• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to set windows photo viewer as default app for webp images

Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
200 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name Potentially Epic
Processor Intel Core i5 7500
Motherboard MSI H110M Pro-VD
Cooling Deepcool Alta 7 (CPU) | 2x 120mm RGB Case Fans (Rear and Front)
Memory Hynix 16GB (2x8) 2400Mhz CL17
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB GDDR5
Storage Crucial BX500 120GB; Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; Dell 1TB Ext. HDD
Display(s) HP 22es
Case Ant Esports ICE-211TG
Audio Device(s) F&D A110 2.1 Stereo Speakers
Power Supply Circle 500 Watts APFC
Mouse Redragon M609
Keyboard TVS Gold Mechanical Keyboard (MX Blue, PS/2)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (v1909)
Benchmark Scores 1457 for CPU in Cinebench R20
it doesn't seem to be possible to do it because in file type i only get three options : firefox, gimp and paint. There's no executable in windows for photo viewer as well which makes it harder although it does support it because you can view them with it and even open with doesn't show photo vier option. What should i do?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,769 (1.76/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Stock HSF
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Basically all you need to do is activate photo viewer first (even though it works, it may not be fully enabled in windows). Then, it'll appear in the programs list when you do "Open With" or if you change it through properties. Just did it on my PC. Haven't bothered earlier, since Total Commander opens old Photo Viewer by default.

Capture.PNG
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,778 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Are you talking about the old Windows Photo Viewer or the new Photos App in Windows 10?
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
200 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name Potentially Epic
Processor Intel Core i5 7500
Motherboard MSI H110M Pro-VD
Cooling Deepcool Alta 7 (CPU) | 2x 120mm RGB Case Fans (Rear and Front)
Memory Hynix 16GB (2x8) 2400Mhz CL17
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB GDDR5
Storage Crucial BX500 120GB; Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; Dell 1TB Ext. HDD
Display(s) HP 22es
Case Ant Esports ICE-211TG
Audio Device(s) F&D A110 2.1 Stereo Speakers
Power Supply Circle 500 Watts APFC
Mouse Redragon M609
Keyboard TVS Gold Mechanical Keyboard (MX Blue, PS/2)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (v1909)
Benchmark Scores 1457 for CPU in Cinebench R20
Basically all you need to do is activate photo viewer first (even though it works, it may not be fully enabled in windows). Then, it'll appear in the programs list when you do "Open With" or if you change it through properties. Just did it on my PC. Haven't bothered earlier, since Total Commander opens old Photo Viewer by default.
still doesn't seem work :(
Are you talking about the old Windows Photo Viewer or the new Photos App in Windows 10?
i don't even photos app installed or any uwp bloatware
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
1,691 (4.04/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation & Q9550 with EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 & CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Hi,
Problem is webp is a browser thing so don't believe a browser will allow it unless it has a setting to do it like here in firefox settings
Global windows you'd have to associate a program with a file type similar to what has already been suggested but in a different place than by right click.

1614786567367.png


1614786783353.png
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,769 (1.76/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Stock HSF
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
still doesn't seem work :(
Did you reboot your PC after running a *.reg file? In my case it worked right away, but it may be necessary in your case.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
200 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name Potentially Epic
Processor Intel Core i5 7500
Motherboard MSI H110M Pro-VD
Cooling Deepcool Alta 7 (CPU) | 2x 120mm RGB Case Fans (Rear and Front)
Memory Hynix 16GB (2x8) 2400Mhz CL17
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB GDDR5
Storage Crucial BX500 120GB; Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; Dell 1TB Ext. HDD
Display(s) HP 22es
Case Ant Esports ICE-211TG
Audio Device(s) F&D A110 2.1 Stereo Speakers
Power Supply Circle 500 Watts APFC
Mouse Redragon M609
Keyboard TVS Gold Mechanical Keyboard (MX Blue, PS/2)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (v1909)
Benchmark Scores 1457 for CPU in Cinebench R20
Did you reboot your PC after running a *.reg file? In my case it worked right away, but it may be necessary in your case.
Yeah I thought it requires a restart, will do now. Btw, I had no clue what reg file you are talking about, just realized you also linked an article
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2021
Messages
6 (0.67/day)
Location
Brazil - São Paulo
System Name Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC x64 modified by me
Processor AMD A10 7800
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3HP
Cooling Air colled
Memory 2x HyperX 8GB DDR 3
Video Card(s) Radeon RX580 8GB Power Color
Storage SSD SanDisk 240 GB + ST 1000LM 024 HN-M101MBB SATA Disk
Display(s) 1 Sansung 18,5" LCD + 1 AOC 18,5" LCD
Case Deep Cool Tesseract
Audio Device(s) Power Amplifier made by me
Power Supply Corsair CX 750M
Mouse Microsoft Wireless mobile mouse 3500
Keyboard LogitechY-ST39
Software several
Top