• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to increase my fsb?

fuiop2000

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
ok i want to know how to increase fsb (no clue what it is) because it will make my computer speed go higher right?

here are my specs:
Motherboard Name ASRock P4VM8

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel NetBurst
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 200 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 800 MHz
Bandwidth 6400 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
DRAM:FSB Ratio 5:6
Real Clock 167 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 333 MHz
Bandwidth [ TRIAL VERSION ] MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type VIA V-Link
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (ODR)
Effective Clock 533 MHz
Bandwidth 533 MB/s

so how can I increase my fsb to be higher?what is maximum fsb that my system is stable at?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,090 (1.38/day)
Likes
879
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#2
delete all that silly crap u posted and someone might help u..


Motherboard Name ASRock P4VM8

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel NetBurst
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 200 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 800 MHz
Bandwidth 6400 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
DRAM:FSB Ratio 5:6
Real Clock 167 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 333 MHz
Bandwidth [ TRIAL VERSION ] MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type VIA V-Link
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (ODR)
Effective Clock 533 MHz
Bandwidth 533 MB/s

http://www.asrock.com/product/product_p4vm8.htm#


trog
 
Last edited:

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.53/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#4
Put on a huge RAM divider and lower your CPU multiplier a ton as well, and just up the FSB until it's unstable. I don't know about Intels but a good AMD mobo will go anywhere between 300 and 450.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,090 (1.38/day)
Likes
879
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#5
out of my depth here with intel... he he he

Real Clock 200 MHz (QDR).. this one is what could be called your system clock.. it governs everything else..

DRAM:FSB Ratio 5:6.. this one is what links your memory speed to the system clock.. for example.. 5/6s of 200 gives memory speed of 167.. its less than 1 to 1.. it could be called the ram divider..

your cpu speed is a multiple of the system clock.. xxxx x 200.. at least i think it is.. he he

when u speed up the system clock of 200 u speed up everything else.. what reaches its speed limit first could be memory.. fsb bus speed.. or cpu speed..

somehow u have to find out how fast each piece goes.. u do this by slowing other bits down useing dividers or multiplyers.. when u know the limits of each piece u kinda find a compromise for em all.. sometimes to get one bit faster u have to slow down another bit..

look in your bios and see what options it gives u..

trog
 

fuiop2000

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#6
hey i was looking in everest and i found this...dont know if it has anything to do with the overclocking:

min/max cpu multiplier 14x/15x
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,090 (1.38/day)
Likes
879
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#7
u need to be in your bios.. press delete at boot up or whatever your mobo requires to get into the bios..

15 x 200 would be cpu speed of 3 gig.. intel systems benefit by useing a lower multiplyer and higher fsb speed to arrive at the same cpu speed..

i am an AMD man.. intel systems are not my forte.. he he

trog
 

tony929292

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
Location
usa
Processor intel q9450 at 3100 artic silver5 tt big typoon
Motherboard asus p5n32e-sli plus
Cooling 13 fans total that includes heatsink fans etc
Memory 4 gb ocz gold pc5400 oc to 775 2.1 voltage 4-4-3-4
Video Card(s) 1 bfg7800gtoc oc to 510/1800 at 1.5v valmans fatal1ty 36c idle
Storage 2 80gb wd raptors raid-0 , 1 seagate barracuda 160gb
Display(s) sony sdm-hs53 + fan controller 3.5 internal card reader and 1 internal floopy
Case Logisys Dracula Case blue
Audio Device(s) x-fi fatal1ty
Power Supply aspire 680watts sli
Software vista unltimate x86
#8
look for a review of your mother board online they should have some ocing test that will give you an idea of what can be done with your board
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,090 (1.38/day)
Likes
879
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#9
first thing i did tony.. couldnt find one.. else i would have appeared cleverer than what i am and answered his questions with a little more confidence... he he he

trog
 

aff1nity

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I have a feeling the original poster just heard the word overclocking and got excited and wanted to jump right in without even googling the term. If you didn't know what a FSB is, why did you trying to increase it?

A short answer to your question is, open up your BIOS (do a google search for this) and you should be able to change your FSB under Advanced Config Options (search there.)

A better answer is, you should actually do research before trying to do anything to your computer. Try searching "overclocking" and "guide" together in google and you get pretty good introductions.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2006
Messages
116 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
Planet Earth
Processor Intel P4 3.0e
Motherboard Abit IS-7
Cooling Vantec, except ThermalTake video memory coolers and Logisys duct
Memory 4X Corsair 256Mb DDR400(PC3200)
Video Card(s) ATI AIW AGP 2006 Edition
Storage Western Digital Raptor 37Gb
Display(s) Envision 17" CRT
Case FMI/CompUSA
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Soundblaster Audigy2 ZS w/4.1
Power Supply E-Power Puma II
Software XP2 w/Live, ATI CCC/MMC, ATI Tool, Creative HQ, Logitech, FutureMark, Rockstar
#11
Overclocking depends not only on the mobo you are using, but the cpu, memory, cooling, and psu. This info, or you doing a little research on what cpu you are using will help. When you OC the fsb, you are overclocking the processor. Make sure that you can get rid of the extra heat. Make sure that you keep the pci/agp/pci-x bus speeds where the already are, or close to it.

Hey wait, everything I learned about OC'ing I learned from this website and forum, read dude, read:slap:

You may want to get some faster memory to compliment the processor you are using. If only we knew what hardware you are using on the mobo:confused:
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Milky Way
#12
something to try

My system does not allow bus overclocking from my bios, but I can do it in windows with Clockgen. I first had to identify my ICS chip number which was 954108. You can make small increases until your system stops responding and at that point all you need to do is reboot to fix it. Now you will have to run some sort of stress test once you find a point that seems stable in order to determine if the new overclocked setting is stable.


feel free to read my post about my overclocking experience with my new intel system
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=9023

-------------------------
system
Intel D955XBK
Intel D820 2.8GHZ dual core
1gb corsair valueram 512x2
runs stable at 3.4ghz without buying new memery which i think is the factor as to why it won't go higher

Please spend a few days researching overclocking on your particular motherboard with google and you will get many pointers. Beware there are tons of overclocking snobs out there. :cool: