• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to tell if I have bad hard drive?

Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
56 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
#1
I have a 2TB Toshiba hard drive which had been in near continuous use for about 3 years. Then out of the blue Windows warned me there was problem and suggested I start backing up. Since I already do backups there wasn't anything new important so I downloaded the test software. Toshiba software didn't find any issues but it won't show me SMART data. When I restart the computer, I get SMART error at BIOS so something is wrong. HD Tune doesn't show data either. It's like the hard drive has SMART support but won't share it for some reason.

(I also found a problem with EVGA SR-2 mobo, it tells me to press F1 to continue but USB keyboard does not work at all because it hasn't loaded the driver for the error! I had to dig up PS/2 keyboard to get past that screen)

Is there software I can use to read SMART data? Or should I pull it and nuke it?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.40/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#2
Is the hard drive making any odd noises? Does the computer run EXTREMELY slow? I mean like...can't even stand to use it slow.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,477 (3.47/day)
Likes
7,247
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.40/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#4
Could also check out the "Ultimate Boot CD". LOTS of useful tools in there.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
56 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
#5
No noise at all, scandisk (full) didn't find any error, and file transfer speed seems about the same. The 2TB drive is used for data and not for booting or OS so I wouldn't have noticed slow computer unless it's playing video or running large games.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,477 (3.47/day)
Likes
7,247
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
Is it connected to a SATA port as in an internal drive or USB?

And did you try Crystal Disk info
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,472 (4.21/day)
Likes
6,401
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x HGST 3TB (RAID0) | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
I run tests on all my HDDs using crystal disk info. I do however need to tell you to watch the installer. I dont know if it was my source or what but it wanted to install conduit search. which is the #1 problem in my shop.

BUT

CDI is what I use and trust the most.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
56 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
#8
CDI did want to install extra stuff and toolbar but it can be skipped with custom install. The hard drive in question is internal SATA connected to mobo's internal SATA 3G port set as IDE. CDI was able to get the SMART data:

-- S.M.A.R.T. --------------------------------------------------------------
ID Cur Wor Thr RawValues(6) Attribute Name
01 _94 _94 _16 00000000001D Read Error Rate
02 127 127 _54 00000000007C Throughput Performance
03 115 115 _24 00090275026E Spin-Up Time
04 100 100 __0 00000000090A Start/Stop Count
05 _64 _64 __5 00000000027A Reallocated Sectors Count
07 100 100 _67 000000000000 Seek Error Rate
08 112 112 _20 000000000027 Seek Time Performance
09 _98 _98 __0 0000000046D2 Power-On Hours
0A 100 100 _60 000000000000 Spin Retry Count
0C 100 100 __0 000000000423 Power Cycle Count
C0 _99 _99 __0 00000000091C Power-off Retract Count
C1 _99 _99 __0 00000000091C Load/Unload Cycle Count
C2 206 206 __0 0035000F001D Temperature
C4 _70 _70 __0 0000000002CD Reallocation Event Count
C5 _98 _98 __0 0000000000CF Current Pending Sector Count
C6 100 100 __0 000000000000 Uncorrectable Sector Count
C7 200 200 __0 000000000003 UltraDMA CRC Error Count
The 2 bolded lines were highlighted with yellow dot in CDI. Looks like the problem is bad sectors? I'll try a full format and see what happens. The only gripe is a full format of 2TB is all night job and since I'm heading to bed anyway so timing's fine.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,472 (4.21/day)
Likes
6,401
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x HGST 3TB (RAID0) | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
It is pending before it becomes relocated

Reallocated meaning the sectors were not recoverable and needed to be moved

Pending are the sectors not yet reallocated and the HDD is still attempting to repair.

Meaning at the worst those 98 wont pass + the 64 = 162 bad sectors.

Best case scenerio those 98 pass and no more come =64 bad
]
Either way this signifies HDD failure since windows noticed and prompted you its probably because that number jumped ALOT in a short amount of time. Not to mention you are far above threshhold.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#10
MHDD or the Windows version, HDDscan.com, because they're the only programs that show slow sectors, not just completely bad sectors.

HDAT2 for refreshing sectors and relocating bad ones without losing the data. It's sort of like SpinRite.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
56 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
#11
Just woke up (dang cat wanted to play) so I checked. It was just done formatting so I started HDDscan and I checked its SMART, it showed one new error that I didn't get with CID:
199 UltraDMA CRC Errors 200 200 0000000000-0003 000

Running scan.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.40/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#12
With an error after a full format I think it would be safe to say the drive is going. Good thing it's caught now though.