• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to find out how much RAM my laptop supports

Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,352 (0.44/day)
4GB DDR4 2400MHz SDRAM Onboard memory, 1x SO-DIMM socket for expansion, total up to 12GB SDRAM.

or

0GB DDR4 2400MHz SDRAM Onboard memory, 1x SO-DIMM socket for expansion, total up to 8GB SDRAM.

Depends on the sub-model.

There are single SO-DIMM chips with up to 32GB, maybe they'll also work, just maybe.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I downloaded CPU-Z to check what's going on inside of this lappy and it shows only 1 slot taken by 8gb model only?
Would that mean I can only get a 4gb module in this case?
Dual channel would be sorta messed up?!
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I guess I would need to open it up and see if it actually has a slot free?
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,352 (0.44/day)
If you must, but its most likely populated by 8GB.

ASUS listed onboard memory of 4GB or 0GB.

You said CPU-Z detected a single stick of 8GB.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Yeah cpu-z states only 1 chip - single channel 8GB CL17.
Bit odd?
I have yet to open it up and probably won't get a chance for awhile but would it be safe to just buy another 8gb and hope for the best or is that simply an awful idea?
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,352 (0.44/day)
Yeah cpu-z states only 1 chip - single channel 8GB CL17.
Bit odd?
I have yet to open it up and probably won't get a chance for awhile but would it be safe to just buy another 8gb and hope for the best or is that simply an awful idea?
Awful idea!! your laptop has just a single SO-DIMM slot, and its already populated.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I suppose that means this laptop can never actually run in dual channel? Seems odd as Ryzen really needs dual channel to perform it's best..
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,135 (0.58/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909
Yeah cpu-z states only 1 chip - single channel 8GB CL17.
Bit odd?
I have yet to open it up and probably won't get a chance for awhile but would it be safe to just buy another 8gb and hope for the best or is that simply an awful idea?
Your model says 4GB soldered, If you have 8GB Total, the 1 available slot has a 4GB module for 8GB total. ( Your models says it accepts 4 + 8 =12GB)

If I was in your shoes I would try to buy a single 16GB stick and see if it goes. (4 + 16 =20GB)

https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport/comments/est2ys
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,135 (0.58/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909
Wrong model. He has this one:

Better?


 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,158 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Yeah cpu-z states only 1 chip - single channel 8GB CL17.
Bit odd?
I have yet to open it up and probably won't get a chance for awhile but would it be safe to just buy another 8gb and hope for the best or is that simply an awful idea?
If CPU-Z says 1 slot in use with 8GB, then you have the version with 0GB soldered on the board. So 8GB is the max you can do, and no chance of dual-channel.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,135 (0.58/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909
If CPU-Z says 1 slot in use with 8GB, then you have the version with 0GB soldered on the board. So 8GB is the max you can do, and no chance of dual-channel.
That max memory is not always true, many can take twice the amount specified.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit

Sorry guys this is the model I bought at that soundstore here in my local town!

Asus X512DAEJ877T
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,135 (0.58/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909

Sorry guys this is the model I bought at that soundstore here in my local town!

Asus X512DAEJ877T

Assuming you have the latest/newest Bios then it is a X512DA.... (blah blah blah model specific)

Even if it has only 1 slot, 16GB should work.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Without dual channel support I barely see much point in getting a 16gb chip as it's hardly going to improve performance much at all.

I'll have to open the laptop during the weekend and see if it really only has a single slot available.

I'm completely stomped if a laptop only has 1 ram slot..never in my life would I ever have imagined that being an actual thing!! Really surprising and very disappointing.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,352 (0.44/day)
Check the memory copy speed with AIDA64. 25GB/s and above is good enough.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
1591357894888.png


This doesn't look great does it? 17mb/s?!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,158 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I'm completely stomped if a laptop only has 1 ram slot..never in my life would I ever have imagined that being an actual thing!! Really surprising and very disappointing.
It's pretty common these days.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
561 (0.30/day)
System Name open air
Processor Ryzen R7 1700 Stock
Motherboard Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Scythe Fuma
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 X 16GB) DDR4 DRAM 3466 (PC4-27700) C16 for Intel 100 Series - Red PC M
Video Card(s) XFX RX460 4GB SINGLE SLOT
Storage Crucial Mx100 256GB & Sandisk SSD Plus 480GB
Display(s) NOW LG 27MP38 1980X1080 IPS/OLD Philips Brilliance 220CW 1680x1050 CCFL Monitor ( DEFUNCT)
Case NOTHING no case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR SF450 PLATINUM
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Mk240 Nano Wireless Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
Most laptop rams are pretty much soldered nowadays, having even one one is lucky thing already. Most laptop are not design to be upgrade able, even if they are partially upgradeable like having one ram slot getting to it is pain...It is not just unscrew bottom panel and that its. For thinkpads it just two screws and slide out panel. But for the asus laptop I did for ultrabook for the ux series, I have to use a guitar pick and pry it open. You need a strong pick to easily do this. Its a huge pain prying the out. Generally new laptops need pick to pry the panel out nowadays unless its a thinkpad or workstation where access is easy. Those are my experience upgrading those laptop in retail last time.


Edit: I think this should be your laptop or a variant of it.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,627 (0.52/day)
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte b450m ds3h
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3000mhzCL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8gb
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB SSHD + Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Crossover 34u100 3440x1440 Ultrawide 100hz
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Yeah I've watched a few videos and boy it looks very annoying and hard to open to back of it..

And that video pretty much looks bang on what my laptop looks look.

So I guess at this rate...is it worth buying a 16gb module? Would it help much in the way of performance?
I'm only using this laptop for general surfing the web and YouTube and football manager 2020.

If I were to bother doing this upgrade.. any suggestions on which module to actually buy now?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
561 (0.30/day)
System Name open air
Processor Ryzen R7 1700 Stock
Motherboard Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Scythe Fuma
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 X 16GB) DDR4 DRAM 3466 (PC4-27700) C16 for Intel 100 Series - Red PC M
Video Card(s) XFX RX460 4GB SINGLE SLOT
Storage Crucial Mx100 256GB & Sandisk SSD Plus 480GB
Display(s) NOW LG 27MP38 1980X1080 IPS/OLD Philips Brilliance 220CW 1680x1050 CCFL Monitor ( DEFUNCT)
Case NOTHING no case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR SF450 PLATINUM
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Mk240 Nano Wireless Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
Yeah I've watched a few videos and boy it looks very annoying and hard to open to back of it..

And that video pretty much looks bang on what my laptop looks look.

So I guess at this rate...is it worth buying a 16gb module? Would it help much in the way of performance?
I'm only using this laptop for general surfing the web and YouTube and football manager 2020.

If I were to bother doing this upgrade.. any suggestions on which module to actually buy now?
It is worth it for me even for regular surfing of the web, 8GB is the bare minimum nowadays because of internet and chrome bloat. Playing games might not help much as they deal mostly with graphics but it would help alot with background process running.

Get the crucial modules, unlikely to go wrong with them. If they are Jedec standard 2400 or 2666 it should work just fine.

Be careful prying them out. I remember prying the laptop open with the customer staring at my work lol then. Not an enjoyable job.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,158 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Yeah I've watched a few videos and boy it looks very annoying and hard to open to back of it..
It isn't really that hard, I've opened quite a few ASUS laptops. The iFixit pry tool makes quick work of popping the bottom off.

So I guess at this rate...is it worth buying a 16gb module? Would it help much in the way of performance?
I'm only using this laptop for general surfing the web and YouTube and football manager 2020.
Doing those things you aren't likely going to use more than 8GB of RAM, so it would probably be wasted money.

I'd use the laptop for a while and keep an eye on RAM usagge, if you find yourself using all 8GB, then try the upgrade.
 
Top