• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HP Workstations Owners Club

spenumut

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2023
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I don't have a 1650v3, I have a 2690v4 which is not overclockable nor able to do the turbo boost unlock. I think the TDP limit may be 165 but I haven't yet researched if someone put a higher wattage TDP chip in. The stock cooler is actually fairly good.
 

386

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2022
Messages
11 (0.02/day)
I have overclocked a 1660 V3 with the stock cooler. I have a feeling its rated a bit too high inters of TDP, for me the stock unit cannot cool the CPU at an acceptable level in my opinion after hitting 120 watts. Temp starts going right in the the 80s and 90s which I do not like
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
211 (0.21/day)
I came across the thread and dug into the bone yard , maybe some info for the thread. HP Z800 , I have matched X5670 and 2 sets matched X5690 that have been in it , haven't any benches to post of those running but it may be fun to go through it again. Pretty much stock with the original processors in it , 1150w psu , water cooling kit , 4x 120gb Kingston ssd raid 0 . 20230218_211237.jpg20230218_211322.jpg20230218_211412.jpg20230218_213653.jpg20230218_213758.jpg20230216_212710.jpg20230218_213847.jpg20230218_213945.jpg20230218_213909.jpg20230218_214345.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
I bought a bare Z440 workstation (nohdd, noram, novga, but with a 1620v3 cpu). I installed an 2630v3 (from old dead server), an old video card and one 32gb DDR4 REG LR dimm just for testing but i want to upgrade it. So i have a few questions. I want to use this workstation to test out video cards. I upgraded to the latest 2022 bios.

Somehow i got an error on boot.
20230423_174206.jpg

It has 700w stock power supply so i think somehow not detecting it right (DPS-700AB-1).
Why i need fan for the memory? It is ddr4 not a hot headed ddr3 its just 40C at full load, even with 4 sticks it just little above 45-50C.

Is there a way to disable the warnings? (if i want to remote restart i dont want any warning that can stop booting)
What is the best CPU that this workstation supports?
(I want to use it with the fastest v3 cpu like 2696v3 ebay, or at least some high clocked 8-12 core Xeon)
Can it support tesla cards? (i couldn't find above 4g decoding in bios, it is enabled by deafult?)
(i want to try entrerprise cards like tesla P4, radeon pro V series etc for AI calculations)
Is there a all core hack turbo unlock bios for this workstation?
 

Attachments

  • 20230423_191116.jpg
    20230423_191116.jpg
    948.8 KB · Views: 175
  • 20230423_191221.jpg
    20230423_191221.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 105
  • 20230423_195643.jpg
    20230423_195643.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 85
Joined
Jan 7, 2022
Messages
118 (0.13/day)
Why i need fan for the memory? It is ddr4 not a hot headed ddr3 its just 40C at full load, even with 4 sticks it just little above 45-50C.
there is a way around,you put some jumpers on fan connectors on MOBO, look it up on yt.
if you cannot find it tell me and i will look again for it.

*but you need to "rip off" the fan plastic piece of the connector :)

found it

but please be careful, i hope this is not fake..

still i asked a local hp dealer, they said they can do the mod - i would not dare do it myself..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
there is a way around,you put some jumpers on fan connectors on MOBO, look it up on yt.
if you cannot find it tell me and i will look again for it.

*but you need to "rip off" the fan plastic piece of the connector :)

found it

but please be careful, i hope this is not fake..

still i asked a local hp dealer, they said they can do the mod - i would not dare do it myself..
Thanks! It is not fake.

Memory fan error gone but i still got psu error.
20230424_164941.jpg20230424_165042.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,102 (6.47/day)
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
No. The warnings are there for a reason. Find, buy and install the memory shroud with it's accompanying fans and those warnings will cease.


It's not a smart idea.


What wattage PSU do you have?
It is ddr4 2133mhz with temperature sensor on it so no need any fan. At load max 40-50c. This is not an overclocked ddr3 that runs 70-80c.
The reason is to buy costly hardware from HP.
I don't like it when a brand forces me to buy something I don't need.
I dont think there is any ddr4 ecc reg that need any cooling. Btw there is thermal throttling in servers/workstations since ddr2 if needed.

Psu is the stock 700w 90% Delta.

And is still can't find above 4g decoding in the bios but i need it for my tesla cards. (and for the resizable bar efi driver)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,102 (6.47/day)
It is ddr4 2133mhz with temperature sensor on it so no need any fan. At load max 40-50c. This is not an overclocked ddr3 that runs 70-80c.
The reason is to buy costly hardware from HP.
No, it's there for a reason.
I don't like it when a brand forces me to buy something I don't need.
While I agree with you, you're missing the fact that when that system was new, the shroud and fan were included with the system. They have been remove by someone who did not understand(or care) about the effects.
I dont think there is any ddr4 ecc reg that need any cooling.
Incorrect, there plenty that do.
Psu is the stock 700w 90% Delta.
It is possible that the PSU is not passing a BIOS check.
And is still can't find above 4g decoding in the bios but i need it for my tesla cards. (and for the resizable bar efi driver)
That one is trickier..
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
No, it's there for a reason.

While I agree with you, you're missing the fact that when that system was new, the shroud and fan were included with the system. They have been remove by someone who did not understand(or care) about the effects.

Incorrect, there plenty that do.

It is possible that the PSU is not passing a BIOS check.

That one is trickier..
I have build a lot of workstation, server, and chinese x99 rigs with ddr4. I have never seen any of the ddr4 ecc reg ram that was above 50-60c under load. (of course it is possible but with very high module count close together in an undercooled rack/blade server or some very high capacity modules or optane DC persistent memory, or maybe some satadimm)
I even overclocked DDR4-2666 ECC REG to 3400@1.4 and it was still just 50c at load. But for stock 2133mhz ddr4 i'm 100% sure that none of them need any cooling, i don't think that you can find any example for it.

The base model dont have this shroud by default (not two and not one). It was optional for more than 4 dimms.
source:
HP Z440 Workstation Specifications
hpz.JPG
so it is possible a bios bug, from error i need two shroud but i have only one dimm

PSU is original, but it is possible the bios not recognizing it.

I have this base number (i searched for my serial number)
https://support.hp.com/us-en/produc...l/6978834?sku=F5W13AV&serialnumber=CZC5092TWN

Chinese x99 2686v3 i used 8x16gb ECC REG 1866 and that can throttle down at full load, still dont require active cooling for stability but it loses some performance when the dimms exceed 70-80c.
2686.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,102 (6.47/day)
I have build a lot of workstation, server, and chinese x99 rigs with ddr4. I have never seen any of the ddr4 ecc reg ram that was above 50-60c under load. (of course it is possible but with very high module count close together in an undercooled rack/blade server or some very high capacity modules or optane DC persistent memory, or maybe some satadimm)
I even overclocked DDR4-2666 ECC REG to 3400@1.4 and it was still just 50c at load. But for stock 2133mhz ddr4 i'm 100% sure that none of them need any cooling, i don't think that you can find any example for it.

The base model dont have this shroud by default (not two and not one). It was optional for more than 4 dimms.
source:
HP Z440 Workstation Specifications
View attachment 293027
so it is possible a bios bug, from error i need two shroud but i have only one dimm

PSU is original, but it is possible the bios not recognizing it.

I have this base number (i searched for my serial number)
https://support.hp.com/us-en/produc...l/6978834?sku=F5W13AV&serialnumber=CZC5092TWN

Chinese x99 2686v3 i used 8x16gb ECC REG 1866 and that can throttle down at full load, still dont require active cooling for stability but it loses some performance when the dimms exceed 70-80c.
View attachment 293038
You're missing the point. It DOES happen and HP(Dell, Acer, etc) designed whole series of workstations with the shroud/fan included and setup the BIOS to check for them. While the above "jumper" trick will likely work fine, make sure you don't get it wrong or you risk shorting that board out. But there is an aspect of the shroud you're ignoring, those also assist cooling the CPU as well.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
System Name HP Z440/Z460 "Franken"station purchased on Ebay for $152 w/bad motherboard, plus motherboard for $62
Processor Xeon E5-2667v4 3.2ghz/3.6ghz Turbo, 8 core (16 with hyperthreading)
Motherboard HP Z460 with Intel C612 chipset, can use Xeon V3 and V4 processors
Cooling Using stock Z440 cpucooler, Z460 dual fans the Z460 motherboard requires, using 2nd fan inside case.
Memory 64Gb DDR4 2400MHz REG ECC SERVER MEMORY $70+40 (4 16gb sticks) used on Ebay
Video Card(s) EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB Gaming
Storage 1Tb Nvme SSD, 4x6Tb SAS drives=18TB RAID5, 4x8Tb SAS=24TbRAID5,3x18Tb enterprise Sata=32Tb RAID5 NAS
Display(s) TCL 65P635 65 inch 4K HDR TV via HDMI (4K@60hz) (upgraded from 55" last year,net cost $200)
Case Stock Z440 case with z640 motherboard (2nd z460 cooling fan blowing on HP P812 SAS Raid controller)
Audio Device(s) Denon AVRS730H 7.2ch AV receiver with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X
Power Supply stock Z440 700W 90+ efficient PSU
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Logitech K350 Wave
VR HMD SAS drives are in 2 external 5 bay enclosures connected via the HP P812 SAS RAID controller
Software Windows 10 Pro (enterprise) OEM license that came with motherboard.
Benchmark Scores Using a HP Smart Array P812 PCI-e SAS Server RAID Controller with capacitor buffer backup, $15 Ebay
Thanks! It is not fake.

Memory fan error gone but i still got psu error.
View attachment 292901View attachment 292902
I have built, kept and/or sold probably 12 of these z440 and z640 workstations over the past 5 years, and have never seen the memory fan messages pop up until you have more than 4 sticks of memory installed. The 700 watt power supply is more than enough to support 1 32gb stick of ram, so I suspect that, given the two errors that are showing up, that there is something messed up in the motherboard's bios. I would recommend you do two things:
1. reset the bios to factory settings by following the bios reset instructions in the manual (there's a button on the motherboard you press and hold).
2. Do an "bios recovery" following the HP documented procedure that will reload the bios directly from a USB stick with the proper jumper set. The procedure used to be documented here: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05163478, but I can't find it anywhere on the HP support site anymore, so attached is the relevant text from that document. Make sure the USB stick is formatted fat32, and put the most current bios file in the root of that usb stick.

If this doesn't solve the issue, I suspect there is something wrong that may require a motherboard replacement. They can be found on Ebay for $75 or less.

You could also do a self-test of the power supply -- that is done by unplugging all connectors from the power supply to the motherboard and peripherals, and then plugging in the power supply by itself. If the led light inside the back of the power supply comes on, then it passed the self test. However, I doubt that the power supply is the issue.

I hope this helps,

Philip
 

Attachments

  • 2023-04-27 03_31_45-Bullzip PDF Studio.jpg
    2023-04-27 03_31_45-Bullzip PDF Studio.jpg
    485.7 KB · Views: 132
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
I have built, kept and/or sold probably 12 of these z440 and z640 workstations over the past 5 years, and have never seen the memory fan messages pop up until you have more than 4 sticks of memory installed. The 700 watt power supply is more than enough to support 1 32gb stick of ram, so I suspect that, given the two errors that are showing up, that there is something messed up in the motherboard's bios. I would recommend you do two things:
1. reset the bios to factory settings by following the bios reset instructions in the manual (there's a button on the motherboard you press and hold).
2. Do an "bios recovery" following the HP documented procedure that will reload the bios directly from a USB stick with the proper jumper set. The procedure used to be documented here: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05163478, but I can't find it anywhere on the HP support site anymore, so attached is the relevant text from that document. Make sure the USB stick is formatted fat32, and put the most current bios file in the root of that usb stick.

If this doesn't solve the issue, I suspect there is something wrong that may require a motherboard replacement. They can be found on Ebay for $75 or less.

You could also do a self-test of the power supply -- that is done by unplugging all connectors from the power supply to the motherboard and peripherals, and then plugging in the power supply by itself. If the led light inside the back of the power supply comes on, then it passed the self test. However, I doubt that the power supply is the issue.

I hope this helps,

Philip
This z440 was 85 usd from local seller (nohdd, noram, novga, somewhat battered case, plus 1620v3 cpu but i have a few v3 cpu for it). I updated the bios and cmos cleaned it a few times. I set rom to all device uefi only but the first testing video card (only for display output) is not uefi compatible by default but i solved it with another video card bios that is uefi compatible, so my old sapphire 6570 card is transformed to a gigabyte card :D thanks to techpowerup video bios database)
It is something with the load reduced memory, i replaced it with a non load reduced 8Gb stick and i don't get errors now. So i think this workstation not supports load reduced ram by default.

I bought this workstation for my projects, testing tesla and amd pro cards. Not for daily use so it is no need to be perfect.
And i also need to modify the bios for the all core turbo hack. (2696v3 cpu is on the way) I have an external spi flash so i think i cant brick it.
And building custom cooler for the testing cards. (i must remove the front fan and replace it with high pressure server fans)
I have a lot of work with this workstation.
 

Attachments

  • 139440_20230426_095622.jpg
    139440_20230426_095622.jpg
    388.8 KB · Views: 72
  • 139440_20230426_095611.jpg
    139440_20230426_095611.jpg
    325 KB · Views: 61
  • rpro1.jpg
    rpro1.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 65
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
I think the new cpu killed the z440.
I replaced the 1620v3 to 2696v3. It started and stopped at the HP logo. And then it rebooted and i only got 5 beeps. After that i got no logo, no display.
I put back the original cpu, but still got 5 beep. I replaced with 2630v3 still 5 beeps, and replaced the rams one by one to different slots (1x32gb, 1x8gb, 1x16gb...), the video card, the cmos battery, did a cmos reset...not boot.
I only got 5 beeps and red blinking light on the front. Then I put a diagnostic card it says FF and F3 so it indicated the bios cant load somehow.
I moved the bootblock recovery jumper and the ME flash override and i placed the latest bios file to a fat32 pendrive to do a bios recovery. Still 5 beeps. I got a few v3 cpus and loads of ddr4 ecc reg so it is the motherboard or bios is the faulty.
Anything I tried i got 5 beeps, except without cpu i got 3 red flashes.

What else I can try?

(apart that I will get a working bare Dell T5810 from trash for 60 usd, i hope that works with this cpu or I kill another workstation)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
369 (0.26/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Alienware PC
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard ASROCK Z97 EXTREME4
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 7770 2GB GDDR5
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2
Display(s) SAMSUNG UE57 Series 28-Inch 4K UHD
Case Alienware Area 51 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek On Board
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt
Mouse Microsoft Wireless
Keyboard HyperX - Alloy Elite 2 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard.
Software Windows 10 Pro & LTSB & LTSC Windows 11 Pro
Found this, but I have no idea if any of this will work.

To get into your Z440 BIOS:

Use the Escape key instead... start with the workstation fully off, and push the power button, and immediately start pushing the Esc key at 1 second intervals, and don't stop until you get to a BIOS entry point, then hit F10
Try a PS2 keyboard instead of USB keyboard.
Do a full clear of CMOS by all the things we've described before including unplugging from power, taking out the motherboard battery, disconnecting from all externals, press and hold the CMOS motherboard button for 15 seconds, Press and hold the power on button for 15 seconds, wait 15 minutes, repeat. This can clear CMOS corruption and has to do with fully discharging capacitors that can maintain the CMOS volatile memory with minimal charge. You should end up with factory defaults after all that.
Learn how to update BIOS from within BIOS... it is the safest way to go. I've posted on that here over and over. It is a bit different for the ZX40 family and on vs the ZX20 family and back. There is use of a thumb drive carrying the new BIOS .bin file nested down in a series of folders HP specifies the names of. Before this newer method you just needed to have that .bin file on the top level of the thumb drive, plugged in during cold boot, into a USB2 port. But, you need to be able to get into BIOS to use that method.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
the cpu is fine in dell t5810.
2696v3.jpg
When i got time for the HP i will fix it somehow.
 
Joined
May 18, 2023
Messages
152 (0.35/day)
System Name HP Z400
Processor Intel Xeon X5687
Motherboard Z400 6 DIMM Version
Cooling Stock High Performance
Memory 6 x 4GB 1600MHz (Total 24GB)
Video Card(s) Nvidia Quadro K4000 3GB
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - Patrion Burst 128GB - Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) 3 x HP EliteDisplay 241i
Case HP Z400
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Stock 475 Watt
Mouse Logitech M500 Corded
Keyboard HP KU-0316
Software Zorin OS PRO 16.3 / Fedora 38
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
218 (0.13/day)
Location
Filthydelphia, USA
System Name Regular PC | Server HP Z440
Processor 9700k | E5-2698v3
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X-CF | Stock mobo
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 rev. B | Stock HS
Memory 32 GB (8x4) | 112 GB (8x2 + 16x6)
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super | K4000
Storage 970 EVO+ 1TB | 860 1TB x2
Display(s) XV340CK x2, 1080p x2
Power Supply Corsair RM750x | Corsair RM750e
Software Pop!_OS | Proxmox
I've been looking around for a good graphics card for my VM's on my z440. I think the Nvidia Tesla P40 is low enough (around $230). It's on the compatibility chart for ESXi. I currently have a k4000. would this be a good fit to keep my k4000 as a output for ESXi (just in case) and use the P40 as the virtual gpu?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,102 (6.47/day)
I've been looking around for a good graphics card for my VM's on my z440. I think the Nvidia Tesla P40 is low enough (around $230). It's on the compatibility chart for ESXi. I currently have a k4000. would this be a good fit to keep my k4000 as a output for ESXi (just in case) and use the P40 as the virtual gpu?
You should get a K4200 as the K4000 is a bit dated at this point. If you can manage, an M4000 would be an ideal choice.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
After cpu upgrade (1620v3 to 2696v3) i got 5 beeps no boot. I tried different dimms, cpus, video cards... nothing works.
The cpu killed something. Or made the bios corrupt.. (cpu works fine in a dell t5810)
So i downloaded and extracted the latest bios bin file and writed with ch341a. Now the pc starts and make a ticking sound and then turns off and turns on, tick and it loops. No boot, No error.
So it is faulty vrm or psu i think.
Whats next? replace psu or motherboard?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
Maybe it's just not supported? It's not official Intel SKU.
It is the same spec number as the 2699v3 just better turbo (3.8ghz) and additional ddr3 support.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
218 (0.13/day)
Location
Filthydelphia, USA
System Name Regular PC | Server HP Z440
Processor 9700k | E5-2698v3
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X-CF | Stock mobo
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 rev. B | Stock HS
Memory 32 GB (8x4) | 112 GB (8x2 + 16x6)
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super | K4000
Storage 970 EVO+ 1TB | 860 1TB x2
Display(s) XV340CK x2, 1080p x2
Power Supply Corsair RM750x | Corsair RM750e
Software Pop!_OS | Proxmox
Maybe it's just not supported? It's not official Intel SKU.
The E5-2696 V3 isn't listed on Intel Ark, but is an official SKU. It was an OEM only with 18c/36t and a 3.8 highest boost clock (vs 3.6 on E5-2699 V3). It should work on HP workstations.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
511 (0.28/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Detox sleeper
Processor Intel i9-7980XE@4,5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock x299 Taichi XE (custom bios with ecc reg support, old microcode)
Cooling Custom water: Alphacool XT45 1080 + 9xArctic P12, EK-D5 pump combo, EK Velocity D-RGB block
Memory 8x16Gb Hynix DJR ECC REG 3200@4000
Video Card(s) Nvidia RTX 3080 FE 10Gb undervolted
Storage Samsung PM9A1 1Tb + PM981 512Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb + Samsung Evo 860 500Gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W (30" 2560x1600 10 bit)
Case Chieftec 1E0-500A-CT04 + AMD Sempron sticker
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard IBM Model M122 (boltmod, micro pro usbc)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
I ordered a motherboard for the z440 (from ebay). I still want to get it working and sell it.
But this time i will use a fully supported cpu (2697v3) and normal ecc reg dimms not load reduced. I hope it's not the psu causing the problems.

I ordered a motherboard for the z440 (from ebay). I still want to get it working and sell it.
But this time i will use a fully supported cpu (2697v3) and normal ecc reg dimms not load reduced. I hope it's not the psu causing the problems.
Update:
The faulty mobo finaly works. Just with a dumped bios from a z640 not with the downloaded stock z440.
An unsupported cpu can corrupt the bios. So i have a spare motherboard. I ordered an atx-hp power adapter cable so i can use the spare mobo in a standard atx case.
 
Last edited:
Top