• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

how to install new Hard Drive?

Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
741 (0.19/day)
Likes
8
Processor x2 4400+
Memory 3gig
Video Card(s) 8800 gts 512mb
Power Supply 500w zumax
#1
how to install new internal Hard Drive?

do i just connect the wires and turn on the computer and wala? or what do i have to do?




SATA. windows 7.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Yup, all you need to do is connect the power cable and SATA or IDE cable and turn the computer on. Although if the drive is IDE and is on the same cable as another drive, you will have to make one drive the slave drive and one the master drive. There should be a picture on each drive explaining how to make it master or slave.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#3
Connect it...Then go to administrative tools...Then disc manager and format the drive you just installed.It will be ready to use after that.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#4
how to install new internal Hard Drive?

do i just connect the wires and turn on the computer and wala? or what do i have to do?
Ye thats about it ! You will need to go into my computer, left click on the new harddrive & sellect format. The drive will be not be usable untill its formated.

Hope you wasn't talking about the main drive with the OS on ? If so its not nearly so easy.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#5
I'm 99% sure Vista and 7 will automatically find the drive and ask to format it upon booting, so you won't necessarily have to go into My Computer or Disk Manager.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,153 (0.57/day)
Likes
872
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#6
Just make sure that the PSU is not turned on @the switch and be a good idea to touch the metal on the case before you go putting your hands inside the case
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
741 (0.19/day)
Likes
8
Processor x2 4400+
Memory 3gig
Video Card(s) 8800 gts 512mb
Power Supply 500w zumax
#7
forgot to mention i currently have ubuntu. i mean no hdd is installed on the machine. i can use it is just cause i use unbuntu live cd.... run from the cd not hdd.

so my situation right now is im using ubuntu live cd running straight from the cd. now i want to install a new hdd. how do i do that?

plug and go? and do i still have to reformat? or it do it auto like windows 7 like someone said?

im still planning to install windows 7 afte ri install the hdd. current os is none. im jus using unbuntu live cd.
 

JUDOHAWK

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2009
Messages
171 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
Processor E5200 @ 3ghz
Motherboard G31M-ES2L
Memory 2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) OCed HD4830
Storage 320GB Caviar Blue
Power Supply Corsair 400W
#8
Plug it in, boot from the cd, install ubuntu. Then it'll have you format before installing and you're good to go. Set up the partitions the way you want as well.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#9
as easy as judohawk said
 

JUDOHAWK

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2009
Messages
171 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
Processor E5200 @ 3ghz
Motherboard G31M-ES2L
Memory 2GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) OCed HD4830
Storage 320GB Caviar Blue
Power Supply Corsair 400W
#10
Also, if you plan to install Windows 7, you might want to install linux first. So you can make a Windows 7 install disc. But if you can make one before hand, then just install HDD, boot from Win7 disc and follow the install instructions.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
488 (0.15/day)
Likes
33
#11
how to install new internal Hard Drive?

do i just connect the wires and turn on the computer and wala? or what do i have to do?




SATA. windows 7.
I have a doubt...^^^^is this applicable for adding a new hard disk????
suppose if we are building a new system...with one sata hard disk drive...
what do we have to do to install a HDD???:banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
488 (0.15/day)
Likes
33
#12
^^^^still no answers for this que??? :confused:

i asked this because i installed my first HDD in a shop...they used a floppy disk to install a driver for hard disk...

my doubt is.....do we need to install drivers using a floppy....(how is this procedure?)

OR can we install a HDD by connecting it to mobo and by changing options in bios??
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#13
If your gonna install win 7, just plug in the HDD make sure it is detected by your BIOS. That's all you need. Win 7 installer will have a partitioning tool anyway. It'll show the HDD and then you can select to format it. No drivers required unless you have 2 or more HDD's of the same make.