• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HX100W wiring...

Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,560 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
I've got the HX100W. I got it second-hand and It came with two SATA one molex, and some PCI-E cables. One of the SATA cables and the one molex cable are not for this power supply--they just shut my system down immediately after power-on. After much confusion (years ago) I discovered that the pins that connect to the modular ports are in a different configuration that the one working SATA cable that I have for this PSU.

I'm going to buy an extractor tool and move the pins around, but after almost an hour of searching, I can't find a wiring diagram for the pin-outs of the modular connections on the PSU.

Anybody know of a good resource to find such a thing?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,403 (4.34/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,560 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
Thanks man, I can make my bad SATA cable work, just bu looking at the one good one that I have hooked up, just wanna make my good molex work--I don't have a reference for that one.

Weird, the link you gave me seemed to be in spanish.... So I opened up a new tab, typed "corsair.com" and went to their forums link and it's still in half spanish.......... FML..... lol. This entire day has been nothing but problems....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2010
Messages
1,489 (0.43/day)
Location
Steel City, UK
System Name Little tiny thin
Processor i7 5960x 4.5ghz
Motherboard R5E10
Cooling Water
Memory 2x8gb 3200mhz with bling bling
Video Card(s) XFX GTR RX 480 8GB GPU
Storage Samsung 970 evo 250 on m.2 slot/512gb m.2 ssd on asus hyper card/2tb mechanical
Display(s) 2x 24'' led monitor
Case Fractal define R6 TG
Audio Device(s) built in
Power Supply AX860
Mouse AFX
Keyboard Corsair k95 some dead LED Lights
Software WINDOWS 10.1 pro
I have spare all cables for this psu, psu has been knackered. i don't use it anymore.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,692 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX @2666 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
The easiest way is force-start the PSU and check pinouts with multimeter. Did that on 2 of my old modular PSUs.
The only thing you need to be weary about is that if you bought a cheap pin extractor, it may be very fragile. Don't force it in, try to wiggle it in... :D
You are lucky that you have a semi-modular PSU. I think the most painful part of restoring my 950W PSU was making a 24-pin cable from scraps...
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,560 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
The easiest way is force-start the PSU and check pinouts with multimeter. Did that on 2 of my old modular PSUs.
The only thing you need to be weary about is that if you bought a cheap pin extractor, it may be very fragile. Don't force it in, try to wiggle it in... :D
You are lucky that you have a semi-modular PSU. I think the most painful part of restoring my 950W PSU was making a 24-pin cable from scraps...
Yeah, I was trying last night with some sewing needles, they are all either too small, or too big... go figure.

As for the multimeter.... Sadly, I don't have one. I know, what kind of man am I, right? I did built one in high school, twenty years ago. It worked great, for about two minutes, until I tried to measure the resistance of the wall socket--boy, that was quite a show. I also am aware that they are cheap as hell. LOL.

I have spare all cables for this psu, psu has been knackered. i don't use it anymore.
I would love to buy them from you... :D (EDIT: Oh.... you're in the UK)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,692 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX @2666 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Yeah, I was trying last night with some sewing needles, they are all either too small, or too big... go figure.
Those won't work. There are cheap chinese extractors, but they are so soft and fragile that they last for approximately one PSU fix or less. Good enough if you wanna fix something quickly and forget about it. Wasted lots of time and punctured fingertips with those until I finally decided to spend $20-something on a decent rewiring kit.
The easiest way is to get some spares/replacements on eBay. Or ask around the forum. Sometimes people have spare SATA/IDE cables from this series that are just sitting somewhere in a dark closet.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,560 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
Ah, okay. Thanks man.

Well, I got my extractor tools now: :laugh:
126788

They work suprisingly well. The side of a hammer was my anvil and a pliers was my hammer. Made from a paper clip.

I also got a cheap multimeter to test out the pins on the PSU. Seems they are proprietary, so it's a huge secret that the world will never know. Though there are lots of pin out diagrams for tons of other PSUs, just not mine. I'd make a drawing, but I don't think anybody cares about it anymore--it's getting pretty old now.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,490 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I can't find a wiring diagram for the pin-outs of the modular connections on the PSU.
This is one of major downsides for modular PSUs in general. The ATX Form Factor standard does not stipulate the connector type or pinout for the PSU connectors, or the connectors on the PSU side of the cables. :( :mad: :mad: :mad: :kookoo: The component ends of the cables are standard, of course. But not the PSU side. This means you cannot mix and match cables from different modular PSUs. In some cases, you can't even mix and match cables from different PSUs from the same manufacturer! :confused: From a business logistics standpoint, that just makes no sense to me. I assume it is because PSU makers use different OEMs throughout their product lines.

This no industry standard issue also means if you have 6 computers at your location, all with different modular PSUs, you must label, keep and store the extra cables separately - forever! What a pain! What I have seen some users do is stuff the unused cables in a bag and toss the bag into the bottom of the computer case. Kind of defeats the aesthetics aspect for using a modular PSU in the first place. :rolleyes:

As a formally trained electronics technician, I cringe when I hear about some folks with no training sticking meter probes in electronics - especially power supplies. Remember, anything that plugs into the wall can kill! :eek: But in this case, I agree with the suggestion to use a meter (or tester) as long as you stay out of the inside of the PSU where the deadly voltages exist.

You do NOT need to power up the PSU to map out the pins. All you need is an inexpensive continuity tester to determine which cable pin connects to which PSU pin. A "short" (0 Ohms) indicates a connection (continuity). An open means no connection. You might need to use a straightened out paperclip with the alligator clip.

Should you get a multimeter, get a good one. You don't have to spend a fortune. I recommend the Mastech MS8268 for the best value for the money. The auto-sensing feature is great for the less experienced. Just use the Ohm setting. Like most better meters, checking continuity is easy as a simple tone sounds when a short is detected, and silence with an open. So you don't even need to look at the meter to test and map those cables. :)
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
497 (0.33/day)
System Name Silver sandwich
Processor Ryzen R7 1700 Stock
Motherboard Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling ID-Cooling Is-40x low profile cooler with diy Am4 aluminium & reinforce stainless steel bracket
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 X 16GB) DDR4 DRAM 3466 (PC4-27700) C16 for Intel 100 Series - Red PC M
Video Card(s) XFX RX460 4GB SINGLE SLOT
Storage Crucial Mx100 256GB & Sandisk SSD Plus 480GB
Display(s) NOW LG 27MP38 1980X1080 IPS/OLD Philips Brilliance 220CW 1680x1050 CCFL Monitor ( DEFUNCT)
Case DAN A4 -SFX (ITX CASE)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR SF450 PLATINUM
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Mk240 Nano Wireless Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
I agree just need a mulitmeter to check for continuenity for the modular cable and see which ends where. Don't need to power up.

Sticking meter probe into live wiring is dangerous. I was dumb enough to test the voltage of the wiring of a home oven holding both ends. Was wondering my meter was not reading until I turn to ac mode. It is 240V AC! I thought it was just an led low volt wiring but it is a lamp wiring. If it was not for a thick oven glove I wore I would get shock by 240V AC.

Use a test pen if unsure for unknown circuit. If it lights up its probably highly live.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,560 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
@Bill_Bright I just got the $5 one from Harbor freight (multimeter). I've used them before, and exploded one, so I'm pretty sure what not to do with it. There are 5v, 3v, and 12v powers coming form the sata/molex ports, I'm assuming. That's why the outputs on the PSU have 6 pins, so you can put molex or sata cables in a single output on the PSU. I do have one known good sata power cable hooked into my PSU right now, and a TON of potential cables from other PSUs. Just need to hold the black meter lead to a ground and probe away to find out which is which.

Now that I am pondering it, It seems like I can just study my good sata cable and learn which output is which on my PSU.... DUH!

@MIRTAZAPINE I was dumb enough to set a meter to measure ohms and stick it into a 120V wall socket when I was a kid in electronics class. See post #6. Pillars of smoke shot out the socket a good 3 feet. I think I wanna do it again with this cheap multimeter I got, just for shits n grins... I'll try to restrain myself though.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,490 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
There are 5v, 3v, and 12v powers coming form the sata/molex ports
And "grounds".

As far as blowing up meters, that's another reason to get a good meter instead of something cheap. The better meters are autosensing and have robust protection features. So if you have your polarity wrong, or the setting on the meter wrong, it will either automatically sort it out for you, or just not read anything - without producing smoke.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,560 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
My dad was an electrician, I messed around with his Fluke a few times, the quality was definitely there. I saw a cheapo Fluke on Amazon for 40 bucks..... But I'm not an electrician, I did take three years of electronics and was -sort of- an electrician in the Navy. I just don't have much of a need for a decent one right now, haven't for 15+ years. The cheap one will do me good for this--if I even use it--and I can pull it out on the 4th of July next year!!

@FreedomEclipse That link in post #2 tells me I have the original HX series and nothing is compatible.... lol.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,490 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
$40 for a Fluke may be considered cheap compared to other Flukes, but I am sure it would be a pretty decent meter for the occasional home user. When I was referring to cheap, I meant something like this.
PS: Thanks for your service! :toast:
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
593 (0.76/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1900X
Motherboard As Rock X399 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws V 3600 MHZ 16 GB (2x8) & Gskill Ripjaws 4 3000 MHZ 16GB (2x8)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,560 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
@Bill_Bright the one I picked up was five bucks.

@kapone32 I appreciate it, but I've got so many spare cables around from other PSUs, it would be wasteful to no rearrange the pins to fit my current PSU.....
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,403 (4.34/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Ask on the corsair forums then. Or maybe check out the Corsair shop for spare parts
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,490 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
@Bill_Bright the one I picked up was five bucks.
Well, it is probably fine to look for shorts and opens in a circuit where no voltages are present. I would not trust it to accurately measure DC voltages. And for sure, make sure you have the settings set correctly and the probe polarity right before touching any contacts. I personally would not trust it - in terms of personal safety - for measuring mains/wall outlet AC voltages, or inside electronics were high-voltage AC exists. It is probably fine to check your car battery, however.
 
Top