• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP Brings TouchSmart PC Within Reach for the Masses

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.12/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
HP said today that it is bringing the latest HP TouchSmart PCs to customers all around the world. Debuted at last month’s HP Connecting Your World event in Berlin, the new TouchSmart family of PCs have earned the privilege to be the only touch-enabled, all-in-one PCs in the market. The HP TouchSmart PCs combine a 22-inch diagonal, high-definition widescreen display and a variety of options when choosing the right hardware for your needs. You can select either the base IQ504 model for $1,299 with a 2GHz Core 2 Duo CPU, 4GB of memory, and 320GB hard drive or the deluxe IQ506 model for $1,499 and equip yourself with a 2.16GHz processor, a TV tuner, dedicated GeForce 9300M GS graphics, and a 500GB hard disk. To give the TouchSmart just the right finish, HP has also integrated a DVD burner, WLAN module, some stereo speakers, a webcam and a microphone. A low-profile wireless HP keyboard that lights in the dark, as well as a wireless mouse are also supplied just in case there's something you can't do using the touchscreen display.



Source: BusinessWire
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#2
And when it starts up it uses 2.5gb of the 4gb it has.

cdawall set it up at are bby and after he set it up, i checked ram usage on the machine.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
99 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
New Jersey
System Name Old Faithful..... O_o
Processor Intel E8600 currently @ 3.825GHz[9x425FSB] @ 1.28v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula w/ BIOS 407
Cooling Air: TR Ultra120Extreme + 2x120mm, 2x140mm, 1x135mm
Memory 8GBs[4 x 2048] G.Skill Pi PC2-8800/DDR2-1100 running 850 @ 4-4-4-10 ; tRD @ 6
Video Card(s) XFX: XXX Edition GTX-280 @ 700core/2500mem/1523sp
Storage 300GB WD3000GLFS VelociRaptor , 1TB Hitachi HDS721010KLA330
Display(s) 42" Westinghouse TX-42F430S 1080P LCD and Mitsubishi Diamondtron NF 22" CRT(MaxRes 2048x1536@85Hz)
Case Micro Cool Banchetto 101(test bench) w/ a couple 140mm fans strapped to each end
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX2(included w/ Rampage mobo)
Power Supply Tagan TG800-U88 BZ - 800W PSU
Software Windows XP 64-Bit SP2
#3
^^ Hmm that sounds strange. According to this LINK both models come with a 64-bit OS. Maybe the mobo/bios that it's equipped with doesn't(yet) support 4GBs of RAM. :confused::ohwell:
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.71/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#4
its all good, but why would you want to touch your screen?
its it easier to use mouse or keyboard to do all the stuff instead of reaching to the monitor and moving your finger across the thing. your hand will get tired in less than a minute.

I mean may be in store or for some other uses it will be a better way of doing things that using a mouse or key board. But i just don't see much use for it at home
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#5
Very nice. Wonderful for the kids too! Finger painting without a mess :)

I think touch screens will get us back toward having information ON THE DESK, like epaper, rather than cricking our necks up to read a vertical screen.

Remember the days of ergonomic VRT? They were angles at about 60° not 90° to the horizontal.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#6
^^ Hmm that sounds strange. According to this LINK both models come with a 64-bit OS. Maybe the mobo/bios that it's equipped with doesn't(yet) support 4GBs of RAM. :confused::ohwell:
oh, no it fully supports the 4gb it has, its just that hp loads there machines with soo much crap, after the login it uses 2.5 gbs.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
536 (0.14/day)
Likes
41
Location
Melbourne, Australia
System Name beast
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2011
Memory 16GB Kingston Value DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 1GB
Storage 1x 120GB Intel 520
Display(s) 3x X243BW@5760x1080
Case Antec P182
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#7
freaksavior, sounds to me like uve owned a hp b4 :twitch: :p
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.35/day)
Likes
81
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
#8
I have beautiful 20", 22", 24", & 30" LCDs. I have bloody nightmares of nasty smudges let alone fingerprints :eek: Oh, hell no..not this, they can keep it. I can deal with pen stylists but this, oh god I feel sick :shadedshu
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#9
freaksavior, sounds to me like uve owned a hp b4 :twitch: :p
nope, i work at best buy and when you set them up, they are the worst with preload crap. All there "utilities" and trial shit games.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.65/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#10
I must say... i am very pleased with my girlfriends HP laptop that we recently got.
2.4ghz core2duo 45nm with 3mb L2cache, 4mb ram, 320gb HDD & 8700M GT graphics....
Works great with vista premium!

Yes it does have a lot of preloaded stuff on it, but not enough to slow down the processor yet!!!
I will enjoy doing a clean installation on it though in the near future to see how fast it really is as bootup is a little sluggish.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,675 (0.35/day)
Likes
149
Location
Minneapolis, Mn
System Name Livingston
Processor i7-4960HQ
Motherboard macbook prp retina
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta (240mm x 120mm x 80mm)
Memory 16Gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Arctic Storm Nvidia 980ti
Display(s) 1x Acer XB270HU, 1x Catleap, 1x Oculus
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/770087
#11
Im happy with mine as well.
12.1" Touch Screen
3 Gb Ram
160Gb Hard Drive
Nvidia 6150
Turion-54 X2
Vista 64 Home Premium

It sure does not have a 8700 in it, but its good enough for 2d work.