• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to get rid of stupid "Sign in" screen for real in Win10 ?

Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,183 (2.63/day)
Likes
6,445
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
I've tried all the guides and none actually works. The one sending user to Control Panel does nothing because the controls those mention aren't even there anymore and the "netplwiz" literally does nothing. I've gone through it and every time my laptop wakes up from slep, I see the retarded lock screen wallpaper and I have to click "Sign in" to get on the actual desktop. Why the hell Windows 10 can't just "wake up" directly to god damn desktop? It's so annoying and I can't find any working solution for this crap.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,999 (5.44/day)
Likes
11,256
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,343 (2.26/day)
Likes
4,220
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#3
I've tried all the guides and none actually works. The one sending user to Control Panel does nothing because the controls those mention aren't even there anymore and the "netplwiz" literally does nothing. I've gone through it and every time my laptop wakes up from slep, I see the retarded lock screen wallpaper and I have to click "Sign in" to get on the actual desktop. Why the hell Windows 10 can't just "wake up" directly to god damn desktop? It's so annoying and I can't find any working solution for this crap.
I've only used it with a password so it's a given for me. You have no password, I assume?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,603 (3.44/day)
Likes
7,397
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
I have no password and one user. It goes straight to desktop
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,183 (2.63/day)
Likes
6,445
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#5
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,054 (0.93/day)
Likes
2,675
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#6
I have no password and one user.
I recommend always using a password, even if only one user. While it will not stop someone who knows what they are doing, having a PW will surely slow down an experienced thief who breaks into your home and steals your computer. And the typical thief (those who steal to get drug money) who does not know the PW will raise red flags at the honest (or watched) pawn shop too.

It does not have to be 15 alphanumeric with special symbols characters long. Even a simple 2 or 3 character PW is better than nothing as long as it is not 123 or abc.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,006 (2.27/day)
Likes
8,129
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 4.9 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3333 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#7
You could always set a password, and use netplwiz to autologin, and then the "never" option in settings for wakeups. Done correctly, you will never be asked the password.

Workaround, I know.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,999 (5.44/day)
Likes
11,256
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
You could always set a password, and use netplwiz to autologin, and then the "never" option in settings for wakeups. Done correctly, you will never be asked the password.

Workaround, I know.
Or set a password, change the setting, then remove the password.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,903 (6.19/day)
Likes
11,008
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#9
I have Admin account plus limited user Microsoft account. Windows 10 asks for sign in because of two accounts. netplwiz has always worked for me.

1) highlight the account you want to automatically log in.
2) Check the box to automatically log in.
3) Click Apply then OK.
4) It will pop up a box asking for the credentials to automatically sign in. If Windows account, enter the obvious. If it is a Microsoft account, enter your full email address for username and the Microsoft account password for the password. Click OK.
5) Reboot computer, it should automatically sign into the given account.

You'll have to disable sign out on sleep/resume too as mentioned above. First thing I do is disable sleep so I've never had to deal with that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,751 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,411
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#10
It's probably doing it for the same reason that Windows 10 forgets I use a screensaver then never actually launches the damn thing after 5 minutes like I want it to.

It's a bug. It happens on my fiancee's machine too.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,046 (1.34/day)
Likes
1,700
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor Tracer II 15 VR800 I7 7700HQ/GTX1070 16GB DDR4/2133MHz /ASUS GL553VW GTX 960M 4GB i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#11
I have only seen this bug if someone trys to log into Microsoft Store apk and then the stupid all of a sudden creation of a MS account log in for logging into windows or asking after the PC goes to sleep and then the all of a sudden "oh my whats this? what password? I NEVER SET A PASSWORD " fiasco......then a user does who knows what to get windows to stop that nonsense. If none of the above works I would Create a new account on the PC and copy over what is needed and then delete the old windows account and just move on becuase that should fix the issue. Just don't forget your desktop folder and Documents and the likes along with your favorites and stuff ;) Good luck.

EDIT: Oh yeah and I think you have to give netplwiz admin rights to work
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,915 (5.47/day)
Likes
6,495
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,759 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,315
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#13
every time my laptop wakes up from slep, I see the retarded lock screen wallpaper
Seems everybody in the thread missed this. They changed the behaviour with FCU to always show that gay login screen after sleep. I'm suffering from it as well an no workaround seems to exist.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,183 (2.63/day)
Likes
6,445
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Yeah @W1zzard the problem is this waking up from sleep thing. I don't get it what makes it different from a regular startup that these login settings don't apply to it.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,903 (6.19/day)
Likes
11,008
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#15
Why not disable sleep and shutdown if you don't intend to use it for a while? With SSDs these days, 30 seconds to power on isn't much of an inconvenience.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,734 (1.62/day)
Likes
2,655
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#16
Not saying it will work, because I have not tried it... mine works ok for me.
However, I found this and don't know if the OP has tried it.

It was posted on the MS forums by tokenfin:

I had this on my computers too, and have found a solution.


The Anniversary Update version of Windows 10 has removed the previous option in Power Options. There is now a setting in Settings > Accounts > Sign-in Options. This setting should appear right at the top of that screen, above the Windows Hello option, and is called Require sign-in (choices: on wake, or never).


There is a bug. If the current local account has no password the above option is not displayed, this is annoying because users without passwords are the ones most likely to want the sign-in prompt removed. Microsoft might call it a feature, but the following simple workaround shows it really is just a UI bug.


Workaround:


Add a password to the local account, reboot.

Change the Require Sign-in option to never.

Remove the password by choosing Change Password and entering nothing.

Enjoy never having to click Sign-in after wake again.


I've done this on several computers now and it works every time.
Also, some other info here: Turn On or Off Require Sign-in on Wakeup in Windows 10

EDIT: you may, also, want to try this post, by Mimi4gk, in the same thread at MS I link to:

I found what was blocking my computer from making changes on “Start button - Settings - Accounts -Sign-in Options - Require Sign-in – set to Never.” When theUser Account Control Settings are on Always Notify, it blocks several changes, including this one. Search for User Account Control, and move the slide bar below the highest setting, click OK. Reopen Settings- Accounts- Sign-in Options- Require Sign-in, and change to Never. I hope this helps others to avoid the hours of frustration that I have had trying to find an answer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
118 (0.07/day)
Likes
53
Location
Prague CZ
Processor 8700k
Motherboard z370 extreme 4
Cooling EK CPU, GPU
Memory 32GB ddr4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080ti WC
Storage 500GB wd black nvme, 2x750gb mx300 raid0
Display(s) dell 34 Ultrawide
Case Lian-Li PC10
Audio Device(s) BW MM1
Power Supply Corsair SF600
#17
this works for me

powercfg /SETACVALUEINDEX SCHEME_ALL SUB_NONE CONSOLELOCK 0

powercfg /SETDCVALUEINDEX SCHEME_ALL SUB_NONE CONSOLELOCK 0
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,642 (0.34/day)
Likes
583
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI
Cooling Hydro H110i V2
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 / UV400 / Red PRO
Display(s) VG248QE
Power Supply AX 860
#18
type: cmd then type: control userpasswords2
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,550 (4.12/day)
Likes
10,808
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#19
Or just enable a password, so you have the option to turn it off when recovering from sleep , then set it to auto sign in. Thats how mine is set up, i only enter a password, or a lockscreen if i chose to, normally during boot or sleep recovery it goes straight to desktop.

I don't advocate that it's a perfect solution ,but I know for a fact it's a method that works seamlessly . For a home use computer in my opinion passwords are redundant and pointless therefore I disable or bypass them.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,153 (3.93/day)
Likes
8,789
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
I'll bet this can be nuked with Group Policy which might be the best way. I want to look into since it's something that bugs me too, so I'll try to find some time for it. My dialog box reports that "some settings are controlled by the administrator". However, I'm the administrator and I didn't restrict it. However, this was an upgrade install from W7, so perhaps that's where it came from.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,550 (4.12/day)
Likes
10,808
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#21
However, I'm the administrator and I didn't restrict it. However, this was an upgrade install from W7, so perhaps that's where it came from.
ive noticed this often with Win10, there are quite a few "administrator" controlled areas, folders, policies, etc , and its frustrating, since IM the administrator. I know certain things are supposed to be blocked ,but it just seems like I've run into them more often in windows 10 than I did in Windows 7.
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,153 (3.93/day)
Likes
8,789
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#22
ive noticed this often with Win10, there are quite a few "administrator" controlled areas, folders, policies, etc , and its frustrating, since IM the administrator. I know certain things are supposed to be blocked ,but it just seems like I've run into them more often in windows 10 than I did in Windows 7.
Yeah, it feels like "Big Brother knows best for you and says No." Damned annoying. :rolleyes:

I remember when I was learning how to set up Active Directory using Windows Server 2008 (I think that was the name - anyway it was the server version of Vista) a few years ago. By default, it wanted a password for the AD admin account (no more local accounts!) and it had complexity requirements attached to it, too. However, considering that this was a home system built for tinkering, wiping, rebuilding etc, I wanted the convenience of no password to log in.

I found the Group Policy section for it, but the options to remove these restrictions were greyed out. Apparently this was due to a higher level GP overriding it, but could I find it? Like hell I could! No amount of Googling or ferreting around solved this one. I was so pissed off, I tell you.

I still have that old PC, it's my E8500 system, but there's a hardware fault on it preventing it from turning on (beeps only) and I haven't gotten round to troubleshooting it yet. It may or may not be fixable.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,751 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,411
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#23
Seems everybody in the thread missed this. They changed the behaviour with FCU to always show that gay login screen after sleep. I'm suffering from it as well an no workaround seems to exist.
My fiancee's machine will do it if I end a teamviewer session
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,999 (5.44/day)
Likes
11,256
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
Seems everybody in the thread missed this. They changed the behaviour with FCU to always show that gay login screen after sleep. I'm suffering from it as well an no workaround seems to exist.
I didn't miss it, I showed the exact setting in the first post. Then clarified if you don't have that setting, create a password for you account, change the setting to never, then remove the password. The setting will still stick and you won't get a login screen after sleep.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
224 (0.12/day)
Likes
100
System Name Coffee Lake
Processor i7-8700k
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming M5
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4 3000MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X 11G
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB - Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SSD - Samsung 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2715Q 27" 3840x2160 IPS @ 60Hz
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Corsair K70 mech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#25
I have mine set with a 4 digit PIN instead of a password, and its really not that much of a hassle. I have a teenager who does have their own laptop, but likes to game on my rig when I'm home. This way he can't jump on my computer and go to any nefarious websites while I'm at work.
 
Top