• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to install Windows 7 on a 4TB hard drive? UEFI?

Did this post help you?


  • Total voters
    2
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I want to install windows 7 on my 4TB hard drive. Here's what I run into. I run the Windows 7 install, click the 4TB disk and it tells me I can't install it on the GPT partition. Is this because my motherboard isn't UEFI compatible or can I do it without this?

- Motherboard A960D+ AM3+ biostar (I don't think it's UEFI compatible and I think that's what i need to make this work?)
- I formatted it and I can put data on the 4TB hard drive at the moment, but I can't install Windows 7 on it.

All the 4TB is recognizable, but I can't install Windows 7 on it.

Please HELP!!!
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,665 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,517
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
That's correct. To install Windows 7 to a 4 Tb partition you have to have UEFI. You can set a partition of 2tb then after you install Windows you can make the second partition active as a separate drive. Using the entire space If you install Windows to another drive you can set the whole drive as active. You still should use GPT
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
807 (0.19/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus AREZ RX Vega 64 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair RMx 1000
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
You could always do the smart thing and get a 120 GB SSD and install Windows on that and use the 4 TB for storage.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Solution 1: Buy a new motherboard that is UEFI compatible. I assume once I buy the UEFI compatible motherboard, Windows 7 install will automatically let the software install on the 4TB hard drive?

Solution 2: Buy a Solid State Drive and run Windows 7 on that without buying a new motherboard and decided to use the 4 TB drive as storage.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,665 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,517
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
Solution 3: Make a 250Mb partition for Windows and set the rest as storage

Fill out your system specs. Once you go SSD you can't (won't want to)go back
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I find it a hassle to click a few more times every time I want to access something on another drive which is why I want it all on one drive, but I guess solution 3 is sounding pretty good right about now. I guess I can create a shortcut to my storage drive on my desktop to access the rest of my data quickly. This thread is opening up some creative options I never really considered. This is helping me a lot and I hope it helps everybody else.

System specs:
AMD FX8350 eight-core processor 4.0 GHz
16.0 GB DDR3
Windows 7 64-bit
Nvidia GTX 460v2
Drive 1: 2TB OS
Drive 2: 3TB (currently accessing only 2TB and can't figure out how to get at the other 1TB without transferring everything off, formatting to GTP so it can all be recognized and moving the data back to new usable 3TB) I may just do that though.
Drive 3: 1GB
Drive 4: 4TB (7200rpm)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,665 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,517
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
I guess I can create a shortcut to my storage drive on my desktop to access the rest of my data quickly.
That's what I do. I really don't want my data getting to close to a system partition. Just pin a shortcut in the windows explorer folder in the task bar or on the desktop
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
807 (0.19/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus AREZ RX Vega 64 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair RMx 1000
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
I find it a hassle to click a few more times every time I want to access something on another drive which is why I want it all on one drive, but I guess solution 3 is sounding pretty good right about now. I guess I can create a shortcut to my storage drive on my desktop to access the rest of my data quickly. This thread is opening up some creative options I never really considered. This is helping me a lot and I hope it helps everybody else.

System specs:
AMD FX8350 eight-core processor 4.0 GHz
16.0 GB DDR3
Windows 7 64-bit
Nvidia GTX 460v2
Drive 1: 2TB OS
Drive 2: 3TB (currently accessing only 2TB and can't figure out how to get at the other 1TB without transferring everything off, formatting to GTP so it can all be recognized and moving the data back to new usable 3TB) I may just do that though.
Drive 3: 500GB (7200rpm)
Drive 4: 4TB (7200rpm)
If I'm not mistaken that's 9.5 TB of storage potential, what do you do with all of it I've seen website servers that operate with less storage.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Well, my 3TB drive is filled with computer game footage (fraps) and other video content (I have a YouTube channel). I wanted to move all my data to my new 4TB 7200rpm drive and open up everything else for recording and probably ditch the 500gb drive. My main 2TB drive is about half full of graphics (Photoshop designs) and other stuff.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
807 (0.19/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus AREZ RX Vega 64 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair RMx 1000
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
Well, my 3TB drive is filled with computer game footage (fraps) and other video content (I have a YouTube channel). I wanted to move all my data to my new 4TB 7200rpm drive and open up everything else for recording and probably ditch the 500gb drive. My main 2TB drive is about half full of graphics (Photoshop designs) and other stuff.

It's too bad your motherboard's SATA controller doesn't support JBOD raid, you could just trick the system into thinking it's all one driv.e.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
If I knew how to do that... I want to get a new motherboard to use the UEFI, but I'm not sure if it's worth the money when I can just partition my 4TB drive and install Windows 7 on part of it. The idea is that I want to use my 7200 rpm instead of my 5400rpm.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,203 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,478
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Solution 3: Make a 250Mb partition for Windows and set the rest as storage
Is that even possible? The last time I had a drive larger than 2TB with Win7 it wouldn't even let me touch the part beyond 2TB. I couldn't create a second partition in the area beyond the 2TB barrier.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,050 (2.15/day)
Likes
2,417
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#13
It's too bad your motherboard's SATA controller doesn't support JBOD raid, you could just trick the system into thinking it's all one driv.e.

That is dangerous, with JBOD certain failures and how the disks are handled will cause all the data to be lost, you don't get any performance improvements, you don't get anything other than more chances for failure.

I would buy a good SSD, put your OS, cache, applications on it, and then map your videos, pictures, music, and all other media onto the individual disks as needed.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,665 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,517
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14
Is that even possible? The last time I had a drive larger than 2TB with Win7 it wouldn't even let me touch the part beyond 2TB. I couldn't create a second partition in the area beyond the 2TB barrier.
As long as its GPT Yes. MBR No

After he installs to the first partition he sould be able to activate the rest of the drive in windows as long as its a GPT partition

On second though. He may not be able to boot to a GPT at all without a UEFI. I just got confused

With no UEFI he has to have MBR to boot and then cannot use anything larger than 2 Tb.

Legacy BIOS can read a GPT just not boot to one

Your going to need a boot drive or and new board

forget option 3
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,215 (0.31/day)
Likes
600
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) EVGA Titan SC }@Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#15
I just Install on a 500Gb-1tb Partition. then use windows to make 2-4 other partitions,
I've got aprox 12tb of storage on several disk that I'm moving to the 3 tb
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,749 (4.49/day)
Likes
5,874
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
You can't install Windows to a GPT partition unless you boot the installation media in UEFI mode. Even with a UEFI supported motherboard, if you don't boot the installer in UEFI mode, it will fall back on MBR.

Your board doesn't have a UEFI BIOS, therefore no UEFI for you.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,667 (2.51/day)
Likes
4,254
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#17
You can't install Windows to a GPT partition unless you boot the installation media in UEFI mode. Even with a UEFI supported motherboard, if you don't boot the installer in UEFI mode, it will fall back on MBR.

Your board doesn't have a UEFI BIOS, therefore no UEFI for you.
this
no UEFI support means no UEFI support
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
22,354 (6.22/day)
Likes
11,432
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#18
A another vote for "this." I'm not seeing any documentation on your motherboard that suggests it is using UEFI BIOS (it has ye ol' AMI BIOS); therefore, it is impossible to boot into a partition larger than 2 TB on that motherboard.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,215 (0.31/day)
Likes
600
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) EVGA Titan SC }@Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#19
To which I tried GT90's :rockout:very detailed UEFI install but to no avail. The board is UEFI, but it seems that the modded W7 just wouldn't allow any GPT from any program to work, thus it must been a w7 issue.

Any way, he's got the guide to get you going when you get the board :toast:
 
Top