• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HTPC questions.

Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.01/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#1
Ive been thinking about HTPC's and their use. My understanding is they are just normal pc's where their primary function is to play music, videos and films weather that be of cd/dvd, from a wired or wireless network or from any other sort of media. My question is this though. If they are just like standard pc's they still need a mouse and keyboard to be operated fully But in a living room environment a mouse and keyboard, even wireless, isn't very practical so what do you guys use? Are there remote's where you can open up the start bar and select programs? I no that most remote's work with software like windows media centre but how would you start it up or software like that with a remote? Ive always wondered this thanks
ste
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
yes. mce remotes. mzoft ones(and others probably) are pre-configured to use windows media center - but all of them can be modified with software like eventghost or others to work with whatever software (VLC, winamp, etc) you favor.

buttons can be programmed(open a program, run a script), macros, or even simulate buttons presses and mouse movement.
also the play/pause, etc are normally just media keys - which means they work the same as play/pause on your keyboard(if you have it)

it takes some setup time, but is sooo worth it.

as assaulter says. I just keep one by the chair and use it for XBMC. if the pc falls asleep (while im not watching) just press a button and wake it up. choose a video, play pause volume, etc - without getting up. I have an old Mzoft MCE remote, the 2005 I think. they have some damn cool lcd remotes... expensive for me though...
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
1,793 (0.60/day)
Likes
276
System Name Old Skool
Processor E6750 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard GA P35 DS3L
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283v
Memory 4gb Kingston DDR2 @ 900mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GT 512MB
Storage SAMSUNG 320gb
Display(s) VIEWSONIC vx2260wm
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek (on board) + Logitech x540
Power Supply CM 550w
Software W7 Ultimate 64
#3
You have remotes for pc's since ages. Try and search for some, I use one myself, generic one. Whats cool is that you can even chat on msn, shut down your pc, put it on standby, even use it as a mouse (since it has some kind of analog thingy) Like I said, mine is generic (I see pc remote on it, nothing more alas) kinda cost me $10 if I remember well. I don't use it with an htpc but since its basically a pc, it would still be the same. So you really don't need a mouse and kb, but wireless one's would be recommended (you never know when generic stuff will kiss you bye)

I've attached a pic of mine.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.01/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#4
I new theres been remotes ive used them for a while ive just never been able to find a way to eliminate the need for a mouse but i never new about being able to assign commands to certain buttons, and that last one looks great with the mouse toggle thing.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,358 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,166
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#5
I use my Logitech Harmony Remote for my HTPC
you can use the arrow keys for the mouse with the select button as the left Click button...

I also have a wireless keyboard and mouse
There are several Media Remotes for HTPC's that have a Touchpad to use as a mouse..

You can even use an XBOX 360 remote as a mouse with separate software...
http://pinnaclegameprofiler.com/downloads Thanks to D007 for this find
It's free to try and lets you use a 360 remote for any game on your PC as well which makes it perfet for an HTPC/Game center
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,529 (1.11/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Power Supply 330w Brick
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
#6
Microsoft had a specialized keyboard that they made for Windows XP Media Center Edition. I would imagine it would work with Vista and Seven as well. I always liked the way it looked.

Anyways, it appears to be called the "Microsoft Remote Keyboard for Windows XP Media Center Edition". I'd give it some consideration.