1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Reinstall Video Drivers (Quick Guide)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by erocker, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. redwar1

    redwar1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Quick question. Ive been hearing not to delete specific AMD/ATI folders if you also have a AMD Processor as you could be deleting important cpu files. I have an AMD RADEON HD 6870 and a AMD PHENOM X6 II CPU. Could I harm my pc doing this? Im getting these pixel errors. http://i.imgur.com/CG0or.png So im trying to reinstall drivers correctly.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    Looks more like a hardware failure than a driver problem.

    And, no. If you follow the guide it doesn't matter what CPU you have.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Foxape New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble with Section C. I'm on Windows XP. Can anyone help?
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    What trouble are you having? :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Ona New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nvidia graphic driver

    I've been having this issue with recent installations of nvidia driver updates. Basically only 1 or two of the updated drivers install and the rest will fail. Now since i have a relatively old card (230m), I assumed certain updates fail as they aren't applicable to my particular card. Is this the case or should I look to re-install from scratch?
     
  6. Syrfnr New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey there. Don't know whether this thread is still active but i have a problem! I did every step and i ended up with a BSOD system service exception error. I'm running windows 7 and i was reinstalling my AMD graphics. Anyone can help me? Please
     
  7. Mothalicka New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well syrfnr if you get a BSOD often then that most likely is a hardware problem than a driver one. On the bright side at least you got that BSOD to prevent any more damage than it already has. Hopefully this helps
     
  8. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    CCC won't open!

    I have followed the guide carefully, and after the reboot and then went to reinstall when i go to click on the CCC icon the vista loading blue circle comes up for a few seconds then disappears and nothing happens.

    Thanks for the help in advanced. :)
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    Make sure you have the correct driver version downloaded. x86 or x64. Unless it's a Vista/newer drivers issue.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    It used to work fine (the CCC) but then when I opened a game it said that my drivers could be updated and could affect the game play if i left them. So I went on the ATI website and downloaded the AMD driver autodetect, it found the latest drive for my OS etc and i installed it. Now i'm at this point.

    Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    What model video card is it? Are you using 32 or 64 bit Vista?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry should of said before. I'm runnning Vista 32bit and an ATI Radeon HD 2500.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Still no luck :( I have a slim case so technically a PC but can't get much inside :) I'm on the dell website and found a driver for the graphics card, so i'm currently downloading that now.
     
  15. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Downloaded and seems that I have been using a too new version which it didn't like but i don't know. The problem now is that as soon as I open CCC it comes up with the "Host Application has stopped working" error message.
     
  16. adboy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've done it finally!!! :) I just deleted all the driver entries etc, restarted pc then installed new drivers, restarted again and now it works :D

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  17. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,890 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Can anyone help me?

    I'm trying to fix this laptop equipped with E-450 APU with HD6320 as the gfx card, tried the methods above but am at a loss, I still get the error "Application Install: Install package failure" error.

    attached is the error log (added .txt to the end to be able to upload) from the Catalyst Manager tool. :(

    Thanks all!

    EDIT: Managed to make it work, now only 1 component gives a failure, the drivers install fine but
    Code:
    AMD Drag and Drop Transcoding
    Final Status:    Fail
    Version of Item:    2.00.0000
    Size:    1 Mbytes
    That's the error I get, and even if I manually run the said *.msi installer, it looks for a network source. (but I have the installer on the OS drive).
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2013
  18. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,146 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,318
    quick fix: share a folder and browse the the "shared" folder????
     
    psyko12 says thanks.
  19. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,890 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Fixed it with microsoft msi installer fix or "Fix it!" program. It was due to some corrupt registry entries. Everything seems fine now. Thanks :D
     
  20. dimpet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    download latest amd drivers, disable network and run as administrator the drivers...
     
  21. GayleShier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    good to get that you have got the fix now keep them updated and bug free
     
  22. Ethnography

    Ethnography New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    +3 ~~
     
  23. OpticalPlays New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello

    (i just joined the site today so this question can get answered and i am aware this thread is over 1 year old)
    On Section A, i cant seem to find ADM or Nvidia and i am unsure if i have it or not...

    PLZ HELP!! :(:(
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    Hi!!

    Download GPU-Z here: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2571/techpowerup-gpu-z-v0-8-6/

    It will tell you what you have.

    This thread is a bit outdated now. The easiest/best way to currently reinstall drivers is to uninstall through Windows Control Panel, then run DDU, which you can get here: http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.html
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,301 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,196
    Do you even need to uninstall drivers now if you are switching out a card?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)