• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP 002 Blackbird

Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,690 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,363
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#76
Yes 32 bit OS is limited with ram amounts. Some apps are LAA and can be set in the bios to use more ram. I am not sure if your app is able to do that. I do not see that feature listed on Corel's pdf.

As for
VideoStudio Version 6 it only uses CPU and NVIDIA® CUDA according to Corel. It does NOT use AMD/GPU's.
GPU and CPU acceleration.JPG

http://www.corel.com/static/product_content/vsp/x6/VSPX6_Matrix_EN.pdf
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,309 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#77
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,690 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,363
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#78
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,309 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#79
I'm not the one arguing for a AMD card, remember, I have a GTX 780 in my suggestions. But it does say optimization for ATI graphics cards and ATI graphics cards are now branded as AMD graphics cards.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
#80
Please list the specs of this system your are talking about.

You said the Blackbird had AMD cards in it at first, so does it have the original graphic card or cards or did you change them out to something else and if so to what?
First off my Blackbird as 1 EVGA e-GeForce 8800GTX video card in it now , I also have 2 other cards here they are ATI Radeon Graphics they are link together with a cross fire bridge I guess I can call it. But actually there is no program on my computer related to the cross fire setup,because I know this may sound dumb but I put a new OP system on the blackbird a few years ago and never reinstalled the cross fire program for the cards, also if i wanted to, can I switch out the 32bit system to a 64 if i wanted to using the same motherboard? I'm sure that would improve things as well. The specs of the system with the same editing program is show in the attach pic
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,309 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#81
the program for crossfire is in the drivers for the ATI/AMD cards

yes, you can use a 64 bit operating system with your current hardware without a issue.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,690 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,363
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#82
Yes the Blackbird should be able to utilize the cuda option and yes it should help a little to maybe a lot. But when you install the 8800 on the Blackbird did you also install the NVidia software?
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us <<<THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT.

BarbaricSoul I know you are not arguing, we both are just trying to help ;-)

If it would be easier we can speak over Skype?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
#83
Yes the Blackbird should be able to utilize the cuda option and yes it should help a little to maybe a lot. But when you install the 8800 on the Blackbird did you also install the NVidia software?
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us <<<THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT.

BarbaricSoul I know you are not arguing, we both are just trying to help ;-)
Yes I installed it as far as I can tell, I'm trying my best to gather all this info in my brain, what I installed was a program call NVIDIA GEFORCE Experience.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
#84
Yes the Blackbird should be able to utilize the cuda option and yes it should help a little to maybe a lot. But when you install the 8800 on the Blackbird did you also install the NVidia software?
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us <<<THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT.

BarbaricSoul I know you are not arguing, we both are just trying to help ;-)

If it would be easier we can speak over Skype?
Yes thats what I have installed,thanks though
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,690 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,363
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#85
Yes I installed it as far as I can tell, I'm trying my best to gather all this info in my brain, what I installed was a program call NVIDIA GEFORCE Experience.
Okay then have you retested the performance of Corel with the new card (8800)? You did have the option for hardware acceleration too or was it greyed out with in Corel?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
#86
Okay then have you retested the performance of Corel with the new card (8800)? You did have the option for hardware acceleration too or was it greyed out with in Corel?[/quot
I can use the option, enable Hardware Encoder acceleration,under File creation but under editing process, I can't enable hardware decoder acceleration
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,690 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,363
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#87
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,690 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,363
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#88
Found it! http://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php?t=48548
"
Re: VideoStudio Pro X5 - CUDA acceleration option greyed out
by ffleader1 on Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:14 am
Thank you for your post. Before i read it, I had some problems too. While rendering, my CPU hits 90-95 % load and GPU hits 0%
. However, I go to Nvidia control pannel --> Manage 3D setting --> Program settings TAB --> select a program to customize --> Then I select Corel VideoStudio X5 (IT says the program name is space vision) --> Specify the setting for this program:
-CUDA-GPUs: Use these GPU, then I selected mine.
-Maximum pre-rendered frames: 8
APPLY
AND remember to enable all hardware acceleration (Desktop Properties --> setting --> Advanced --> troubleshoot --> slide the hardware acceleration bar to FULL) or the GPU will load 0% all the time.
And my GPU (Gt 210 lol, will get it replaced soon) loads 20-30% while rendering, making it 12% faster. I hope you have better result. Hope that help."
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,913
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#89
here's a example of what a video card can do compared to a CPU

Here are the WCG scores from last April



Here are the scores from yesterday



Only difference was last April we were getting GPU work units that are processed with a video card, and now we are only getting CPU work units. My scores from last April were with a HD7970, which is basically the same as a R9 280x.

Oh and BTW, my score from yesterday is from both a i7 860 OC'ed to 3.15ghz and a i7 2600k OC'ed to 4.6ghz. A single HD7970 was able to beat both i7 CPUs by that much.

i was talking about difference between 780 and 7970. i am aware that cpus work score lower results in crunching then gpus. my point is that 7970 is better to computation workloads then 780 although 780 is way better in gaming it is optimized for gaming it is about the same level with 7970 in cad/rendering tasks.

@newfielander
pls use this http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/account/specs and fill your current system specs. if you have more then one pc you can use barbaricsoul's specs as example (system specs link under his thanks count)
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,690 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,363
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#90

i was talking about difference between 780 and 7970. i am aware that cpus work score lower results in crunching then gpus. my point is that 7970 is better to computation workloads then 780 although 780 is way better in gaming it is optimized for gaming it is about the same level with 7970 in cad/rendering tasks.

@newfielander
pls use this http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/account/specs and fill your current system specs. if you have more then one pc you can use barbaricsoul's specs as example (system specs link under his thanks count)

But he is using Corel and it use Cuda only for acceleration.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,913
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#91
But he is using Corel and it use Cuda only for acceleration.
Untitled.jpg

no it support cuda. this doesnt mean it will accelerate only on cuda.
it will accelerate on any gpu and may be will have some minor benefits if working on cuda.
but i will repeat again cuda in 780 and cuda in quadro and tesla are not the same. corel benefit from cuda cores in quadro and may be tesla but wont benefit much from 780's cuda cores. so in that case it is pointless to pay more for 780 when 7970/280x will do about the same at lower price.

edit: here is why and here is confirmation. see how gk104 based quadro k5000 sucks hard on games while firepro cards show performance similar to radeon cards based on same chip.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
#92
here are the specs

i was talking about difference between 780 and 7970. i am aware that cpus work score lower results in crunching then gpus. my point is that 7970 is better to computation workloads then 780 although 780 is way better in gaming it is optimized for gaming it is about the same level with 7970 in cad/rendering tasks.

@newfielander
pls use this http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/account/specs and fill your current system specs. if you have more then one pc you can use barbaricsoul's specs as example (system specs link under his thanks count)
Here are the spec of my blackbird, the one I want to use to edit
Operating System System Model
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)
Installed: 3/23/2010 9:57:01 PM
Boot Mode: BIOS (Secure Boot not supported) NVIDIA NFORCE 780i SLI 2
System Serial Number: 1
Enclosure Type: Desktop
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
3.33 gigahertz Intel Core2 Extreme
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
4096 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (4 total)
Not hyper-threaded Board: NVIDIA NFORCE 780i SLI 2
Serial Number: 1
Bus Clock: 333 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD P5P 05/30/2008
Drives Memory Modules c,d
2980.63 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
1364.59 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,913
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#93
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
#94
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,913
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#95
it give clear look on your system and saves a lot of questioning about what you have
also it saves time when someone forgot something about your specs and need to refresh memory he wont need to review all post from the begging
I personally still don't know what you have in your pc atm beside 3 hdd and fancy case
 
Last edited:

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,492 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,157
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#96
Of Course it does but what is that going to gain? Thats not what I need help with.
It's kind of forum protocol, simply because when people help each other, it's based upon their current specs. It's alot easier for people to know what problem they are dealing with, and gives a good reference when a member is upgrading too. that way TPU members don't have to scroll all through a thread (and yours has gotten pretty big!) looking for your specs...they are right under your name on left side.

EDIT: LOL, ne6togadno, you must have answered while I was typing!
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
#97
Guys thanks so much for all your help and yes I see your point,but the computer I'm trying to upgrade isn't the one I'm using right now.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,309 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#98
edit: here is why and here is confirmation. see how gk104 based quadro k5000 sucks hard on games while firepro cards show performance similar to radeon cards based on same chip.
Uh, the GTX 780/GTX 780ti/Titan are gk110 based cards. The GTX 680/GTX 770 are gk104 cards. There is a hugh difference there.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,913
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#99
Uh, the GTX 780/GTX 780ti/Titan are gk110 based cards. The GTX 680/GTX 770 are gk104 cards. There is a hugh difference there.
sry wrong example. highest blue bar in charts is k6000. didnt noticed it before http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/quadro-desktop-gpu-specs-uk.html
+26 frames for gk110 quadro k6000 over gk104 k5000 and both are still way behind old tech like gtx570 for example.

Guys thanks so much for all your help and yes I see your point,but the computer I'm trying to upgrade isn't the one I'm using right now.
that doesnt matter. add specs of the pc you are asking for. this way whoever see you question and think that may help wont need to go through whole thread to see specs.
importent is to add current state of the pc.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
101 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
System Name Mine
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5 GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING Intel Z87 Motherboard
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit
Storage 3 WDC WD16 00ADFS-60SLR SCSI Disk Device (160.04 GB) 1, 250 SSD
Display(s) HP 2311 [Monitor]
Case 002 Blackbird
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Topower Powerbird TOP-1100W
Software Windows 7 Professional
I just re read my post concerning the rebuilding of my Blackbird, and I am a little confused to what video card you suggested I should up grade to, Can you tell me please?