• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to push past 5Ghz on 8700K?

Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
Hi All,

Question for anyone who has got past the 5 ghz barrier on coffee lake chips.

I'm currently at 5 Ghz @ 1.415v and LLC of extreme. My temps seem pretty reasonable at ~72 C average and some spikes into the low 90's.
What settings do I need to look at next to getting past this level? My voltage seems a little high, and I'm hoping to run 24/7 so while I know I can likely get more speed out of more volts, is there anything else I can do for higher overclocks 24/7?

135796
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,735 (4.36/day)
I'd call you maxed out. 1.41V 24/7 is a lot and if you are reaching into the low 90s, that's it on temps too...

What did you use to stress test and reach those temps? Avg means little, note.

Edit: you seem to have a negative offset?? Your settings confuse me. You have 1.3V set, an offset of -.11 LLC on extreme and reach. 1.41V on load?

System agent and vccio are likely a bit high for 16gb running at 3600mhz... I don't imagine either needing over 1v...
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,879 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Delidding might help. I say 'might' - yes, no, maybe. Who knows
 
Low quality post by bonehead123
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
1,475 (0.66/day)
Location
Depends.... on where YOU are
System Name The Big Black Smoked One
Processor i7-9700k, oc'd to 4.9 ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix-E Gaming
Cooling CoolerMaster AIO 360mm push/pull Rad + 8x Corsair 140mm ML RGB Fans (top, sides, bottom, rear)
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengence RBG pro DDR4-3200 (4x 8GB) in XMP 2x
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 2080Ti w/15% o/c
Storage 2x WD Black SN750 1TB nvme + 2x 2TB Crucial SSD
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @4k-1440p
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Built-in
Power Supply EVGA G2 SuperNova 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech MX5500 combo
Keyboard see above
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shiite turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores Quicker & Faster than flies on a dung pile
Just bump everything upwards by 50%, then pray you don't fry it hahahahahah

j/k :laugh: :roll: :D
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
I'd call you maxed out. 1.41V 24/7 is a lot and if you are reaching into the low 90s, that's it on temps too...

What did you use to stress test and reach those temps? Avg means little, note.

Edit: you seem to have a negative offset?? Your settings confuse me. You have 1.3V set, an offset of -.11 LLC on extreme and reach. 1.41V on load?

System avent and vcci are likely a bit high for 16gb running at 3600mhz... I don't imagine either needing over 1v...
My settings confuse me as well, which is why I'm reaching out. Yeah. I had to set voltages manually to get 1.41, otherwise, it would automatically pump the voltage up to 1.5v!
Same story with the System Agent and VCCIO, I dropped them from 1.25 V. I'll try lowering them some more and test whether it's still stable.

The CPU is delidded and I'm stressing with AIDA, which is a pretty extreme test so temps never get that high in real world use. But, my aim is to get stability under this test.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,735 (4.36/day)
I don't usually run a dynamic/offset in any way. I manually set things from the BIOS, not windows.

I would use 1.4V set manually and see what LLC is really needed to keep the load voltage the same as what you set in the BIOS. That is typically how it (LLC) should be used. Your negative offset and then LLC bumping it back up seems incredibly counterproductive.

But yeah, System agent and VCCIO look high for the settings. You may be able to shave a degree or two off, but, you are tapped out temp wise currently. If you cannot beng Vcore and temps down, then you are where you are with this CPU.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
I don't usually run a dynamic/offset in any way. I manually set things from the BIOS, not windows.

I would use 1.4V set manually and see what LLC is really needed to keep the load voltage the same as what you set in the BIOS. That is typically how it (LLC) should be used. Your negative offset and then LLC bumping it back up seems incredibly counterproductive.

But yeah, System agent and VCCIO look high for the settings. You may be able to shave a degree or two off, but, you are tapped out temp wise currently. If you cannot beng Vcore and temps down, then you are where you are with this CPU.
I just use the windows tool for testing values then set everything in the Bios.

I guess I don't get how LLC works, it doesn't seem to matter whether I put it as normal/high/extreme, it doesn't effect the load voltage.

Wouldn't manually setting the voltage keep it continually running at 1.4V? I'd like it to go down, when the cores are idle.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,735 (4.36/day)
LLC prevents vdroop (the difference between idle and load voltage). Ideally, you should use the setting that has the voltage stay the same under load. To test, disable it(set to lowest if disabling isn't possible), and check load voltage... set to extreme, then run again... you should see a difference, then know which will be which. I don't know if using adaptive/offset works with LLC... again, I leave my voltage set manually so it is static (done so for decades, note).

Yes, you would be at 1.4V.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
LLC prevents vdroop (the difference between idle and load voltage). Ideally, you should use the setting that has the voltage stay the same under load. To test, disable it(set to lowest if disabling isn't possible), and check load voltage... set to extreme, then run again... you should see a difference, then know which will be which. I don't know if using adaptive/offset works with LLC... again, I leave my voltage set manually so it is static (done so for decades, note).

Yes, you would be at 1.4V.
I set it manually to 1.415 and disabled LLC, the computer instantly bluescreened :(

Setting to 1.415 and LLC highest causes VCore to jump to 1.428 on load from 1.415 on idle, but it's stable
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,735 (4.36/day)
Now try extreme... see if it works.....obviously 1.41V and no LLC has some droop and isn't stable.

You may need to lower your core clocks so it at least boots and runs a quick stress test to see the voltage change from off to extreme.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
Now try extreme... see if it works.....obviously 1.41V and no LLC has some droop and isn't stable.

You may need to lower your core clocks so it at least boots and runs a quick stress test to see the voltage.
Yeah, it works on turbo/extreme, though I have to set it to 1.405 and it jumps to 1.415 on load.

Excuse my ignorance, this is the first real attempt at tweaking an overclock since my 2500K. Why would this be better than setting dynamic offset whereby the voltage will lower itself when idle?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,735 (4.36/day)
It isn't better, per say... just the way I do it. Most prefer to have the voltage drop, but, Im from the old school and, frankly, don't care about playing games with offset and dynamic voltages... :)

I simply cannot make heads or tails of how you come to 1.4xV. Looking at your screenshot, you have 1.3V set, a NEGATIVE offset for voltage, and you are managing to reach 1.428V... that doesn't make sense to me at all...

EDIT: Changing variables (vcore) isn't going to help determine what LLC setting yields the least/no droop. You don't want to overshoot it either. Leave it at a voltage and lower the core to isolate.

EDIT2: Honestly, I think you are at the limits as I said out of the gate. Temperatures are at the limit and the voltage is too...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
It isn't better, per say... just the way I do it. Most prefer to have the voltage drop, but, Im from the old school and, frankly, don't care about playing games with offset and dynamic voltages... :)

I simply cannot make heads or tails of how you come to 1.4xV. Looking at your screenshot, you have 1.3V set, a NEGATIVE offset for voltage, and you are managing to reach 1.428V... that doesn't make sense to me at all...

EDIT: Changing variables (vcore) isn't going to help determine what LLC setting yields the least/no droop. You don't want to overshoot it either. Leave it at a voltage and lower the core to isolate.

EDIT2: Honestly, I think you are at the limits as I said out of the gate. Temperatures are at the limit and the voltage is too...
Oh, I see what you mean. Dropping the offset to high (instead of Turbo) and Offset to -1.0 makes the voltage on load jump between 1.404 and 1.415.
Let me try with static . . .
Okay . . High LLC cause the voltage to drop by 0.25 V, Turbo LLC raises the voltage by 0.1 V

I'm testing stability now at -1 V offset, High LLC. This puts the core at an average of 1.406V (though I see jumps to 1.416 and drops to 1.39)

Edit - I think you're right about the limits. Though I am making progress on Temps, If It's stable.
I've down to 1.404 V LLC Turbo Max temp is 88 (Though it's only been 4 mins into the stability test)

Edit 2 - Should I play with disabling AVX and then setting an AVX offset in Bios? The stability test I am using has AVXC enabled at the moment.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,735 (4.36/day)
0.25V was that correct? That is a HUGE (unbelievably huge) drop...

Due to using an offset, I am not sure we have any idea what is really the stock voltage (hence why I run manually). I'm not going to be much help with playing the offset/dynamic voltage game as it isn't a game I play. Sorry.

BUt either way you slice it, you are maxed out on temps and voltage.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
0.25V was that correct? That is a HUGE (unbelievably huge) drop...

Due to using an offset, I am not sure we have any idea what is really the stock voltage (hence why I run manually). I'm not going to be much help with playing the offset/dynamic voltage game as it isn't a game I play. Sorry.

BUt either way you slice it, you are maxed out on temps and voltage.
My bad, I forgot a zero. 0.025 V. That is a drop with Static voltage enabled. With offset, the voltage variation is minor when loaded. It obviouslly drops when idle though.

I might have some luck disabling AVX in my benchmark. I got about 5 mins of stability at 5.1 Ghz with AVX disabled at 1.405 V
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,735 (4.36/day)
I wouldn't do that, personally... more and more things are using AVX instructions and if you aren't stable, it will show when using such. The way to work around that is to use an AVX offset for the core speed. Typically this is 200-300 MHz.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
I wouldn't do that, personally... more and more things are using AVX instructions and if you aren't stable, it will show when using such. The way to work around that is to use an AVX offset for the core speed. Typically this is 200-300 MHz.
Yeah, though if I can get 5.2 stable without AVX, can I just set the offset in bios to 200 MHz and then have it stable with and without AVX?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
26 (2.36/day)
Location
Nuremberg
Processor Core i7 8700K@5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling 2xEKWB Rads, EKWB Reservoir 250, Aqua Computer Kryos Next CPU Cooler, Phanteks Glacier GPU Cooler
Memory 16 GB DDR4 GSkill Trident Z 3200
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RTX 2080 O8G (GPU@2115 MHz/VRAM@7800MHz)
Storage 1x Samsung Evo 840 SSD 256, 1x WD Blue 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG248 1080p Display/144Hz/G-Sync
Case Fractal Design R6 with Window
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply be quiet 650W Straight Power
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry KB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FireStrike: 25953/Extreme: 13141/Ultra: 7099/TimeSpy: 11426/Superposition: 7667/CinebenchR20: 3916
I have an Core i7 8700K@5 GHz with 1.36V. It is delidded and watercooled, so temps reaching at highest 60 degrees in prime 95. I would recommend to set your voltage manually, not dynamic and test how much voltage you need to reach your goals. Loadline Calibration use a mode with a flat line, so that voltage in idle is same as voltage under load. AVX Offset of -2 or -3, means -200 or -300 MHz should be fine, i have an negative offset of -2 for AVX instructions. So if you set your offset in BIOS to -200 or -300 MHz you can run your CPU stable at 5.2 GHz in non AVX instructions and 5 GHz or 4.9 GHz with AVX instructions.

Edit:
For testing you can use Prime 95 Version 26.6 for non AVX usage cause this version doesn't has AVX tests. So you can see if your CPU is stable at 5.2 GHz
Then use the latest Prime 95 Version with AVX for testing and you can see if your offset is fine or if you need another offset.

In Prime I use the following settings:
Custom Torture Test
Min FFT Size 1344, max FFT Size 1344
Run FFT in place

Run each test for 30 min, that should be enough

Edit 2:
There are also a few options you might look at. Don't know how it is named by Gigabyte but MSI names it:

- Long Duration Power Limit
- Short Duration Power Limit
- CPU Current Limit

Their usage is to set how much current the cpu can draw and you can push it to max. I have Long Duration Limit and Short Duration Limit of 4096 and CPU Current Limit of 256 which is max on my MSI Board. Also I set System over Current Protection to 140%. With this settings your CPU can use much more TDP values as it is specified. In a test with latest Prime 95 my CPU reaches 210 Watts at max although it is specified as 95 Watts TDP.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,448 (1.36/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon R9 290 Direct Cu II OC @ 1100/1325
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 500GB & 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
Delidding might help. I say 'might' - yes, no, maybe. Who knows
At least it did with 7700K. 5.2GHz (AVX -2) stable with Alphacool Eisbaer 240. Without delidding, 5GHz was the absolute maximum.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,448 (1.36/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Classified
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Custom loop by Alphacool
Memory G.Skill Value 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon R9 290 Direct Cu II OC @ 1100/1325
Storage 2x256GB, 240GB & 480GB SSDs, 500GB & 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,250 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
My thought before entering the topic was a comment along the lines of "set multiplier at 51, done"...

But yeah. 1.4V and up and you're well into the danger zone for longevity and diminishing returns.

As for lowering VCCIO and SA below 1V... My 8700K started spitting out WATCHDOG_ERROR BSODs when I did that. And that is with slower sticks too. Its lottery just like the rest of these tweaks...
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
26 (2.36/day)
Location
Nuremberg
Processor Core i7 8700K@5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling 2xEKWB Rads, EKWB Reservoir 250, Aqua Computer Kryos Next CPU Cooler, Phanteks Glacier GPU Cooler
Memory 16 GB DDR4 GSkill Trident Z 3200
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RTX 2080 O8G (GPU@2115 MHz/VRAM@7800MHz)
Storage 1x Samsung Evo 840 SSD 256, 1x WD Blue 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG248 1080p Display/144Hz/G-Sync
Case Fractal Design R6 with Window
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply be quiet 650W Straight Power
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry KB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FireStrike: 25953/Extreme: 13141/Ultra: 7099/TimeSpy: 11426/Superposition: 7667/CinebenchR20: 3916
I wouldn't go much higher than 1.4V and of course setting higher voltage will reduce life span, but it will easy last for 5 years. Without OC it will last 7-8 years but most people doing oc are enthusiasts buying a new system much earlier.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,013 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
I wouldn't go much higher than 1.4V and of course setting higher voltage will reduce life span, but it will easy last for 5 years. Without OC it will last 7-8 years but most people doing oc are enthusiasts buying a new system much earlier.
Thanks. I'm working on Voltage now then. . . I guess if It can't get past 5 Ghz on 1.415, it's not worth it.

At the moment, I am down to 1.39 V @ 5GHz . . . Testing stability now.
I may try pushing it back up and disabling AVX after I find the lower limits of the voltage.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
26 (2.36/day)
Location
Nuremberg
Processor Core i7 8700K@5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling 2xEKWB Rads, EKWB Reservoir 250, Aqua Computer Kryos Next CPU Cooler, Phanteks Glacier GPU Cooler
Memory 16 GB DDR4 GSkill Trident Z 3200
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RTX 2080 O8G (GPU@2115 MHz/VRAM@7800MHz)
Storage 1x Samsung Evo 840 SSD 256, 1x WD Blue 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG248 1080p Display/144Hz/G-Sync
Case Fractal Design R6 with Window
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply be quiet 650W Straight Power
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry KB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FireStrike: 25953/Extreme: 13141/Ultra: 7099/TimeSpy: 11426/Superposition: 7667/CinebenchR20: 3916
Important is that your cooling is good enough, so that your CPU doesn't get too high and also your Mainboards VRM, cause they also have more work on OC systems. The Voltage at around 1.4V is ok then if you have good temps.
 
Top