• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to Overclock Intel MOBO?

Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Processor Intel P4 805 2.66GHz Dual Core @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-8I945P-PRO
Cooling Standard
Memory 1 X 1GB DDR2 667 "Corsair Value Select"
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6600GT, 128MB, 128bit PCI-Ex
Storage 1 X 160GB Seagate SATA2 (3 GB/s)
Display(s) Gigabyte 17" CRT Flat
Case Gigabyte Screwless Gamer's Chassis
Audio Device(s) Standard Onboard 7.1 Ch HD Audio
Power Supply 300W (Included With Case)
Software MS Windows XP Pro + SP2 and Latest Updates
#1
Hey People!!!
I've done some overclocking in my life, but never have I battled so hard to overclock a PC with an Intel mobo! I have an Intel D945GPM mobo with latest version of the BIOS, but the overclocking capabilities are extremely limited. What "clock generator" can I use in SysTool to have more control?
Please Help!

 

FLY3R

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
395 (0.09/day)
Likes
41
Processor AMD 3700+ SD Core @ 2.8gHz
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Expert
Cooling Zalman
Memory G.Skill Extreme Series (2x 1GB) PC4000
Video Card(s) Evga 7800GT
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) ViewSonic 20.1" Widescreen 16:9
Case CoolerMaster Centron
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Power Supply SeaSonic 600w SLI
Software XP pro (sp2)
#2
Clockgen is an ok program, better than most, but I "HIGHLY" recomend not overclocking with a program in windowns, it alot less unstable, and way more prone to damageing hardware. I would invest in a new mobo if you have the money!
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Processor Intel P4 805 2.66GHz Dual Core @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-8I945P-PRO
Cooling Standard
Memory 1 X 1GB DDR2 667 "Corsair Value Select"
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6600GT, 128MB, 128bit PCI-Ex
Storage 1 X 160GB Seagate SATA2 (3 GB/s)
Display(s) Gigabyte 17" CRT Flat
Case Gigabyte Screwless Gamer's Chassis
Audio Device(s) Standard Onboard 7.1 Ch HD Audio
Power Supply 300W (Included With Case)
Software MS Windows XP Pro + SP2 and Latest Updates
#3
FLY3R said:
I would invest in a new mobo if you have the money!
:) That's the whole problem, I was looking at the "Bad Axe" but did not have the money!, Thanx 4 help & opinion!

 

FLY3R

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
395 (0.09/day)
Likes
41
Processor AMD 3700+ SD Core @ 2.8gHz
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Expert
Cooling Zalman
Memory G.Skill Extreme Series (2x 1GB) PC4000
Video Card(s) Evga 7800GT
Storage 80GB Seagate
Display(s) ViewSonic 20.1" Widescreen 16:9
Case CoolerMaster Centron
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Power Supply SeaSonic 600w SLI
Software XP pro (sp2)
#4
Yeah no prob, thats why where hear, If you could give a list of your system specs, then other people as well could suggest motherboards.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Processor Intel P4 805 2.66GHz Dual Core @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-8I945P-PRO
Cooling Standard
Memory 1 X 1GB DDR2 667 "Corsair Value Select"
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6600GT, 128MB, 128bit PCI-Ex
Storage 1 X 160GB Seagate SATA2 (3 GB/s)
Display(s) Gigabyte 17" CRT Flat
Case Gigabyte Screwless Gamer's Chassis
Audio Device(s) Standard Onboard 7.1 Ch HD Audio
Power Supply 300W (Included With Case)
Software MS Windows XP Pro + SP2 and Latest Updates
#5
I did fill in the "System Specs" list, but can't get it to display under my AVATAR, could you help me with that. I can't seem to find the "tick-box" :)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,951 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,909
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#6
TheNetStrider said:
I did fill in the "System Specs" list, but can't get it to display under my AVATAR, could you help me with that. I can't seem to find the "tick-box" :)
I went through the same thing :) In your account settings, click on system specs and look at the very top, there is a yes/no drop list for displaying the info publicly. Hope that helps - Sasqui.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Processor Intel P4 805 2.66GHz Dual Core @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-8I945P-PRO
Cooling Standard
Memory 1 X 1GB DDR2 667 "Corsair Value Select"
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6600GT, 128MB, 128bit PCI-Ex
Storage 1 X 160GB Seagate SATA2 (3 GB/s)
Display(s) Gigabyte 17" CRT Flat
Case Gigabyte Screwless Gamer's Chassis
Audio Device(s) Standard Onboard 7.1 Ch HD Audio
Power Supply 300W (Included With Case)
Software MS Windows XP Pro + SP2 and Latest Updates
#7
:toast: Cheers Mate!, Got-it! Now I hope I can get my system Overclocked very soon...



 
Last edited:

bencip19

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
The ITK?

Hey,

Maybe you want to chck out the thread at XTremeSystems about the ITK. I've downloaded it, but I haven't used it yet--they at least allow you to change your FSB and processor multipliers for the D945GPM board.

See:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=96648

Looking to me like a lot of the options shown there are not available for the D945GPM, but hopefully we can get somewhere. If anybody tries this with the D945GPM, please let me know what works!

I'm personally running a D 930.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Processor Intel P4 805 2.66GHz Dual Core @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-8I945P-PRO
Cooling Standard
Memory 1 X 1GB DDR2 667 "Corsair Value Select"
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6600GT, 128MB, 128bit PCI-Ex
Storage 1 X 160GB Seagate SATA2 (3 GB/s)
Display(s) Gigabyte 17" CRT Flat
Case Gigabyte Screwless Gamer's Chassis
Audio Device(s) Standard Onboard 7.1 Ch HD Audio
Power Supply 300W (Included With Case)
Software MS Windows XP Pro + SP2 and Latest Updates
#10
Thanks for all your support guys! But I've solved the problem by replacing the CRAP integrated so called "Palm Canyon" board with a Gigabyte GA-8I945P-PRO and I'm currently overclocking my Intel P4 D805 2.66GHz, to a RUMBLING 3.8GHz. And it is running at a constant temperature of 41 degrees. This is a 43% overclock, and the machine is running smooth and stable.
I did some further research and found that ALL (except the "Bad Axe") the Intel mobo's can't be used for overclocking.

Att: bencip19! The D 930 is a SWEEEET CPU, but I would've bought the 940 if I were you, better overclocking capabilities, and outruns the AMD 3800+ by far on ALL benchmarks. :)
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
how come the 940 will clock better than the 930,isnt the idea to buy a lower one and clock it past a higher one?,i have a 930 at 4.2 ghz,what does the 940 goto?