• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HttpSendRequestEx failed, error = 12031(0x2eff) error when attempting to upload validation

Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.18/day)
Likes
0
#1
title says it all really, not sure why it wont let me upload
fresh install of gpu-z and fresh install of windows
Capture.PNG

second run it crashed straight away
Capture2.PNG

third run it launched but gave the same error when attempting to submit validation
anyone have any clue whats up with this?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,954 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,552
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
12031 ERROR_INTERNET_CONNECTION_RESET
The connection with the server has been reset.

I assume your internet is working fine? Loading www.techpowerup.com in Internet Explorer works, too? (GPU-Z uses the Windows HTTP API, which is used by IE too)
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.18/day)
Likes
0
#5
This is a fresh Windows 7 install? Without SP1 ?
yep, interestingly enough attempting to update IE gives an error saying "internet explorer needs an update before installing" with a button that says "get update" however the button simply brings up another error saying "setup could not launch http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=185111" which is a dead link
very strange
not sure what to do, perhaps I should try installing sp1? that might be what its complaining about
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,768 (1.60/day)
Likes
2,677
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#7
A few things you could try:
1. Check your date and time... to be sure it is correct.
2. Make sure you have not accidently set IE to work offline. (if your version has this option.)
3. Try resetting IE
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,954 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,552
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
Check your date and time... to be sure it is correct.
That's a great suggestion. Wrong date often causes SSL connections to fail because the local system thinks the server's certificate is expired

Edit:

hmm that doesn't seem to be it
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,183 (4.43/day)
Likes
3,669
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#9
I think it has to do with outlook errors, my system automatically selects outlook for validation emails and auto generated replies, yet I use windows live/ Hotmail.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,954 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,552
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
I think it has to do with outlook errors, my system automatically selects outlook for validation emails and auto generated replies, yet I use windows live/ Hotmail.
GPU-Z doesn't use anything email related. When you check the "email me my validation id", our servers will send the actual email
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.18/day)
Likes
0
#11
Fixed it!
heres the steps I did to fix it
step1: install all pending windows updates (sp1 can be excluded)
2: I then manually installed updates kb2639308, kb2731771, kb2533623, kb2729094-v2, KB976932
3: reboot and clear/reset IE settings
done.....
now to figure out why my screen turns black for a moment after launching firefox (and only firefox), i'm hoping thats just graphics drivers
edit: yep it was my graphics drivers
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
549 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#12
Why are you skipping installing Windows 7 SP1!? You should most definitely install it.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,954 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,552
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#13
Fixed it!
heres the steps I did to fix it
step1: install all pending windows updates (sp1 can be excluded)
2: I then manually installed updates kb2639308, kb2731771, kb2533623, kb2729094-v2, KB976932
3: reboot and clear/reset IE settings
done.....
now to figure out why my screen turns black for a moment after launching firefox (and only firefox), i'm hoping thats just graphics drivers
edit: yep it was my graphics drivers
Weird, I tried to reproduce using a fresh Windows 7 install and didn't see the error. Any chance your system date was off and updating fixed it?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
549 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#14
Weird, I tried to reproduce using a fresh Windows 7 install and didn't see the error. Any chance your system date was off and updating fixed it?
Could be. IIRC, Microsoft regularly releases Windows Updates that deal with Time zones and Daylight Saving Time for certain years/countries (or maybe every year? Or at least every time an country makes a big change in the DST policy, such as stops using DST, and/or restarts that/etc)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,954 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,552
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#15
Could be. IIRC, Microsoft regularly releases Windows Updates that deal with Time zones and Daylight Saving Time for certain years/countries (or maybe every year? Or at least every time an country makes a big change in the DST policy, such as stops using DST, and/or restarts that/etc)
The date would have to be totally off, so that the SSL certificate timestamp can't be verified anymore
 
Top