• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To Flash RTX Video Card BIOS To A Different Series

Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,643 (1.50/day)
Likes
1,828
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) XFX RS RX 480 GPU @ 1288 MHz - 1.045 mV from 1.175 | GDDR5 @ 2075 MHz
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 (dead)
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire FPS
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#1
"For a few generations now, NVIDIA has been slowly changing how traditional overclocking has been achieved. It used to be a simple process of increasing the video card's clock speed and that was it. With NVIDIA's Turing generation of GPUs, that has changed for the worse. Not only is the BIOS encrypted, but NVIDIA has also gone to great lengths to make sure the Founders Edition and OC (overclocked) editions are the top performers on the market. On top of releasing two variants of the same GPU (A and Non-A), the BIOS restricts the Power Target Limit and makes a difference how far a card can overclock.

As much as I resisted the urge to write this article, I felt people have to right to do what the want with hardware they purchase. This is very risky and can easily result in a bricked video card. Just keep that in mind."

Source: Overclockers Club

Has anybody done this yet?
 

Kawarius

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.28/day)
Likes
2
#2
I have done it with my RTX 2080TI.
There is a patched NVflash version that let's you flash Turing cards.

And for the 2080ti, kfa2/Galax released one of their reference pcb cards with a 300 watt default limit, and 380 watt max limit. This is usually the go to bios for reference pcb overclocking, as this gives a limit even higher than ftw3 (by 7 watts).

Usually the air coolers have a tough time handling the extra heat, but watercooled card I would do it in a heartbeat. Running it myself on my custom loop, and haven't had any issues. With the extra headroom, I hit 1965-1985mhz core without adding anything on core clocks.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
461 (0.15/day)
Likes
166
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#3
does galax has a model like that for gtx 1080, would it potentially increase power limit and would the twin acx 3.0 coolers of evga handle it fine?
What about fan profiles that need to match/ I did get a bios update from evga fixing vrm heat/fan speeds.
 

Kawarius

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.28/day)
Likes
2
#4
does galax has a model like that for gtx 1080, would it potentially increase power limit and would the twin acx 3.0 coolers of evga handle it fine?
What about fan profiles that need to match/ I did get a bios update from evga fixing vrm heat/fan speeds.
Unknown, haven't had any Nvidia card until my 2080ti, so pascal cards are unknown to me. Would think there are more bioses there aimed at XOC than is available for Turing though.

Just make sure for those doing it with 2080ti that this bios ONLY works with A chips.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,223 (2.14/day)
Likes
6,898
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#5
I have done it with my RTX 2080TI.
There is a patched NVflash version that let's you flash Turing cards.

And for the 2080ti, kfa2/Galax released one of their reference pcb cards with a 300 watt default limit, and 380 watt max limit. This is usually the go to bios for reference pcb overclocking, as this gives a limit even higher than ftw3 (by 7 watts).

Usually the air coolers have a tough time handling the extra heat, but watercooled card I would do it in a heartbeat. Running it myself on my custom loop, and haven't had any issues. With the extra headroom, I hit 1965-1985mhz core without adding anything on core clocks.
Hmm. My MSI Duke has a 111% built in limit. With AB sliders at max power, no core OC, my standard core range is (on Metro Exodus) about 1890-1965.

I wonder if the BIOS flash actually does that much?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
1,069 (1.38/day)
Likes
509
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard asus z170i pro gaming
Cooling ekwb custom loop for cpu/gpu running on d5 and 480 rad
Memory 2*16gb ddr4-2400
Video Card(s) msi geforce gtx 1080 ti aero
Storage 250gb 950 pro, 2*500gb samsung 850 evo
Display(s) asus pg279q, eizo ev2736w
Case thermaltake core p5
Power Supply seasonic platinum 660
Mouse logitech g700
Keyboard corsair k60
#7
Hmm. My MSI Duke has a 111% built in limit. With AB sliders at max power, no core OC, my standard core range is (on Metro Exodus) about 1890-1965.
I wonder if the BIOS flash actually does that much?
What does AB tell you about what limits the GPU?
If power limit is triggering, BIOS flash to one with higher power limit will (or, can) help.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
461 (0.15/day)
Likes
166
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#8
This link is to 1080 strix bios that is voltage /fan/power modded, as in no limits. Your mileage may vary, ensure you have the power phases and the cooling to match,
You may need an updated/recent/patched flasher with -6 command switch, after disabling the gpu in device manager

http://www.mediafire.com/download/22ifgc9yuk72eyg/strix1080xoc_t4.zip
 

Kawarius

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.28/day)
Likes
2
#9
i would suggest you submit that to @W1zzard via PM for verification
Its Something he would be intrested in
It's a public release, so not hard to get ones hands on. But will do non the less.
TPU has already done a article on the Nvflash too, so it's pretty easy to find.

Hmm. My MSI Duke has a 111% built in limit. With AB sliders at max power, no core OC, my standard core range is (on Metro Exodus) about 1890-1965.

I wonder if the BIOS flash actually does that much?
Depends on what the limits are, the kfa2 bios is 300 watts+27%. So 380 watts. I didn't hit limits on my stock bios until 2070mhz ish. But with the new one, I can manage 2160mhz before hitting powerlimits. For stock clocks/no OC it doesn't do much, but when aiming for 2100 and above, it's nice to have that extra headroom. It all comes down to each chip though. Some needs lot of voltage, some doesn't to hit the same frequency.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
461 (0.15/day)
Likes
166
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#10
I wonder if the card will unlock without shunt modding, and whether the air cooling can even handle it.
 

Kawarius

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.28/day)
Likes
2
#11
I wonder if the card will unlock without shunt modding, and whether the air cooling can even handle it.
Can probably be done without shunt mods. Nvidia will probably flip their shit if any companies does it though.
As for aircooing handling it, I, got no clue. I think the 380 watts are doable on a good air cooler, but any higher than that, and water is where it's at. Easier to keep clocks up with water too.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,065
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
#12
Luckily my Asus Dual non oc or advanced edition came with a 300A chip so first tried the galax 380w bios. No artifacts but card would stutter a lot even after clearing drivers off and reinstalling afterburner to make sure it wasnt doing anything weird. I then tried the Gigabyte bios that allows 141% and smooth sailing so far. Right now I have an oc of 150+ core and 700+ mem and still playing with it. The lowest drop ive seen so far is 2085 mhz but pretty much stays at 2100 mhz where as with stock bios at these settings it was constantly dropping to 1995 mhz.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
461 (0.15/day)
Likes
166
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#13
You won't know it's stable until the odd game that causes the pc to instantly reboot due to gpu stability- works fine. Had been benchmarking and testing stability but sometimes issues would creep in, me needing to remove all overclocks completely.
 

Kawarius

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.28/day)
Likes
2
#14
Luckily my Asus Dual non oc or advanced edition came with a 300A chip so first tried the galax 380w bios. No artifacts but card would stutter a lot even after clearing drivers off and reinstalling afterburner to make sure it wasnt doing anything weird. I then tried the Gigabyte bios that allows 141% and smooth sailing so far. Right now I have an oc of 150+ core and 700+ mem and still playing with it. The lowest drop ive seen so far is 2085 mhz but pretty much stays at 2100 mhz where as with stock bios at these settings it was constantly dropping to 1995 mhz.
Wierd that you had issues with that bios. Know many people who have flashed it without issues.

The gigabyte bios is lower watt than the Galax one BTW, so that might have something to do with it.
260+41%=366 watts
While the galax is:
300+27%=380 watts
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,065
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
#15
Wierd that you had issues with that bios. Know many people who have flashed it without issues.

The gigabyte bios is lower watt than the Galax one BTW, so that might have something to do with it.
260+41%=366 watts
While the galax is:
300+27%=380 watts
I may try the galax one more time just to make sure.
 

Kawarius

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.28/day)
Likes
2
#16
I may try the galax one more time just to make sure.
Just go with the gigabyte one if that gives better results. It's only 14 watts, so it won't make a difference unless you bench a lot and push for those last couple of mhz
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,077 (1.01/day)
Likes
3,174
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#17
My EVGA has 130% power limit. More than enough for me.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,065
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
#18
Just go with the gigabyte one if that gives better results. It's only 14 watts, so it won't make a difference unless you bench a lot and push for those last couple of mhz
I didn't put it under water for nothing :)
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
43
#20
@OP Maybe you could add links to actual GPU's so people can figure out which BIOS to flash to for their particular GPU.
If you have reference PCB and flash custom BIOS you could have less performance just and example.
NON-A vs A Chip

I have Flashed some different RTX 2080 GPU's .On reference PCB boards I have found the Gigabyte to work best on RTX Zotac Amp/EVGA XC OC Ultra
Gaming OC | 3 Fan | 2.5 Slot | 287mm | RGB | 10 Power Phases | 1815 MHz Boost | 245/300 W | Reference PCB | EAN 4719331303594 | PN GV-N2080GAMING OC-8GC

RTX 2080 GPU Boards All Brands
RTX 2080 Ti GPU Boards All Brands
 
Top