someones life!!!!.
 

TheWolf

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
211 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
Location
Pascagoula, Ms
System Name TheWolf
Processor Q9650/Q9550
Motherboard Abit IP35ProXE/IX38QuadGT
Cooling Big Typhoon x4
Memory G-Skill/A-Data/SuperTalent
Video Card(s) 3x MSI 260GTX OC 2x216 1x192 shaders
Storage Hitachi 80gb x2
Display(s) Norcent/Neovo
Case none/benching stations
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Crosair TX650W
Software XP/W7
I don't think XP 32bit would be a problem in your case with a P45 board.
I'm pretty sure I read that someone here has already done it on P45 & XP.

The 790fx chipset seems to be the hardest to setup on any platforum at this time.

I've done XP 32bit on X38, X48 & P35 chipsets, without any real problems.

so Intel chip vs AMD chipset, Intel has had more success.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
183 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
Location
Austria
System Name bazinga 2.8
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASrock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Corsair H100i GT
Memory 32GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 980Ti G6 1506/4005
Storage 512GB 840EVO, 3TB HDD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T |BenQ XL2411T
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply EVGA 1000G2
Software Win10 x64
o yeah thats awesome:respect:, cant wait to try out this moded driver with my comp in mixed sli P45/gtx275+8800gts :rockout:
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.35/day)
Likes
161
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
yea it was easy on xp pro x86 and asus p5q(p45 chipset), followed the instructions and it was enabled and running in a matter of minutes.
 

hdcore

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I thought it was working cause I could select sli in nvidia control panel and gpu-z showed 2 gpu's but I had system instability in some games and benchmarks. I installed everest and reallized the SLI String isn't installing into my DSDT table no matter what I try?? Anyone have luck with this on a p45 asrock mobo? I guess it wasn't working fully. I'll reinstall OS and try again :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,514 (0.48/day)
Likes
257
Location
South California, The desert.
System Name My Computer
Processor Core 2 Q9550 4Ghz 1.23volts
Motherboard Gigabyte
Cooling Corsair
Memory OCZ
Video Card(s) Galaxy
Storage Western Digital
Display(s) Acer
Case Lian li
Audio Device(s) Asus
Power Supply Corsiar
Software Microsoft
Benchmark Scores 25,000 3dmark06 at 4.35Ghz processor, 835core card!
I didnt get luck getting sli with my ep45-ud3p and GTX 260's sitting in my rig at the moment.

I have windows XP 32-bit installed here is what I did.

Downloaded SLIC v2.0 and installed ASUS SLIC Verification
Downloaded modded 190.61 drivers and installed them,
rebooted and no sli.

I tried putting a modded nv4 file into system 32, drivers to see if that worked and no go.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Send me your DSDT and everest screenie with sli cert.
Try hal mod
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true


hehe
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
dbphelps

Any problems? Everything for 180-191 drivers shared. Just better help :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
And, unless you are going to share, why even gloat about it? :rolleyes:
if they go posting it out and it has a one in 10 chance of fucking your PC up, wouldnt you rather know about it beforehand?


Theyre trying to do a good job, without nvidia learning about it and blocking it like they already did with the previous mod. quit bitching, wait in line.
 

dbphelps

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Actually, I have zero problem with someone posting it can be done and it is being worked on...

The gloating "hehe" is the issue. Totally unnecessary. If you had a break-thru, then post the details.

Sorry, some of us are a bit more mature and really don't need some of the stupidity, that is all.

Actually, I would rather them post up the details of what is being worked on and how, etc... It all will be exposed once it is released, so anything having to do with nVidia is moot.

I mean, honestly, it is as bad as people posting up benchmark screens at some absurd overclock, it is stupid unless it is useable, and really is only useable if you can share how it was accomplished so others can also do the same, otherwise it is completely 'gloating' and usually only for personal satisfaction.

Personally, I view this nVidia "hack" as a correction to a design/implimentation 'flaw' that is driven by greed on nVidia's part more than anything else. Just as bad as them disabling the use of a nVidia card for Physx if an ATi card is present in the system. Petty, greedy, ignorant - all terms that come to mind when thinking about them playing these games.

The SLI-Certified label should provide consumers with a level of confidence that the system they are buying is optimized for SLI-usage, but it shouldn't be the ONLY systems that SLI will operate on. This hack proves it.

Makes you wonder how much older hardware was prematurely "end-of-lifed" before mature drivers ever extracted maximum performance out of the hardware.

I am certain ATi made optimizations in thier chipset design to get the most out of Crossfire, just the way nVidia did for SLI with thier chipsets. The technological implimentations are certainly unique to each architecture, but I am certain that the capabilities could be acocunted for in newer designs so that things would be optimized across the board. Heck, look at Hydra and thier aproach to multi-GPU and it is totally different than either manufacturer.

Back to the "SLI-hack", I hope it is totally debunked and the final version will allow any driver to be able to be loaded. Continued games on nVidias part to block it will most certainly end up becoming issues with actual SLI users, so hopefully they end up understanding that such a low-percentage of users would go this route that it is not worth affecting actual SLI-certified users. Heck, if nVidia truely doesn't have any chipset plans for the future, why would they care?
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
Details are on screen. We just managed to get things working, with debugger, 2 computer system etc linked together to trace everything.
After we test we work on user-friendly patch for public. No offence at all, dbphelps.

If you don't like this hehe - personal sorry just for you for that.

WBR,
Ilya
 

stojko

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hey... I'm getting another 8800GT for my x38 rig. I hope this patch gets released soon.
Keep up the good work.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
If you had a break-thru, then post the details
Are you blind?

Forceware driver 195.62 WHQL succesfully patched now by our master Sveetsnelda
195.62 has been cracked and is running on my P45 board. I will not be releasing details or drivers until we are sure on how we want to release this. I'd like to make it less confusing this time. I will be talking with anatolymik to figure out if he can properly implement this without running a modified unsigned driver.
Those are what are called "details". What did you want, them to release it as soon as it's working? Clearly you have no idea how development works
 
Last edited:

MikeTyson

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
645 (0.22/day)
Likes
20
Location
South East, United Kingdom
System Name Swag
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 4GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L
Cooling Scythe Infinity I Push-Pull w/ AS5
Memory 2x2GB Transcend 800MHz DDR2 @ 890MHz 1.9v
Video Card(s) Palit nVIDIA GTX460 1GB 800/1600/2000
Storage Crucial M4 64GB
Display(s) LG Flatron M1917TM 1280x1024 @ 60Hz
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
I didnt get luck getting sli with my ep45-ud3p and GTX 260's sitting in my rig at the moment.

I have windows XP 32-bit installed here is what I did.

Downloaded SLIC v2.0 and installed ASUS SLIC Verification
Downloaded modded 190.61 drivers and installed them,
rebooted and no sli.

I tried putting a modded nv4 file into system 32, drivers to see if that worked and no go.
I had this exact same problem

Formatted, and re installed Windows XP Pro SP3 (32 Bit)

Whilst I reinstalled Windows, I kept both cards in during installation and bootup etc...

Worked like a charm :)

P.S. I tested 3DMark 06 on Windows XP and Windows 7 and there was no difference
 
Last edited: