• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To Improve RAID 0 Performance?

Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
537 (0.15/day)
Likes
164
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
I am currently running two 150 gb velociraptors in RAID 0 using the on-motherboard sata II connectors. I believe that I read somewhere that using a RAID controller that plugs into the PCI-E 2.0 slots actually increases read/write performance. Is this true?

This is my current read/write performance while reading and writing a 1000 mb file 9 times, using the onboard controller:

 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
38
Processor Intel Core i7 2500K @ 5GHz 1.4v
Motherboard Asrock Z77E-ITX
Cooling Corsair H60 with 2 x 120mm push/pull exhaust, 140mm intake
Memory 8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 @ 2133 9-10-10-20-1t 1.45v
Video Card(s) Asus Geforce 480 GTX w/low idle voltage BIOS
Storage 128GB Plextor M3P SSD, 3 x 2TB Hitachi 5400rpm in RAID0
Display(s) 2x eMachines 22" 1080p LCDs
Case Lian Li Q08A Mini-ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750 80Plus Gold
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#2
You could increase your RAID stripe size to 128KB if it's not already, but I can't imagine you gaining more than 30MB/s on that benchmark. Since you're running Vista, I'm going to assume your first partition on the array is aligned. Really those are the two biggest factors affecting performance. Increasing your stripe size may lower performance if you are using the array for your OS drive. You could create two separate arrays, one with a stripe size of 16-32KB, and the other with a stripe size of 128KB. The first array would be for the OS, plus it would be short-stroked which will lower your access times for partitions on that array.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
537 (0.15/day)
Likes
164
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
What do you mean aligned? I only have two drives in raid 0, and one partition to hold everything, in other words, I have one large 300 gb space being used from the two 150 gb's.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,377 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,788
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
All so the Allocation size can make a big difference too. you would test it out for your needs as for example large allocation size is bad for the OS but i find better for a game partition.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
38
Processor Intel Core i7 2500K @ 5GHz 1.4v
Motherboard Asrock Z77E-ITX
Cooling Corsair H60 with 2 x 120mm push/pull exhaust, 140mm intake
Memory 8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 @ 2133 9-10-10-20-1t 1.45v
Video Card(s) Asus Geforce 480 GTX w/low idle voltage BIOS
Storage 128GB Plextor M3P SSD, 3 x 2TB Hitachi 5400rpm in RAID0
Display(s) 2x eMachines 22" 1080p LCDs
Case Lian Li Q08A Mini-ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750 80Plus Gold
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
All so the Allocation size can make a big difference too. you would test it out for your needs as for example large allocation size is bad for the OS but i find better for a game partition.
Right.

For a non-OS partition, you should set the allocation size to 64KB if the majority of the files that are accessed are over 64KB in size. Any file smaller than the allocation size automatically takes up the allocation size when measured on the disk. You will have some wasted space due to to this effect, but it will give you the best transfer rates overall when dealing with 64KB or larger files with a RAID stripe size of 64KB or higher.


What do you mean aligned? I only have two drives in raid 0, and one partition to hold everything, in other words, I have one large 300 gb space being used from the two 150 gb's.
If you formatted the partition during Vista setup, then it is aligned. See here: http://sqlblog.com/blogs/linchi_shea/archive/2007/02/01/performance-impact-of-disk-misalignment.aspx
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
537 (0.15/day)
Likes
164
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Okay, that is good to know since I did use the Vista installer. I setup my raid in the bios though, after pushing I think ctrl-f7.

I also had already set my stripe size to 128kb.
 

Carl2

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
51 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#7
I set up a Raid O array using 2 HD502HJ Samsung sata 500G 16Mb to decrease boot time, 250 Mb read, 240 mb write. Same boot time Same performance index in Win 7 of 5.9. Put in an Intel 160 Gb SSD to see some performance increase.
Carl2