• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HyperMemory

bubba_000

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
System Name Packard Bell MV86-003
Processor Core 2 Duo T5500
Motherboard MV86
Memory 2 GB DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon X1700 64 bits 128 MB DDR2
Storage 100GB @ 5400 RPM
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
HI

I was just wondering if this hypermemory thing on my laptop is really improving performance. my video card is a mobility radeon x1700 with 512 mb hypermemory(128 mb dedicated).
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.13/day)
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
HI

I was just wondering if this hypermemory thing on my laptop is really improving performance. my video card is a mobility radeon x1700 with 512 mb hypermemory(128 mb dedicated).
hypermemory is when your graphics card uses your systems ram to extend the amount of memory available to the graphics chip

in theory this will help to improve performance of the card over not using it as it has more space to load textures etc....

however it uses the pci-express bus to access the ram so the data transfer speeds between the ram and the gpu leave a lot to be desired..

in short if your system has plenty of ram you should see a slight performance increase (nothing spectacular but still a bit better)
 

bubba_000

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
System Name Packard Bell MV86-003
Processor Core 2 Duo T5500
Motherboard MV86
Memory 2 GB DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon X1700 64 bits 128 MB DDR2
Storage 100GB @ 5400 RPM
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
I have 1 Gb of ram ( dual-channel)
 

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.57/day)
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
i wouldnt reccomend using hypermemory or at least not 512mb as you only have 1gb and with the 512mb hypermemory that will leave you with 636mb system memory which is too low so the small performance increase would be lost due to the hit your system memory receives
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.48/day)
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
i wouldnt reccomend using hypermemory or at least not 512mb as you only have 1gb and with the 512mb hypermemory that will leave you with 636mb system memory which is too low so the small performance increase would be lost due to the hit your system memory receives
Yep yep.
Def. isnt the greatest thing in the world.
Hey it sounds kewl, but its all a marketing ploy.
HyperMemory or TurboCache is the same thing by the way.
Unfort. most laptop's GPUs do use the system's memory that is why they arent equal to a desktops GPU.
However, it does reduce the amount of heat produced by the GPU.
 

bubba_000

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
System Name Packard Bell MV86-003
Processor Core 2 Duo T5500
Motherboard MV86
Memory 2 GB DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon X1700 64 bits 128 MB DDR2
Storage 100GB @ 5400 RPM
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
OK, i knew what hypermemory is all about and that it can't compare to dedicated memory, and it's just some marketing thing, but i tought it's better than nothing. Still, i have 128 mb/128 bit video memory. And how do I turn it off? I tried in both CCC and BIOS, but nothing. I think I saw something about changing video memory in the Driverheavan Modtool
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (0.85/day)
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
Try googling it, there are bound to be articles somewhere.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
416 (0.09/day)
Location
Los Angeles,CA
AFAIK you cant turn off Turbocache or hypermemory.And there will only be like 1% improvement.Just a trick to fool us.:p Try flashing the VGA BIOS or sumthing.If it can program like RaBiT must have the option.Dont knw u can flash coz of ur lappy.So try at your own risk.TPU Downloads have ATi WINFlash latest and RabiT but not the latest AIM.
 
Top