• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP V8 DDR4-3600 MHz CL18 1x8 GB

Black Haru

Staff member
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,567 (0.35/day)
Location
Indiana
A brand-new line of performance memory from none other than HP. Featuring a black aluminium heat spreader, a RGB LED light bar, and a trusted brand name, the HP V8 could be a great start for the company's move into the DIY market.

Show full review
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
11,484 (1.78/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
The graphs read 2x 8GB...
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
3,050 (0.60/day)
System Name Primary | Secondary | Poweredge r410|Dell XPS
Processor i7 9700k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 |i5 5500U
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3|8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RX 6700xt|GTX 1070 |On-Board|On-Board|
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 50" 4k TV | 27" + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
VR HMD Samsung Odyssey+ | Oculus Quest 2
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
Is it a kit if there is only one part ?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
188 (0.27/day)
System Name BUBSTER
Processor I7 12700K (5.5 GHZ XTU OC)
Motherboard Z690 Gigabyte Aorus Elite Pro
Cooling Arctic Freezer II 360 RGB
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 4800MHz 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3070 Super Dual OC
Storage WD SN850 Black PCIE4 1Tb + 2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus M2 1Tb RAID 0 + 12 TB HDD
Display(s) Sony Bravia KD-55X8505C
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply Corsair AX 850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB + Razr Taipan
Keyboard Asus ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red + Corsair Gaming K65 lux RGB
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
HP printer and PC business is going downhill since they bought Compaq...so they are trying to save the day and diversify their portfolio in the the PC enthusiast and DIY market...let's see how they will compete with the likes of Asus ...
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.70/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
More false advertising from Ram manufacturers.
The default speed is 2666MHz, you need to enable XMP (overclock) to reach the advertised speed of 3600MHz.
 

TheEmptyCrazyHead

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
The graphs read 2x 8GB...
I noticed the same. I guess a single stick was tested, and it's weird to compare it to dual channel kits..... Also price is quite high. For less than the price of two hp sticks, I got a g.skill trident at 4ghz cl18 2x8gb kit.

More false advertising from Ram manufacturers.
The default speed is 2666MHz, you need to enable XMP (overclock) to reach the advertised speed of 3600MHz.
Why false? All rams run by default on low speed and the profile needs to be manually activated. And yes, it's considered overclock by cpu manufacturers (Intel at least) if the memory speed exceeds official cpu supported speed.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,202 (1.02/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Fan: 8x ThermalRight TY-143, 2x Corsair SP120L |Phanteks PH-TC14PE|2x Aquacomputer Splitty 9Active
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce 3060 XC Black Gaming 12GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), 2x Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data 1 and 2)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz Primary, Dell P2017H 19.5" 1600x900 Secondary
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
I guess the value of a ram kit is in its appearance.
 

munted

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
More false advertising from Ram manufacturers.
The default speed is 2666MHz, you need to enable XMP (overclock) to reach the advertised speed of 3600MHz.
Show me a link to a RAM kit with an SPD value over 2666MHz. It does not exist, 2666 is the max for SPD and XMP must be used for higher speed kits. Not "false advertising" that's how DDR4 works.
 

AKBrian

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
28 (0.03/day)
Location
The Last Frontier
Show me a link to a RAM kit with an SPD value over 2666MHz. It does not exist, 2666 is the max for SPD and XMP must be used for higher speed kits. Not "false advertising" that's how DDR4 works.

JEDEC speeds over 2666MT are not difficult to find. I'm not sure where your objections are coming from. Vendors like Samsung, Crucial, Silicon Power and Kingston have a wide variety of parts, from 2133MT to 3200MT, all at JEDEC defaults (not XMP).

https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr4/ct16g4dfra32a

https://m.cdw.com/product/Kingston-ValueRAM-DDR4-16-GB-DIMM-288-pin-unbuffered/5888084

https://www.silicon-power.com/web/product-DDR4_UDIMM
 

munted

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Fair enough, learnt something there, tops out at 3200 not 2666. But even if you get Samsung B-Die which is considered the best memory modules, is probably 2666 or less. See
around the 2.30min mark where Buildzoid says you can't get a Samsung branded memory kit with B-Die any more but you can still get B-Die from other manufacturers. A higher JEDEC speed doesn't necessarily mean better memory chips though, memory vendors bin their chips. This is a 3600 kit, there's no memory with a JDEC speed of 3600.

GSkill's 4800MHz XMP RAM has a SPD/JDEC speed of 2133MHz https://www.gskill.com/specification/165/299/1552457909/F4-4800C18D-16GTRS-Specification
Corsair's 4800MHz XMP RAM has a SPD/JDEC speed of 2666MHz https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categ...RGB-Black/p/CMW16GX4M2Z4600C18#tab-tech-specs
Kingston's RAM has a 4000Mhz XMP RAM has a SPD/JDEC speed of 2400MHz https://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/HX440C19PB3K2_16.pdf

Is every memory manufacturer with a kit of 3600Mhz or higher DDR4 kit "false advertising"? As you can see from the 4000Mhz kits from 3 different manufacturers, the JDEC speed means nothing on fast DDR4.
 

TheEmptyCrazyHead

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
JEDEC speeds over 2666MT are not difficult to find. I'm not sure where your objections are coming from. Vendors like Samsung, Crucial, Silicon Power and Kingston have a wide variety of parts, from 2133MT to 3200MT, all at JEDEC defaults (not XMP).
How about compatibility then? What if that 3200mhz ram is not stable or not posting on your configuration and you can't even go to bios to lower the speed? With memory profiles, people know the system will boot and will be stable. After that, if the profile doesn't work, it's Tweak Town.
 

munted

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
How about compatibility then? What if that 3200mhz ram is not stable or not posting on your configuration and you can't even go to bios to lower the speed? With memory profiles, people know the system will boot and will be stable. After that, if the profile doesn't work, it's Tweak Town.
But JDEC and XMP profiles are just memory speed and timing settings. So if you've got a Ryzen 5 1600 which has a weaker integrated memory controller than a Ryzen 3600 just because your memory has a JDEC or XMP profile at 3200MHz there's no guarantee it'll boot let alone be stable. And there's no stability advantage to inputting timings in manually vs using a profile. One advantage is that if you've got say an Intel motherboard which doesn't allow you to adjust the timing manually then yes having say a JDEC profile of 2400MHz is an advantage if that's your motherboards fastest supported memory speed. But this is a 3600MHz kit we're talking about, pretty sure there's no Intel or AMD motherboard which doesn't allow you manually adjust the memory timings but still supports 3200Mhz or 3600Mhz speeds. The latest Intel H470 maxes out at 2933 so why would you be buying a 3600MHz kit for it anyway? Also as far as I know H470 motherboards support XMP and changing the memory speeds anyway. https://www.ocinside.de/review/mainboard_asrock_h470_steel_legend/4/
 

TheEmptyCrazyHead

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
But JDEC and XMP profiles are just memory speed and timing settings. So if you've got a Ryzen 5 1600 which has a weaker integrated memory controller than a Ryzen 3600 just because your memory has a JDEC or XMP profile at 3200MHz there's no guarantee it'll boot let alone be stable. And there's no stability advantage to inputting timings in manually vs using a profile. One advantage is that if you've got say an Intel motherboard which doesn't allow you to adjust the timing manually then yes having say a JDEC profile of 2400MHz is an advantage if that's your motherboards fastest supported memory speed. But this is a 3600MHz kit we're talking about, pretty sure there's no Intel or AMD motherboard which doesn't allow you manually adjust the memory timings but still supports 3200Mhz or 3600Mhz speeds. The latest Intel H470 maxes out at 2933 so why would you be buying a 3600MHz kit for it anyway? Also as far as I know H470 motherboards support XMP and changing the memory speeds anyway. https://www.ocinside.de/review/mainboard_asrock_h470_steel_legend/4/
That's my point. I have a Ryzen 2600 and understandably my 4ghz kit can't post at its xmp speeds. So I manually set it to whatever I want. Booted on 3733mhz, no idea if it's stable, no time to play with it right now. Officially my cpu supports up to 2933mhz ram. My previous cpu was ryzen 1200 with an official ram speed up to 2667mhz.
 
Top