• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to recover ATI Radeon HD 4870 from bad BIOS flash

Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#2
Good man! This calls for a TPUpaypal address so that peeps can send you a $1 for a SERIOUS helpout there!
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#3
Okay I spoke with no source, but my guess was right, had something to do with the EEPROM changes. :eek:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,961
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
if you plan on donating to tpu, donate it to some charitable organization or use it for your own entertainment (drugs, booze girls).
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#5
if you plan on donating to tpu, donate it to some charitable organization or use it for your own entertainment (drugs, booze girls).
My kind of admin :rockout:
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#6
TPU sponsored booze girls FTW
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
879 (0.21/day)
Likes
333
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
#7
thankyou.... everyone involved including me, can now carry on benching.... perfect!
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,947 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#8
if you plan on donating to tpu, donate it to some charitable organization or use it for your own entertainment (drugs, booze girls).
What drugs do you reccomend, or can we get a review with W1zz shots? :laugh:
 
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,153 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name Alienware laptop
Processor intel i7-3610M @ 2,30Ghz
Motherboard dell?
Cooling 2 built in laptop cooling fans
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Mobility Radeon HD 7970 2GB GDDR5 850/1200 No overclock yet
Storage 1TB hard drive 1.5TB external
Display(s) laptop screen 17.3" 1920x1080 + LG 22" inch LCD HD 1920 x 1200
Case My laptop back pack case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster
Power Supply laptop brick
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#9
if you plan on donating to tpu, donate it to some charitable organization or use it for your own entertainment (drugs, booze girls).
good job wizz keep up the good work !!!
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#11
I dont think thats sugar :laugh:
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
879 (0.21/day)
Likes
333
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
#12
it looks good to me.... can i buy this in the classifieds.... lol
 

envagyok

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
I have a serious problem.
Hav a P45 board with bricked 4860, and when i try boot the pc with pci vga card, it not booting.
At bios the first vga is set to pci, and the option disabled unused pci clock i try set to both option.
I can change the bios settings just with an other pci-e vga card.
With 4870 just 2 beep i hear, with pci vga card turn on the monitor when i turn on the pc, but no picture, no booting.
What can cause this problem?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
923 (0.20/day)
Likes
32
Location
Grantham UK, Lincs
System Name Lazy boh
Processor AMD X6 1090T @ 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling TT FRIO
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) HD4870
Storage 60gb Ocz vertex 2 2x2TB 2x1TB 1x500GB
Display(s) 25.5" hanns G
Case Antec 1200 V1
Audio Device(s) onboard :P FTW
Power Supply Corsair TX750W v1
Software W7 64Bit
#14
it sounds like what paggered my hd4870 when i did my 4870 it ran 1st time then wouldnt after playing crysis for abit black screened even though i had my arctic s1 on it sent it back and got a new shiney one waiting for me at home :) after i get back from crete

tried different ram ? made sure none of the irq's are conflicting and putting power connectors to your 4870 ? you should just be able to wack your 4870 in and it run fine why mess with the pci clock ? it should auto sync leave that alone and finally just make sure nothing is earthing and everything is sat in right
 

str1k3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
[heading]Introduction[/heading]
This article applies only to users who flashed their HD 4870 (GDDR5) with a 64 KB sized BIOS (created by GPU-Z, Winflash or Atiflash) and ended up with an 800 shader paperweight.

[heading]The Problem[/heading]
In the past all (consumer) graphics card BIOSes were smaller than 64 KBytes. With the introduction of GDDR5 additional space was required for the memory training code. Since ATI could not fit that piece of code into the 64 KB available, they increased the BIOS size to 128 KB (1 MBit).

For an unknown reason ATI's flashing software Winflash/Atiflash does not correctly detect those extra 64 KB and forgets to save them when you dump your BIOS to a file. The same happens to GPU-Z (fixed in 0.2.5 and newer). So everybody who extracted their HD 4870 BIOS ended up with no GDDR5 microcode.

[heading]The Fix[/heading]

  • Download the full 128K BIOS here.
  • Flash it to your dead card.
  • Done.

Since the dead card will not POST anymore you have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it.
Then go into DOS and find out which adapter number your dead HD 4870 has using Atiflash (download): atiflash -i. Now flash the BIOS using: atiflash -f -newbios -p [index] 4870.bin. Replace [index] with the number of your graphics card from the -i command.
Another way is using ATI Winflash (download) from Windows. Start Winflash, select the correct card and flash away.
After the flash is done, remove the second card and boot from your now working HD 4870.

Please note: RBE 1.11 works fine for these 128K BIOSes, just make sure you do not work with a broken 64K BIOS in the first place (check the file size). The HD 4850 does not have a 128K BIOS, only the HD 4870.

Thanks for helping to make this possible go out to: Dave Baumann, Golden Tiger and xMrBunglex.
sounds like my kind of problem and my kind of plan.

However, i've tried three different (incl the sapphire HD4870) cards to get picture back on my screen(s) but nothing.

The PC starts up and all fans start working, but the screen stays blank. not even a hint of a visual. The power button is also flashing whereas it should be constantly lit.
Weird thing is that if no signal (DVI or old style blue cable) passes from the PC to the screen due to the PC being disconnected from the power I get constantly lit power button on my screen and a message saying I need to check the signal cable.

I can't even get into my bios to set different boot devices or anything.

Anyone have any ideas or should I just reset me motherboard (MSI P45 platinum) and hope this resets what seems like a PCI-e slot problem (I have two slots and have tried them both and both er f-ed.
And would resetting my mobo result in my RAID mirror config being screwed?

many many thanks
 

tnt23

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name SOON TO BE UPGRADED...
Processor Dual core Intel Pentium D 940 Core speed 3.2 ghz
Motherboard P5WD2-E Premium
Cooling stock
Memory 2 gig
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 260 896 mb gddr3 448bit shader 4.0
Storage 1 Terra samsung 32 meg + too many offline:)
Display(s) SAMSUNG Syncmaster T220HD
Case THERMALTAKE EUREKA
Audio Device(s) M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 2496
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600 W
Software ULTIMATE XP SP3
#16
bricked 4870

hi everybody

i have a ASUS 4870 512 on which i flashed the bios in windows...(i know 2 stupid things not to do)

Right now i dont even have a PCI card to fix this...but will be looking for one...

Can anybody confirm that i cannot connect a NVIDIA 6800 on my SLIi board at the same time as the ATI ? (that would help)

Also wondering where i can find the original bios ??? on asus site there is only the bios update...


Another question : 4870.bin linked on this site is a modified one ?

thx for answers
 

E0x

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
i have a XFX HD 4870 with 1GB GDDR5 , this bios will work for that card too ? are the the bios the same not matter what vendor are ?
 

Arucarde

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
Help please

Today I was flashing my Sapphire 4830 bios and it restart resulting on a dead card:banghead:..., will this solution work? And if so, can I do it whit an nvidea card?
 

E0x

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
Today I was flashing my Sapphire 4830 bios and it restart resulting on a dead card:banghead:..., will this solution work? And if so, can I do it whit an nvidea card?
my card is a XFX 4870 doing a bios update i f**ck the bios i post a ticket in the XFX support center and they send me a ISO that i need burn in a cd and boot with it , the iso will boot and do a force update in the first pcie device that it find , but my board dont do post without video card so i need find a old pci video card to get boot and use the ISO and work fine , maybe you can do that , find a pci video card boot with it and use some DOS boot ( Iso or floppy ) with the flashing too and the bios of you video card ( the correct one ) and reflash it maybe it will work , and if the nvidia have the same problem you can do the same too.

pd: maybe you board dont get boot only with put the pci video card , so you need take off the pcie card first ( the ATI one ) and boot just with the pci video card enter in the bios and change the primary video device to PCI ( maybe will be set to PCIE so change it ) and go back and put the PCIE card and continue the process

pd2: ask to the support crew of saphire if they can send you the correct o stock bios for you card.
 

Arucarde

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
I did boot whit an pci card and try to flash the 4830 like this method and it can detect device,can some one give me something?Should Itry whit an pci-e?
 

K91NE

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Boston,MA
System Name BullsEyeGaming
Processor INTEL I7 920@4.2
Motherboard ASUS P6T DELUXE V2
Cooling CoolIt DOMINO/CoolIt DualBay GPU cooler
Memory OCZ Gold XTC 6GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Asus 4870 820/1090(crossfire)
Storage WesternDigital VelociRaptor 300 gb
Display(s) LG L226WTQ(Digital) 22"flatron 2ms @1650x1080
Case CoolerMaster 932 HAF
Audio Device(s) X-FI Xtreme Fidelity ~XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair THX750
Software VISTA Premium 64 SP1
Benchmark Scores 3d06 26,751 3dVantage 19,156
#22
Ok i am having a simlar problem i tried to flash my 2nd 4870 in PCI-E slot 2 with XFX bios so they will match.The problem i am haveing is when i did this winflash it didnt let me choose what card and it gave pci-e SLOT 1 A BAD BIOS FLASH.Now i can get WINFLASH 2017 or 2012 to open.When i click on it nothing happens and with ATIWINFLASH i get a ERROR Resources files missing.Im lost on what to do.ATI RBE_121 opens finds the path to Winflash and opens the crashes with the BSOD.
 

noor98

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
The Same issue with GA-V485OC-1GH - BIOS

[heading]Introduction[/heading]
This article applies only to users who flashed their HD 4870 (GDDR5) with a 64 KB sized BIOS (created by GPU-Z, Winflash or Atiflash) and ended up with an 800 shader paperweight.

[heading]The Problem[/heading]
In the past all (consumer) graphics card BIOSes were smaller than 64 KBytes. With the introduction of GDDR5 additional space was required for the memory training code. Since ATI could not fit that piece of code into the 64 KB available, they increased the BIOS size to 128 KB (1 MBit).

For an unknown reason ATI's flashing software Winflash/Atiflash does not correctly detect those extra 64 KB and forgets to save them when you dump your BIOS to a file. The same happens to GPU-Z (fixed in 0.2.5 and newer). So everybody who extracted their HD 4870 BIOS ended up with no GDDR5 microcode.

[heading]The Fix[/heading]

  • Download the full 128K BIOS here.
  • Flash it to your dead card.
  • Done.

Since the dead card will not POST anymore you have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it.
Then go into DOS and find out which adapter number your dead HD 4870 has using Atiflash (download): atiflash -i. Now flash the BIOS using: atiflash -f -newbios -p [index] 4870.bin. Replace [index] with the number of your graphics card from the -i command.
Another way is using ATI Winflash (download) from Windows. Start Winflash, select the correct card and flash away.
After the flash is done, remove the second card and boot from your now working HD 4870.

Please note: RBE 1.11 works fine for these 128K BIOSes, just make sure you do not work with a broken 64K BIOS in the first place (check the file size). The HD 4850 does not have a 128K BIOS, only the HD 4870.

Thanks for helping to make this possible go out to: Dave Baumann, Golden Tiger and xMrBunglex.
Dear;

- I have the same issue with Gigabyte ATI card HD4850 1 GHz, can I follow the same procedure above with my case?
- does the ATIflash tool works with this Gigabyte model? Gigabyte has its own tool called VGA @BIOS.
- I have backup the original version before going through updating to F7 version , can I use as my original file or I do have to look for a new one?

appreciates your kind help.
 

maskulo

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
hi man!
today i have just tried to flash my ati 4870 sapphire on my pc (wuìith an Asus p5k pro motherboard).
but unfortunately, after i have flashed bios my video card doesn't work anymore.
the upgrade of bios was ok but after i try to start pc but my monito was all black!!!
pc starts, and also window i think start but no video signal appear on the monitor...
i have read your post and you say that "i have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it. "
"have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it. "
sorry but i am not expert...:)
can you explain me this better?
now i have just installed an nvidia gts 8800 and it work properly and i have upgrade bios directly from usb with alt+F2 as bios start up and i have used the bios file downloaded from the website of my motherboard.
thank for your attention!
 

Dubious

New Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#25
First up, I'd like to say this thread saved my bacon hardcore. I was experiencing the symptoms that seem trademark of the 4870 - anywhere from 1 minute to several hours into a graphically intensive program, my machine would lock up accompanied by vertical bars or a strange pixelation - and decided to look to fix it. I read somewhere else about flashing, downloaded Winflash, a new BIOS and figured I was good to go. Went in all gung-ho like the flashed the card ... however it locked up again followed by the blue screen of death. Wouldn't POST no more and I was freaking. Researched alittle more on my roommates machine and came across this site. I opened my machine and found that I only had the one PCIe slot and no AGP slots, so I had no idea how I was to fix this. I tried booting the machine without any video card (and my mobo doesn't have any integrated graphics), getting to Windows (I could hear the start-up sound), plugging my card in at that point (which was probably a real foolish thing to do) and navigating to command prompt, copying and different BIOS from my flashdrive (as I figured the first one I had was bad) and flashing it blind from there. Tried this a few times and it didn't work. All today at work I was asking if anyone had an ancient machine around that had a PCI graphics card, to no avail. Hit the computer stores around town, to no avail. Was with a friend, walking around, heading to get a cup of coffee and we past a computer repair place. He suggested I try, just in case they have one. I was ... dubious, but did nevertheless. To my surprise, they did, though it had just been sitting there for ages. He just gave it to me. A glimmer of hope! Had coffee and took this sucker home. I could finally see again ... though my further efforts yielded no tangible results ... seems WinFlash wasn't working, neither in DOS shell or Windows (there was a process, but nothing happened) and Atiflash would bring up some error signal message. Downloaded RBE and GPU-Z, the latter of which could see my card, but the analysis in RBE using WinFlash didn't find anything. Nearly resigned to defeat, thinking I maybe fried my card earlier, I read alittle more and saw that Atiflash required an actual DOS enviroment. I decided to try that, as the final struggle, and made a bootable flashdrive. Copied the BIOS and Atiflash. Booted it up and ... HUZZAH! It flashed no problem. Ripped out the PCI card, restarted, and bam ... I was back in business, writing to you now, as some sorta testimonial, I guess.

A big thanks to all who've contributed to his resolution. I am a smilling cat now. And to boot (ha!), I've more than a vague idea about graphics card flashing.

I've an Ati Sapphire Radeon 4870 GDDR5 512mb

hi man!
today i have just tried to flash my ati 4870 sapphire on my pc (wuìith an Asus p5k pro motherboard).
but unfortunately, after i have flashed bios my video card doesn't work anymore.
the upgrade of bios was ok but after i try to start pc but my monito was all black!!!
pc starts, and also window i think start but no video signal appear on the monitor...
i have read your post and you say that "i have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it. "
"have to use another graphics card as your primary VGA adapter to boot from it. "
sorry but i am not expert...:)
can you explain me this better?
now i have just installed an nvidia gts 8800 and it work properly and i have upgrade bios directly from usb with alt+F2 as bios start up and i have used the bios file downloaded from the website of my motherboard.
thank for your attention!
I figure I'll take a shot at helping ya here ...

You'll need another graphics card plugged into your motherboard, as well as your dead one. If like me, you've only a single PCIe slot on your motherboard, you'll have to acquire a card that'll fit in another slot. I'd be willing to bet you've a regular old school PCI slot in there, to which you'll need to find a card with that connection. When you do, you'll need to tell your motherboard BIOS to load that card as your primary video adapter (for example, I can elect to boot a PCI or PCIe slot first). You can access BIOS as the first screen comes up after you start ... where it shows you the memory check and all ... press F8 or DEL ... one should bring up BIOS - it should tell you how somewhere on that screen. This might require you to remove your dead card first in order to access the BIOS, in case it tries to boot that one up. Get the second card as your primary (and put your old one back in, of course) and load to Windows. You'll want to download RBE (Radeon BIOS Editor) and load the BIOS file you want to flash. There will be two BIOS Checksum numbers ... write these down. I'm not sure how Winflash works, as I've not actually been able to sucessfully run it (it caused a failed flashing that landed me in this soup in the first place ... did this in DOS shell). Create a bootable device, such as a floppy disk if you have the drive, or a USB flashdrive - this will require a specific program to do e.g. I used HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool and a copy of some DOS system files. Copy Atiflash and the BIOS file to the drive and write down the command line to flash the drive (atiflash.exe -p [index] [bios file].[ext] (my command line looked like: atiflash -p 0 1e8501sa.002) ). Restart your machine and it should boot to the USB. If it doesn't, you'll likely have to go into your mobo BIOS again and assign USB priority as a boot device over your harddrive i.e. make USB or USBHDD your Primary Boot Device, which should be located in the Advanced BIOS Setup. Save changes and restart. You should boot into DOS prompt. At this point, type: atiflash -i . This should display all Ati cards you have installed into your computer (in your case, one, right?) Check the first colomn (I think) for a single digit number, which corresponds to the location of your card. You may want to check your BIOS checksum at this screen too ... if you have two Ati cards in your machine (i.e. the second card you put in), make sure you find the don't flash that one. Look for a corresponding BIOS Checksum to the one you wrote down earlier. Once you have the location of the card, type in your command line to flash: atiflash -p [location of board] [bios file].[ext]. With any luck, this should fix your card right back up - this is how I finally fixed mine.

Hope that helps ... may be alittle convoluted.

And again thank you to the creator(s) of the above fix.