• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to properly install INF chipset drivers for P35?

Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.08/day)
Likes
8
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
#1
I installed the old drivers from my mobo's CD, and there are much newer ones on the ASUS site. I am getting horrible Crosfire performance and this may be the culprit. How do I install the newer ones?
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#2
I told you already its cuz your using X16 Main Card X4 Slave Card PCI-E the 2nd slot can only go up to X4 PCI-E

Cuz what was your AMD mobo ?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.08/day)
Likes
8
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
#3
My AMD mobo was 16x on both PCI-E slots, but I've read around and the performance shouldn't be affected nearly as much. It's almost like I'm running one card....the bandwidth is 8Gb/s on this chipset. I installed the chipset drivers using the Intel INF update utility on the motherboard disc, and this installed drivers from Feb., but the ones on the ASUS site are from May.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.18/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#4
I installed the old drivers from my mobo's CD, and there are much newer ones on the ASUS site. I am getting horrible Crosfire performance and this may be the culprit. How do I install the newer ones?
Sometimes it helps to uninstall ATI drivers, and re-install them after a Mobo driver update(change).
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#5
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.08/day)
Likes
8
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
#6
Sometimes it helps to uninstall ATI drivers, and re-install them after a Mobo driver update(change).
Oh LOL I didn't even mention, I did a complete format and reinstall of XP.
just open it and run it cuz thats what you wanted to install right?

2007/05/08 update
http://dlsvr03.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mis...F_V8301013.zip
Yea that's the one. I ran it today at work on remote desktop so maybe I was overlooking something....it went straight to a command prompt for a few seconds, then right back to the desktop. I don't see any of the chipset components as having the newer driver, but merely the .1011 version from Feb.
Maybe something is sharing the IRQ....the only thing is that the only thing running on the NB is the memory controller and two PCI-E slots.....meh
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.08/day)
Likes
8
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
#7
If I run AsusSetup in DOS (only cmd, not booting into DOS) it says 'program too big to fit into memory'
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.08/day)
Likes
8
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
#8
Well it seems that about a hundred devices are devoted to IRQ16......not good but I don't see why this would affect performance? Anyhow, off to the BIOS to disable the stuff I don't need.
On a more positive note, I've already reached stable 3.0 GHz OC with RAM at 1:1, and I didn't spend ANY time playing with settings whatsoever.....I simply set the DIMMs voltage and timings from the box, then gave the Vcore a bump and turned up the FSB. I'm impressed at this board's OCing ability....