• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

how to turn on computer with keyboard/mouse?

Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#1
i have a new tz77b motherboard with i3 2120. i know the bios has that function and i have tried to do it but somehow it didnt work. may be i just didnt now the right steps?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#2
usually for those you need to use a PS/2 keyboard/mouse. Are you using USB?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
usually for those you need to use a PS/2 keyboard/mouse. Are you using USB?
I thought so too. Or have anyone come up with something new??
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,441 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,107
#4
The only way it will work with USB (that I know of) is if there is an option for it in the bios. It will be labeled as USB "always on" or something like that.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#5
im using usb for both keyboard and mouse. there are option for both mouse and keyboard in the bios but i just dont know how to get it to work...

edit: so i need ps/2 ? arent most mouse and keyboard nowadays are usb?
edit2: i looked back at bios and it's indeed only for ps2. my front panel power switch broke so i have to turn on the comp with mobo from now on. lame...
 
Last edited:

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.36/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#6
So get a ps2 mouse , they're better anyway...
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
208 (0.09/day)
Likes
35
Location
Kilmarnock Scotland
System Name White Phantom
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.4ghz = 1.360-1.368 vcore
Motherboard asrock p67 pro (not pro3)
Cooling prolimatech megahalem with 2x nocuta in push pull (thanks to the 54thvoid) ;) , stock phantom fans
Memory 8gb pny optima ddr3 1333mhz cas 9... oc'd to 1600mhz 1.56v's
Video Card(s) asus 560ti 1gb TOP bf3 edition (stock 900mhz oc)
Storage primary seagate 7200rpm 80 gig, secondary maxtor 250gig ,external maxtor 750 gig
Display(s) samsung syncmaster p2450 via DVI @1080p 60hz
Case White and blue NZXT Phantom (carbon fibred sides/door)
Audio Device(s) onboard , philips AMBX pro speakers 80watts rms
Power Supply corsair TX 650 watt
Software windows 7 ultimate 64bit service pack 1 64bit
Benchmark Scores world record for most amount of times machine has pissed me off ....
#7
im using usb for both keyboard and mouse. there are option for both mouse and keyboard in the bios but i just dont know how to get it to work...

edit: so i need ps/2 ? arent most mouse and keyboard nowadays are usb?
edit2: i looked back at bios and it's indeed only for ps2. my front panel power switch broke so i have to turn on the comp with mobo from now on. lame...
ps2 mice are dead cheap if not free if u can find one kicking about why not just plug it in for the use of just being a power on switch? and use your usb mouse as normal?
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.36/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#8
ps2 mice are dead cheap if not free if u can find one kicking about why not just plug it in for the use of just being a power on switch? and use your usb mouse as normal?
Ooooh this guy is using his noodle!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Or he could replace the power switch, or connect the reset switch to the power switch header on the motherboard.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
497 (0.14/day)
Likes
117
Location
Hampshire, UK
System Name If you name your systems, get a girlfriend...
Processor i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom waterloop around Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 10 x64
#10
If BIOS has options to enable "power on by USB" it should work.

Note that there may be other options (or even jumpers on MB itself !) that interfere with this function.
What you're looking for are things like:
- "ERP ready" or "low power standby" or "Green standby something..." (you should disable those)
- "+5V VSB in standby" (you should enable it)

You mobo may have a jumper for setting +5VSB behaviour.

Basically, what you want is USB power to be active when your PC if OFF, so USB peripherals work, and thus, can turn the PC ON.


Cheers,
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#11
My board (4CoreDual-SATA2) has a jumper called "USB_PWR1" that when set to enabled allows you to use the "PS2 Power On" (Keyboard/Mouse) on USB devices too. The setup is configurable within Advanced ACPI BIOS settings (just like the RTC Alarm Power On).
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
20
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard msi z97 pcmate
Cooling generic
Memory 8gb ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 750 ti ftw
Storage samsung ssd 120gb + 1tb samsung
Case 210 elite
Power Supply evga 500w
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#12
Or he could replace the power switch, or connect the reset switch to the power switch header on the motherboard.
Omg never know you can switch around like that. Plugging the reset switch into power header did the trick. Many thanks!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
You're Welcome.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.78/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#14
Glad to see it was an easy fix for you. You can buy replacement parts from some shops like Performance-PCs.com

FYI - there may be other BIOS options, depending on the system. I had one board that I could turn on the PC by pressing any two keys on the keyboard. That worked fine until the kids were old enough to reach up there and started turning it on by mashing the keyboard. From then on I was able to use a key combo (like Ctrl+F1) to power on the system. But I will go on to say that these were systems I had a while back (4-6 years+), and I have not looked at anything like this recently.