1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to wipe a hard drive

Discussion in 'General Software' started by floridajerseyguy, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I need a program or instructions on zero out a hard drive becuase my computer will not run any programs.

    The only thing that wors properly are the startup menus such as the f12 boot menu and f2 system setup (So far those are the only startup menus I have been on).

    If I start Windows regularly it will load with huge lag and also many error message popups. Tried to run AV programs but it only got worse. I need to know how to wipe my hard drive clean. I have a dell dimensions 8400.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,374
    Insert your Window disk and set your bios to boot from the CD Drive. Once it starts up you will come up with an option to format your drive.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sounds good, but I can't load any cds upon boot or even in windows.

    I tried to run Win XP pro cd my friend made for me. It wouldn't work becuase The software is so corrupted. The hard drive itself is fine I just need a way to completely wipe the hard drive of everything.

    I don't want to just reinstall over the corrupt mess of windows. I want to start over not reinstall brand new OS and have corrupted programs, settings, or info
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,444 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,326
    Take the drive out and do it with another PC through windows disc management.
     
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I did use the cd my friend gave to me. It is a copy of win XP pro on cd that worked fine for everyone else(I know it is not the cd).The cd started a program and it looked like what I expected - a good copy of windows (doing what it is supposed to), but the result is a screen with options like press enter for complete erase, press r for recovery assistance, or esc for exit and reboot.

    Then I press enter to completely erase, that leads to another screen where it says that there was some kind of software failure and offers only one choice which is rebooting. I loaded the cd from boot menu again and pressed the r button instead of the enter key and the same exact screen came up to it limited my choice only to reboot.

    Sadly that did not work out for me and I need this done soon...

    Thanks for all the help guys
     
  6. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I like sneekypeet's idea. I will try that peet. Can you give me any ideas on how to do that. After I remove the hard drive then I plug to new computer. Then how do I manage this hard drive? Thanks for the post.
     
  7. 2wicked

    2wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Directly above the center of the Earth
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
  8. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    rightclick 'My Compuer' and select 'Manage', then select the drive and format it.
     
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
  9. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,964 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    First you have to get to Control Panel then select Administrative Tools. Select Computer Management. In the left hand side of the window, select Disk Management, it will be under the Storage tab.
    After that, look for your drive on the right side. If you found it great! Right click the drive, either the top or bottom portion of the screen, select Format. Keep the settings it has unless you want to change the label of the drive.
    Then just select OK and it should be done in no more than a half hour.

    :toast:
     
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,626 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    The drives manufacturer should have a diagnostics/utilities disk to help you out. It usually contains a zero-fill program inside.
     
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
  11. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks guys

    My Special thanks goes out to all those involved with posting a reply on this thread.


    I have been helped tremendously by a few who suggested I take out the hard drive and clean it up on another system.


    That is something I had not tried yet. I have another system readily available and it makes a lot of sense.


    I do have a few questions though: After I take out the hard drive and connect it to a new system,


    Will I be able to run something more advanced than the built in OS drive manager to more completely wipe the drive (i.e. kill disk)?


    What I am asking is: Can I run "kill disk" on the old hard drive from the other computer instead of the Windows program that does the same thing?


    I am going to try to disconnect the hard drive today, but I don't know if running the kill disk program from the other computer would be the most efficient and complete way to clean the drive.


    Is that something that I would even want to do, Peet? Would that work? What do you think, cheese?


    Does kill disk cost money? Do I get the free download off that site you gave me, 2wicked?
     
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,817 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If you cannot even boot from a CD then I would think your motherboard BIOS has a problem.
    I would reset the BIOS on the MB so it only has the default settings and try again.
    When you boot your system from a CD, the HD should not even be in the picture.
    If when you attempt to access the HD it gives you errors, I would suspect something wrong with the drive.
    You should not be having this much problem trying to do a simple reformat.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey guys

    Ok so I got kill drive going in safe mode. The problem was that was trying to run the cd before windows booted up.

    I just booted safe mode and after a couple of boot trys I got safe mode running.

    Then I went to my computer and accessed the iso cd with kill drive on it and ran it.

    Now I have the cd my friend gave me with win xp pro. So I should be fine.

    Thanks to kreij and modder for the additions.
     
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,817 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If things do not go well for you post more information.
    The people on TPU are all about helping people with problems (or at least trying). :toast:
     
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Shadin

    Shadin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    The best utility to use to wipe a hard drive is definitely DBAN. You can do an all-out wipe, or simply write all zeroes to the drive.

    http://www.dban.org/
     
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
  16. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I really appreciate the help. I ran Kill Disk and it worked fine. Is there a reason to run dban too?

    Now I get a prompt for A: drive

    I have the windos xp cd and now I am just not sure how to initiate the cd to install windows.
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,444 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,326
    go into bios and tell the boot devics to boot CD/DVD first then HDD second, you can disable the rest for the time being. ( you can leave "other boot devices" on enabled)

    Seems to me its booting to floppy first as any bios will do in stock settings.
     
    floridajerseyguy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Shadin

    Shadin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    If you got the desired result and everything is working fine, then I wouldn't worry with running anything else. :) DBAN would be a good choice to run if you ever sell the drive and want to make sure it's completely unrecoverable.
     
  19. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Almost out of the woods

    The Kill Disk worked just like it advertised.

    Ok so I went into bios and enabled the cd/dvd and then I exited setup and did the

    ctrl+alt+delete to reboot. Then I turned it off and I came back after a couple minutes.

    Computer boots directly into cd setup when I turn it on. Windows setup tries to run and actually runs for about

    three or four minutes, but it goes to a blue screen just like before. The blue screen with option

    to install windows and recover windows is just leading me to a screen that reboots and

    quits setup no matter what option I chose. None of the options offered by the screen go anywhere.

    It did the same thing it has always done when I try to boot to that cd, but the Kill Disk worked.

    It is probably the format of the cd. I am going take care of that ASAP
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,555 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,532
    fgguy here is right, killdisk does a pretty good job of zeroizing a HD, even in its free version, Id recommend it for clean starts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ARghhh! I am still getting the damn blue screen saying that the hard drive is not able to be read.

    What do I do?
     
  22. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  23. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Kill disk
     
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,444 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,326
    Get into bios by resetting the PC and tap delete repeatedly till you get to bios. Then look at the top left menues. One of the first two or 3 selections will show you the boot priority window you seek. I will say this much, it wont matter if the XP disc is already being seen and attempting to boot.

    The issues really seems more serious to me. 3 things I would check at this point.

    I assume the PC is clean, it is summer now and fur coats are out anyways.

    Is the ram stable? Get a copy of Memtest86+ iso and make a bootable for it. Runs automatically on boot.

    The last thing is the PSU. If you have access to a Digital multimeter, you can probe the 24 pin wires or molex connection to see what the actual 12V, 3.3V, and 5V rails are pushing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. floridajerseyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    NOW bios seems to not boot up. I don't know what to do.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)