• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

How to take advantage of Dual Gigabit LAN?

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#1
My mobo has Dual Gigabit LAN and was wondering if there is anything i can do to take advantage of that to get better performance. I'm behind a router on a wired network and currently have 1 RJ-45 cable connecting one of the Gigabit LAN mobo ports to a RJ-45 jack attached to the wall. I also have another RJ-45 jack on the 3rd floor (i'm on the 2nd), if a run a long cable and plug it into my second Gigabit LAN mobo port will i get a performance boost? Or do i have it all wrong?
 

goober

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
Location
Florida
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI
Memory 8 GB Mushkin
Video Card(s) Nvidia 560ti
Storage Seagate 1TB, Seagate 320GB
Display(s) 25" Hannspree 1920x1080 and 22" LG 1680x1050
Case Cooler Master
Power Supply 750 Watt Corsair
Software Windows 8 Pro NFR
#2
you could plug another cord in and set up load balancing but that is mainly for servers but it also works like that, i did that for a while
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#3
Does your mobo manual mention a special feature ? This kind of thing IS possible.
 
Last edited:

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#4
Mobo manual doesnt say a word about this, funny, because this feature was marketed by Gigabyte and they dont even tell the end user how to take advantage of it.

@goober, can you plz explain load balancing, what does it do?

Since you guys think it will work I guess i'll have to look for a long ass cord like 25 ft long, plug that sucker in and see what happens, i'll post back later and let you guys know how it works.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#5
I think you can plug Ethernet cables directly to another computer and they can send stuff to each other.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
48
Location
Massachusetts
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) XFX 7870
Storage 120GB OCZ SSD, 2x1TB storage
Display(s) Asus 27" IPS, Samsung 23" secondary
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair 650w
Software Win7 Ultimate
#6
I think you can plug Ethernet cables directly to another computer and they can send stuff to each other.
Yea Gigabit ports are good for LAN, I had my 360 passing through my computer with ICS when I had dual ports before I got a second router. Load balancing really doesn't make too much sense in this case. Usually they are for dishing out traffic to another server so one does not get swamped.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#7
My board has two giga lans,they support something called teaming,no idea what it is though.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#8
I think you can plug Ethernet cables directly to another computer and they can send stuff to each other.
Yea, i think i heard about that too. Though i'm already on a network but have all the sharing stuff turned off cause it is not used. Basically the main pc hooked to the router just lets me go on the web.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
48
Location
Massachusetts
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) XFX 7870
Storage 120GB OCZ SSD, 2x1TB storage
Display(s) Asus 27" IPS, Samsung 23" secondary
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair 650w
Software Win7 Ultimate
#9
There is no way you'd come near gigabit speeds using the internet especially through a router, which probably only supports 100Mbits anyhow, so I don't know if there would be a point in having both connected. I guess you could just use the other to connect other computers if you wanted to.
 

mas0n

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
88 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Location
dallas
Processor Q6600 425x9=3825MHz @1.4625V
Motherboard DFI DK X38-T2RSB
Cooling PA120.3, Apogee GT, Swiftech MCP655-B
Memory 4GB Patriot 4-4-4-12 @425MHz
Video Card(s) HD4870 @ 820/1100
Storage 2x74GB | 2x400GB | JBOD 1.8TB
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec P180B
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 610W Silencer
#10
There is very little chance you are doing anything on your LAN that would perform better under a teaming dual-gigabit connection. A single Gigabit connection will provide up to 125MB/s which means that the computer on the other end most likely doesn't have hard drives that could keep up in order to saturate that bandwidth. Where teamed LAN is beneficial is in situations not where you neccessarily need the additional bandwidth, but are serving to massive amounts of simultaneous requests.

To set it up you can either use the proprietary software that most likely came with your motherboard, or you can just bridge the connections under Network Connections, it will do the same thing.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
Teaming usually requires support on the other end. In high packet enviornments, teaming can essentially double bandwidth however, if you're not starved for packets and are simply bandwidth starved, teaming very well might not get you anything new. Considering that I doubt your internet exceeds 1Gbps or that you have a gateway server or NAS capable of handling a teamed connect, then I would stop considering it as adoption cost is high. There are two "modes" that teamed connections can run in, fault tolerant and load balancing. Fault tolerance is like RAID-1, you have a second connection in case the first ever gets disabled or unavailable whereas load balancing balances packets between the two interfaces which is how capacity can be expanded (capacity versus latency).

Are you trying to accomplish something in specific? What's your end goal?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#13
I think the people that asked this question 7 years ago have got their answer already. Sometimes I wonder if people see the giant red box that asks if they want to post in a Jurassic thread and just tick it blindly.
 

Jesse

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Yes, I saw that... and yet it was listed nowhere else until I was lead there from advice I got here. Sorry for contributing. Won't do it again.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
I think the people that asked this question 7 years ago have got their answer already. Sometimes I wonder if people see the giant red box that asks if they want to post in a Jurassic thread and just tick it blindly.
You don't see it anymore once someone posts. That's what happens when I post before having my coffee.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#16
You don't see it anymore once someone posts. That's what happens when I post before having my coffee.
Ah I wasn't having a moan at you
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#17
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
484 (0.11/day)
Likes
57
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) MSI TF3 7970 OC BE + Kraken G10 & Corsair H55
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
#18
Holy Necro!!!!

How is it possible with the big red banner :p
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
166 (0.05/day)
Likes
84
Processor Intel Core i7 5820k
Motherboard MSI X99S-GAMING7
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 16GB G.SKILL DDR4
Video Card(s) Geforce GTX970
Storage Samsung 840 Evo
Display(s) Samsung U28E590DS UHD
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Raze Naga
Keyboard Filco Majestouch
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#19
Phew, glad this got addressed.