• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to highlight with Adobe Acrobat?

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#1
I just started working for a contracting company, and one of the things I've been tasked with doing is color coding some of the layout plan's symbols. Here is a small cutout of what I'm dealing with to give you an idea.



I tried the highlighting tool Acrobat 9 has, but it's not doing anything. I can't seem to get that tool to work at all actually, even with just text. One of my bosses suggested a PDF program called BlueBeam, and said it was more layout friendly, but I do not have a copy of that. I'd expect Adobe to be able to do everything I need, I just don't know how at the moment =p

So what's the best way to do this? If you look at the picture I included, it's just those symbols there that I need to be a certain color, like red for fire alarm pull stations and such, etc. Any thoughts on how I can best accomplish this? Thank you ahead of time!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Are those selectable as text, or is the PDF being treated as one big image with no text?
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#3
I believe it's one big image, which is why the highlighting tool wasn't working o_O What can I do?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,051 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,937
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
not possible in acrobat .. but you can load pdf into photoshop and manipulate those images

given the limited complexity i'd just recreate the symbols in something like illustrator, redo the pages, make a pdf, put all related source files into your document management so that the next person's life will be easier :)
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#5
Thank you for the input W1zzard. I have no prior experience using Adobe Illustrator. For with what I'm doing, do you think this will be an easy self-taught task?
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#6
A friend recommended the "Color replacement tool" within Photoshop, but I can't seem to get it to work or do anything. I am an extreme Photoshop novice, but I suspect it has something to do with this only being a single layer? This is what it looks like...



The red colored in square was used with the simple 'Paint Bucket Tool'. I suppose the bucket tool is all I need, but I do have one other little issue and I wonder if there is a faster way to do it. In the back of a layout it'll occasionally have the room name. In the picture here you can see in the back it says "STORE ROOM". The lettering interferes with my bucket tool filling in the area I need to, so I'd have to spend time zooming in getting the little pieces. Any thoughts on how to best handle this?

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,051 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,937
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#7
cut out the icon, clean it up, color it, put it where you need it, add text on top