• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to set constant Turbo boost?

Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
Hi all,
I have an i7-6700K CPU and I want to set its core clock to 4,2GHz all the time. No, I don't want to go higher (that's one of the reasons why I have a B200 serie MOBO), so please spare me the comments like "Buy a Z board, and OC to 5GHz" etc. I only want to maintain its Turbo Boost clock. How should I do?
I would do it on my own in this way (I have never done this before, so I need a confirmation of an expert):

CPU Base Clock: Default (100MHz)
CPU Ratio: 42
CPU Ratio Apply Mode: All Core
CPU Ratio Mode: Fixed Mode

Or is this setup absolutely wrong?
Thanks,
hazazs
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,693 (4.08/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Hi all,
I have an i7-6700K CPU and I want to set its core clock to 4,2GHz all the time. No, I don't want to go higher (that's one of the reasons why I have a B200 serie MOBO), so please spare me the comments like "Buy a Z board, and OC to 5GHz" etc. I only want to maintain its Turbo Boost clock. How should I do?
I would do it on my own in this way (I have never done this before, so I need a confirmation of an expert):

CPU Base Clock: Default (100MHz)
CPU Ratio: 42
CPU Ratio Apply Mode: All Core
CPU Ratio Mode: Fixed Mode

Or is this setup absolutely wrong?
Thanks,
hazazs
Sounds about right. But check what frequency the RAM is running at after making those changes.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,513 (3.03/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Hi all,
I have an i7-6700K CPU and I want to set its core clock to 4,2GHz all the time. No, I don't want to go higher (that's one of the reasons why I have a B200 serie MOBO), so please spare me the comments like "Buy a Z board, and OC to 5GHz" etc. I only want to maintain its Turbo Boost clock. How should I do?
I would do it on my own in this way (I have never done this before, so I need a confirmation of an expert):

CPU Base Clock: Default (100MHz)
CPU Ratio: 42
CPU Ratio Apply Mode: All Core
CPU Ratio Mode: Fixed Mode

Or is this setup absolutely wrong?
Thanks,
hazazs
That sounds correct. Are you also able set XMP for RAM? If so that simplifies this even more.
.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
210 (0.26/day)
On a non-Z board the answer is simple - you can't.

The 4.2GHz refers only to single core load. Anything more has turbo frequency of 4GHz.

There is no way to override it without OC (what does require Z). On some previous platforms it was possible, but skylake has no known workarounds (non-K OC is completely unrelated) ("multicore enhancement" is also unrelated).
All you can do is override power and current limit values, so the cpu does not drop below 4GHz no matter what kind of load happens. Leave other clock/ratio settings untouched, so during single core load it can boost to 4.2GHz.

Seeing you've already tweaked the memory - unfortunately there is nothing more to be done.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,886 (5.85/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
from what I can infer he wants his cpu never to downclock.
disable c states and speedstep,set minimum cpu % value in power plans to 100%

as for 4.2ghz boost try xtu
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,909 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
He wants to limit the single core frequency increase to 4.2 Maximum, nothing higher
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,886 (5.85/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
He wants to limit the single core frequency increase to 4.2 Maximum, nothing higher
but single core is boosting to 4.2 already at stock
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,259 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Its a tad safer to use the turbo for each core at x42 , and keep your baseclock at stock.

This way you have a fallback in case the CPU wants to throttle due to power or heat. And you are guaranteed to get into bios without a hot CPU.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
Sounds about right. But check what frequency the RAM is running at after making those changes.
That sounds correct. Are you also able set XMP for RAM? If so that simplifies this even more.
I have this RAM Kit: <click>
And yeah, it was one of my first doing to set the RAM settings to their SPD values via X.M.P. (to 2133MHz, 1,2V, CL13 from the default 2133MHz, 1,2V, CL15).

The 4.2GHz refers only to single core load. Anything more has turbo frequency of 4GHz.
Hmm. I have set the power plan to "Maximum performance" and the minimum CPU limit to 100%, and according to CPU-Z all the 4 cores move between 4 and 4,2GHz. So how is this possible then?

Anyway, my further power save settings in the BIOS are:
-Intel C-State [Auto]
-C1E Support [Disabled]
-Package C State limit [Auto]
-EIST [Enabled]
These are my MOBO default settings. All I want to reach is to prevent visual dips/hiccups in games due to a switch from a lower C-State to C0. Is this possible simply by setting the power plan in windows to maximum performance (which automatically sets the CPU minimum limit to 100%) and leaving every other settings at default?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,259 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Hmm. I have set the power plan to "Maximum performance" and the minimum CPU limit to 100%, and according to CPU-Z all the 4 cores move between 4 and 4,2GHz. So how is this possible then?
That is confirmation of what he is saying. Core frequency and transistors 'switch' way faster than you can possibly monitor. The turbo ratios could be set between 40 and 42 for 1 ~ 4 cores loaded. So in the brief moments you don't have max load on each core, you can see them go to 42.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
All you can do is override power and current limit values, so the cpu does not drop below 4GHz no matter what kind of load happens. Leave other clock/ratio settings untouched, so during single core load it can boost to 4.2GHz.
I have set the minimum processor state to 100% by enabling the "High performance" power profile. Most of the time the CPU runs at 4GHz on each core, but monitoring the clocks for 3 hours this was the result according to CPUID HWMonitor:



For some reason each core drops rarily to 800MHz, even if I set EIST to disabled. Why? It should keep the 4GHz all the time, isn't it? What setting did I miss?

Thanks,
hazazs
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,453 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
In windows you have to set power plan to max.

Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Power Options
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,259 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I have set the minimum processor state to 100% by enabling the "High performance" power profile. Most of the time the CPU runs at 4GHz on each core, but monitoring the clocks for 3 hours this was the result according to CPUID HWMonitor:



For some reason each core drops rarily to 800MHz, even if I set EIST to disabled. Why? It should keep the 4GHz all the time, isn't it? What setting did I miss?

Thanks,
hazazs
CPU runs outside of TDP budget and it will clock back to get back under it. Doesn't have to be temp related. If the max power plan doesn't work from Windows, enter BIOS and set the package TDP limit at 250W.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
CPU runs outside of TDP budget and it will clock back to get back under it. Doesn't have to be temp related. If the max power plan doesn't work from Windows, enter BIOS and set the package TDP limit at 250W.
134253


Is these two settings what I need?

@Tibor Hazafi - Do you really need two active forum threads for the same topic? Why not ask the mods to permanently close one of these threads.
I will ask them to close the another one, thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,259 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
View attachment 134253

Is these two settings what I need?



I will ask them to close the another one, thanks.
Precisely those yes. You can also max out the long duration maintained setting. These settings will not override any sort of overheat protection.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,234 (3.13/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
I think you just your power mode for performance
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
On a non-Z board the answer is simple - you can't.
Then why are those detaild OC settings in the BIOS at all?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,909 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Then why are those detaild OC settings in the BIOS at all?
It's for those who want a mild overclock it won't be nearly as Extreme as a zboard it's like taking for example a low ended 970 based motherboard versus a top-end 990 FX motherboard
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,741 (4.36/day)
You should be able to set the core multiplier as high as the single core boost and lock it there on locked boards. This has NO effect on your memory as you are not changing the bclk. But that coupled with setting windows power plan to performance, should do it.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
It's for those who want a mild overclock it won't be nearly as Extreme as a zboard it's like taking for example a low ended 970 based motherboard versus a top-end 990 FX motherboard
I just want to keep the turbo clock (4,2GHz) fixed on all cores. I hope this can be considered as mild.

You should be able to set the core multiplier as high as the single core boost and lock it there on locked boards. This has NO effect on your memory as you are not changing the bclk. But that coupled with setting windows power plan to performance, should do it.
That's exactly what I want. Furthermore it would be enough for me to keep the base clock (4GHz) all the time, and have the turbo boost on one core when necessary. I think it would be the exact point of the high performance power plan by default, but when I set it to that, which automatically sets the minimum CPU state to 100%, each cores still drop sometimes to 800MHz. Disabling EIST can't help either. When I disable the C-States, everything is fine (constant 4GHz), exept there isn't any turbo at all for some reason. I will try this today, maybe it works:
C-States [Auto]
C1E [Disabled]
C-State Packages [C0]
EIST [Enabled]
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
914 (0.77/day)
Location
Croatistan
System Name 1.21 gigawatts!
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Game Rock
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Team L3 EVO 480GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00 23" FHD AH-IPS
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply FSP Hydro G 650W
Mouse Cougar 700M eSports white
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.82.2 (4,8 GHz + XMP): 574 ST / 2887 MT Cinebench R15: 948 (stock) / 1044 (4,7 GHz)
The 4.2GHz refers only to single core load. Anything more has turbo frequency of 4GHz.
Maybe with certain boards but my i7 6700K before the OC, fully stock system, always boosted all cores together to 4,2 GHz during heavy workloads.

Otherwise it's pointless having all cores constantly running at eg. 4,5 GHz all the time because your system will not become any faster than it currently is. Rather apply some OC with appropriate voltages and set it to "adaptive".
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
always boosted all cores together to 4,2 GHz during heavy workloads.
I thought the same regarding to my HWMonitor values:


But it's not true. Each of the cores can boost to 4,2GHz, BUT not at the same time. Maybe you can see that the current value of all cores are 4,2GHz at the moment, but it's just due to the high polling rate (1000ms most of the time) of the monitoring programs. They can't follow the clocks in real time. You can ensure about this on the official intel site:
134720
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,741 (4.36/day)
I wouldn't fret over 200 MHz...

It's possible this budget chipset/board just can't do it. But if you have an option to set all cores, find it and do so. Even if it settles to 800 MHz, it does so on idle anyway... the ramp up is quick as heck and not really noticeable outside of benchmarks. Really.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,438 (0.34/day)
I have a B200 serie MOBO
For the all core turbo feature to work you need both a K series CPU and a Z series motherboard. On a B200 motherboard, the 6700K will be limited to its default specs.


It can only use the 42 multiplier when a single core is active. Without a Z series board, there is no way to get it to run the 42 multiplier all cores so stop trying.

If you are using a motherboard that is not a Z series board, you also need to enable the deeper C states like C3 or C6. If both of these C states are disabled then you will be limited to the 40 multiplier. This is how Intel Turbo Boost works.
 
Top