• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards)

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
I don't believe you can sli a ddr2 card and a ddr3 card together, even if they are both 8600gts. Memory timings way off ect, just not going to work. Find a 2nd ddr3 card, and it will work.
 

AsW

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
First of all, thx for all your work, just reading the coments from people who could make it work got me all excited :eek:

Here is my case:
VT-x ok
UAC disabled ok
HyperSLI installed and restarted ok
285.38 installed ok

Then I open the HyperSLI S.O., Hypersli sais he is working fine, yet I cant activate the SLI option in the nvidia config tool, it doesnt even appear.
:banghead:

MOBO: Asus P5K
CARDS: XFX 8800GT 512mb
XFX 8800GT 256mb XXX
(I have the SLI bridge)
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
First of all, thx for all your work, just reading the coments from people who could make it work got me all excited :eek:

Here is my case:
VT-x ok
UAC disabled ok
HyperSLI installed and restarted ok
285.38 installed ok

Then I open the HyperSLI S.O., Hypersli sais he is working fine, yet I cant activate the SLI option in the nvidia config tool, it doesnt even appear.
:banghead:

MOBO: Asus P5K
CARDS: XFX 8800GT 512mb
XFX 8800GT 256mb XXX
(I have the SLI bridge)
As Johnspack said above to another user, SLI is not working because your cards are not exactly the same.
The amount of ram onboard is different, and in order to activate the SLI you'll need another 512mb or 256mb.
 

Hota

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name PaskaTykki
Processor Phenom II X4 965BE
Motherboard Asus Crosshair Formula IV
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory kingston hyperX 2000mhz cl9 2x4GB
Video Card(s) pny Geforce 580GXT and Zotac Geforce 580GTX
Storage WD10EADX-00TDHB0
Display(s) Benq G2412HD
Case Fractal Define XL
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair TX950W
Software Windows 7
you must use two cards the same amount of memory and the model of a different brand of cards may be. example

Asus GeForce 480GTx 1536mb GDDR 5 and MSI GeForce 480GTx 1536mb GDDR5 .. Nvidia has this kind of a stupid solution unlike the AMD will be able to use for example 5850 and 5870 with CrossFire
 
Last edited:

AsW

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I saw a Video about SLI in the nvidia webpage that said that you COULD use diferent momories even different clock speeds as long as the GPU was the same, it would just slow donw to the slowest card, but it should work.
 

snipe

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Had another BSOD shut down during idle. Must be these stupid ass beta drivers. Oh well Oct 24th will prob fix that.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
I just want to thank you all for HyperSLI!!!!

so far its working great!!!!

Crossfire IV Extreme (liquid cooled)
3 x GTX 580's (liquid cooled)
1100-T AMD (liquid cooled)
8 gig ASUS ram (on air)
Creative Titanium
 

SAINT19

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Budget rig
Processor Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8GHz with NB @ 3000MHz both using 1.325V
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 Rev. 2.0 F4 BIOS / MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling EK Supreme Full Nickel + Swiftech MCR-320 + Swiftech MCP-655D
Memory 2x2GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 560 Ti DirectCU II / EVGA 8800 GT / EVGA 8800 GTS / 2x XFX 8600 GT
Storage Crucial C300 64GB + 2xItachi 500GB
Display(s) Samsung 23''
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2-RX 650W Modular
Software Win XP x86 / Win Vista x86 / Win 7 x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z: 6.5GHz on LN2
I will try the regedit thing.

The clock of both GPU are the same, BIOS modified for both and with the same exact clocks.
 

DARkNESS

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
USA - KY
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling CORSAIR H50 Water Cooled
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 1866 PC3 15000
Video Card(s) Dual MSI Nvidia GeForce GTS450 Cyclone 1GB DDR5
Storage WDC 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 23" Widescreen
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Power Supply X3 800 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
First just want to say hello and thanks to anatolymik and the supporters for working on this!

I am having some issues. Everything seems to have installed correctly but when I choose to boot from hyper boot, computer just restarts and goes back to boot manager.
I uninstalled graphics driver, restart, re-installed drivers, restart, installed hyper sli, restart, then when selecting hyper boot option just restarts. I have 2 GTS 450's installed with SLI Bridge installed.

I am also running on a MSI 890FXA-GD70 Motherboard

I have attached some screen shots.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
First just want to say hello and thanks to anatolymik and the supporters for working on this!

I am having some issues. Everything seems to have installed correctly but when I choose to boot from hyper boot, computer just restarts and goes back to boot manager.
I uninstalled graphics driver, restart, re-installed drivers, restart, installed hyper sli, restart, then when selecting hyper boot option just restarts. I have 2 GTS 450's installed with SLI Bridge installed.

I am also running on a MSI 890FXA-GD70 Motherboard

I have attached some screen shots.
Try to check in the BIOS if the SECURE VIRTUAL MACHINE is enabled. Are you able to boot in normal windows? Or it just restart in the same way of hyper boot? Any BSOD?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
I saw a Video about SLI in the nvidia webpage that said that you COULD use diferent momories even different clock speeds as long as the GPU was the same, it would just slow donw to the slowest card, but it should work.
You should have a try, but is not a Hypersli issue anyway. Try in a different forum of techpowerup.
 

Hota

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name PaskaTykki
Processor Phenom II X4 965BE
Motherboard Asus Crosshair Formula IV
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory kingston hyperX 2000mhz cl9 2x4GB
Video Card(s) pny Geforce 580GXT and Zotac Geforce 580GTX
Storage WD10EADX-00TDHB0
Display(s) Benq G2412HD
Case Fractal Define XL
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair TX950W
Software Windows 7
I saw a Video about SLI in the nvidia webpage that said that you COULD use diferent momories even different clock speeds as long as the GPU was the same, it would just slow donw to the slowest card, but it should work.

ASW modern graphics cards will not work, nvidia has also announced on that the new cards can not be mixed. Greater than the second memory card may be able to run the CVS program, but in a real SLI setup menu does not work, and the great risk is that when you connect the reference card, after-market card as not working
 

ichime

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Doesn't work on my system (m17x-R2). It installs with no issue, but SLi option still not present.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
First just want to say hello and thanks to anatolymik and the supporters for working on this!

I am having some issues. Everything seems to have installed correctly but when I choose to boot from hyper boot, computer just restarts and goes back to boot manager.
I uninstalled graphics driver, restart, re-installed drivers, restart, installed hyper sli, restart, then when selecting hyper boot option just restarts. I have 2 GTS 450's installed with SLI Bridge installed.

I am also running on a MSI 890FXA-GD70 Motherboard

I have attached some screen shots.
boot with "Disable automatic restart on system failure" to see what will happen
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Yes, BUT I think it might be the 285.38 BETA driver. I was fine before this, but then again I never had HyperSLI with any other driver, we will see come monday
So you have not any problems with any drivers but 285.38? I understood you right?
 

DARkNESS

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
USA - KY
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling CORSAIR H50 Water Cooled
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 1866 PC3 15000
Video Card(s) Dual MSI Nvidia GeForce GTS450 Cyclone 1GB DDR5
Storage WDC 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 23" Widescreen
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Power Supply X3 800 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Try to check in the BIOS if the SECURE VIRTUAL MACHINE is enabled. Are you able to boot in normal windows? Or it just restart in the same way of hyper boot? Any BSOD?
boot with "Disable automatic restart on system failure" to see what will happen
Yes SVM is enabled and yes I can boot into normal windows. Only keeps restarting on hyper boot, select hyper boot on the boot manager, computer restarts and goes back to boot manager.

I also already have automatic restart disabled.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Yes SVM is enabled and yes I can boot into normal windows. Only keeps restarting on hyper boot, select hyper boot on the boot manager, computer restarts and goes back to boot manager.

I also already have automatic restart disabled.

Did you use SLIPatch before HyperSLI? And if it is, it worked for you?
 

DARkNESS

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
USA - KY
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling CORSAIR H50 Water Cooled
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 1866 PC3 15000
Video Card(s) Dual MSI Nvidia GeForce GTS450 Cyclone 1GB DDR5
Storage WDC 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 23" Widescreen
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Power Supply X3 800 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Did you use SLIPatch before HyperSLI? And if it is, it worked for you?
I did try SLIPatch before HyperSLI, but with the same effect.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
I did try SLIPatch before HyperSLI, but with the same effect.
Some infos:
Are the two cards totaly equal? I mean same amount of memory? Same chip?
When You tried the slipatch 1.5, have you installed the modded driver too?
Are you running win7 x64 sp1?
When you choose the hypersli boot, the reboot is immediate or you can see a bit of loading then it reset?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Doesn't work on my system (m17x-R2). It installs with no issue, but SLi option still not present.
Post you PC specs.
 

DARkNESS

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
USA - KY
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling CORSAIR H50 Water Cooled
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 1866 PC3 15000
Video Card(s) Dual MSI Nvidia GeForce GTS450 Cyclone 1GB DDR5
Storage WDC 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 23" Widescreen
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Power Supply X3 800 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Some infos:
Are the two cards totaly equal? I mean same amount of memory? Same chip?
When You tried the slipatch 1.5, have you installed the modded driver too?
Are you running win7 x64 sp1?
When you choose the hypersli boot, the reboot is immediate or you can see a bit of loading then it reset?
Yes the two cards are identical.
MSI Nvidia GeForce GTS450 Cyclone 1GB DDR5

Yes I installed the modded driver with SLIPatch before trying hyperSLI.
I am running Win 7 64bit SP1.
When choosing hyperSLI in boot manager, it immediately reboots upon pressing enter.
 
Last edited:

DARkNESS

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
USA - KY
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling CORSAIR H50 Water Cooled
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB 1866 PC3 15000
Video Card(s) Dual MSI Nvidia GeForce GTS450 Cyclone 1GB DDR5
Storage WDC 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 23" Widescreen
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Power Supply X3 800 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
1) start->run
2) type cmd and hit enter
3) type "bcdedit" and hit enter
4) post your results
Code:
Windows Boot Manager
--------------------
identifier              {bootmgr}
device                  partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume1
path                    \EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi
description             Windows Boot Manager
locale                  en-US
inherit                 {globalsettings}
default                 {default}
resumeobject            {a8401b96-c91a-11e0-b08c-9947bac1298d}
displayorder            {current}
                        {default}
toolsdisplayorder       {memdiag}
timeout                 30

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier              {current}
device                  partition=C:
path                    \Windows\system32\winload.efi
description             Windows 7
locale                  en-US
inherit                 {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence        {a8401b98-c91a-11e0-b08c-9947bac1298d}
recoveryenabled         Yes
testsigning             Yes
osdevice                partition=C:
systemroot              \Windows
resumeobject            {a8401b96-c91a-11e0-b08c-9947bac1298d}
nx                      OptIn
numproc                 6
usefirmwarepcisettings  No

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier              {default}
device                  partition=C:
path                    \windows\system32\osloadw7.exe
description             Windows 7 x64 HyperSLI
locale                  en-US
inherit                 {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence        {a8401b98-c91a-11e0-b08c-9947bac1298d}
recoveryenabled         Yes
nointegritychecks       Yes
testsigning             Yes
osdevice                partition=C:
systemroot              \Windows
kernel                  ntoskrnp.exe
hal                     halsli.dll
resumeobject            {a8401b96-c91a-11e0-b08c-9947bac1298d}
nx                      OptIn
numproc                 6
safeboot                Minimal
usefirmwarepcisettings  No
sos                     No