• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards)

Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Ohio, US
System Name Scoots
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3.2GHz (Auto)
Motherboard NB: AMD 890FX + SB: AMD SB850 (Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev. 2.0)
Cooling Air (ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler)
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) @1333 (G.SKILL ECO Series 2GB CL7D-4GBECO)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 460 1GB, x2 SLI (Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1GB + MSI Hawk GeForce GTX 460 1GB)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM WD1501FASS
Display(s) [1680x1050][1920x1080] (Primary: ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 16:9 + Secondary: HP w2207 16:10)
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP
Power Supply COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
Software Win7 x64 (Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601))
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark v2.5 Basic: 1578; DX11, 1920x1080, Fullscreen, High, Tess Normal
Last edited:

ThePOO

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II 1090T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling Scythe Orochi Rev B
Memory 4 Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1333C9 (16GB)
Video Card(s) 2 MSI GTX580 Frozr II/OC (Asus SLI Adapter)
Storage 4 Crucial RealSSD C300 in Raid-0 (1TB) & 2 Seagate ST2000DL003 6Gbps in Raid-0 (4TB)
Display(s) 3 HannStar Hanns.G iF281 28" (2D Surround - 3600x1920)
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M 1000W
Software Window 7 Pro SP1
Benchmark Scores No overclocking here. My goal was fast, and extremely quiet. -- Achieved.
HyperSLI and Virtualbox

I currently use the SLIPatch 1.5b and 280.26 drivers (and the modded driver) ... works just fine.

I want to move over to HyperSLI and get the 285.62 drivers installed so I can play BF3.

I use Virtualbox and maintain many machines ... xp, vista, win 7, win 8, Linux Mint, Ubuntu, and Mac OS X ... my concern is whether HyperSLI will prevent my use of VB and my virtual machines?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Ohio, US
System Name Scoots
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3.2GHz (Auto)
Motherboard NB: AMD 890FX + SB: AMD SB850 (Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev. 2.0)
Cooling Air (ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler)
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) @1333 (G.SKILL ECO Series 2GB CL7D-4GBECO)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 460 1GB, x2 SLI (Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1GB + MSI Hawk GeForce GTX 460 1GB)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM WD1501FASS
Display(s) [1680x1050][1920x1080] (Primary: ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 16:9 + Secondary: HP w2207 16:10)
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP
Power Supply COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
Software Win7 x64 (Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601))
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark v2.5 Basic: 1578; DX11, 1920x1080, Fullscreen, High, Tess Normal
I currently use the SLIPatch 1.5b and 280.26 drivers (and the modded driver) ... works just fine.

I want to move over to HyperSLI and get the 285.62 drivers installed so I can play BF3.

I use Virtualbox and maintain many machines ... xp, vista, win 7, win 8, Linux Mint, Ubuntu, and Mac OS X ... my concern is whether HyperSLI will prevent my use of VB and my virtual machines?
I started up my Mac OS X Virtual Machine I made a while back. My computer crashed, showing a blue screen.

Based on this, my guess is that in most cases, no, it will not work, because HyperSLI is using and hiding SVM and VT-x.

If there's a configuration setting in the virtual machine options to disable the use of SVM and VT-x, it may work. I'm going to try testing it more on Oracle Box. I'll update if I can or can't get it working.

NOTE: I'm guessing at everything and I don't actually know how these things work. Don't take my guesses as fact.

Edit: I couldn't find any settings to disable Virtualization and I couldn't get any machine to boot without bluescreening. Someone else may succeed where I failed; I'm not very experienced with virtual machines.
 
Last edited:

ThePOO

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II 1090T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling Scythe Orochi Rev B
Memory 4 Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1333C9 (16GB)
Video Card(s) 2 MSI GTX580 Frozr II/OC (Asus SLI Adapter)
Storage 4 Crucial RealSSD C300 in Raid-0 (1TB) & 2 Seagate ST2000DL003 6Gbps in Raid-0 (4TB)
Display(s) 3 HannStar Hanns.G iF281 28" (2D Surround - 3600x1920)
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M 1000W
Software Window 7 Pro SP1
Benchmark Scores No overclocking here. My goal was fast, and extremely quiet. -- Achieved.
BE AWARE. HyperSLI hide Virtualization Technology supporting. For example, CPU-Z utility never show VT-x for Intel processors and AMD-V for AMD processors under HyperSLI. This will be fixed in further versions.
Yeah, based on the above I figured it would not let us use virtual machines ... so I wait for a future release that can support them.

In the meantime, I'm in hopes that modded drivers are produced for the SLIPatch environment so I can update and play BF3 ....
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Texas
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE @ 3776 Mhz
Motherboard Asus M4a89td
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory 8 gig Mushkin @ 1888 CAS 7/9/7
Video Card(s) Nvidia gtx 460 (SLI) One is Palit One is MSI
Storage WD Raptor 120GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung px2370 60hz 1920x1080
Case Antec mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard 8 channel
Power Supply ABS Dark Beret series DB850-M-BRZ 850W
Software Win7 x64 Pro/ MSI afterburner / TurboVevo
Hey, just wanted to say thanks to Anatoly and crew. I was having problems with sli patch 1.5 when I would try to install the new nvidia drivers. It would give me some pretty bad flickering in some of my games. The new hyperSLI worked without a hitch. BF3 is playing much better. Keep doing what you do, Thanks again.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
i didnt find solution with flickering..please help guys..without sli brigde it works fine but i have lower fps..Its a nasty fast blinking screen with all red colours..any clues?

I am using latest drivers 285.62 Win7 32bit on my 8800gt SLI and Rampage Formula..also HyperSLI 0.6
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Hi guys, I wish to ask a question to all of you.
I got my hands on a Club3D GTX 570 for almost free, and I know myself it will not rest in the box.
Now I have already a 570 SLI, but to go in 3-way SLI,will my Coolermaster Silent Pro M850 hold the kick? It has already 6 pci-e connectors so I assume it could handle it, but,
any suggestions and experiences are welcome!
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
didnt find solution with flickering..please help guys..without sli brigde it works fine but i have lower fps..Its a nasty fast blinking screen with all red colours..any clues?

I am using latest drivers 285.62 Win7 32bit on my 8800gt SLI and Rampage Formula..also HyperSLI 0.6
That sounds like cpu virtualization is not enabled in your bios. Not sure if you have amd or intel, please list your specs so we can help you.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
988 (0.43/day)
Likes
472
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Hi guys, I wish to ask a question to all of you.
I got my hands on a Club3D GTX 570 for almost free, and I know myself it will not rest in the box.
Now I have already a 570 SLI, but to go in 3-way SLI,will my Coolermaster Silent Pro M850 hold the kick? It has already 6 pci-e connectors so I assume it could handle it, but,
any suggestions and experiences are welcome!
I would go with at least a 1200W PSU to handle tri-SLI...
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Texas
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE @ 3776 Mhz
Motherboard Asus M4a89td
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory 8 gig Mushkin @ 1888 CAS 7/9/7
Video Card(s) Nvidia gtx 460 (SLI) One is Palit One is MSI
Storage WD Raptor 120GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung px2370 60hz 1920x1080
Case Antec mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard 8 channel
Power Supply ABS Dark Beret series DB850-M-BRZ 850W
Software Win7 x64 Pro/ MSI afterburner / TurboVevo
Hey ZeroGravity, I dont know if it will work for you on your 8800 gt's but the nvidia 275.33 drivers were much more stable for me and I didnt have the flickering issues using those. After I Installed hyperSLI I was able to use the newwer drivers, but until u get it figured out you could try using the old drivers and see if it works
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
working on HyperSLI 0.7.
coming soon

there will be:
1) fixed bugs
2) Controls to Enable/Disable Hypervisor in any time
3) Option to automatic disable Hypervisor when Windows starts

steps 1 and 2 are to make Virtual Machines using possible under HyperSLI. Example winxp mode, virtualbox and so on
 

Yimmeryams

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Ohio, US
System Name Scoots
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3.2GHz (Auto)
Motherboard NB: AMD 890FX + SB: AMD SB850 (Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev. 2.0)
Cooling Air (ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler)
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) @1333 (G.SKILL ECO Series 2GB CL7D-4GBECO)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 460 1GB, x2 SLI (Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1GB + MSI Hawk GeForce GTX 460 1GB)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM WD1501FASS
Display(s) [1680x1050][1920x1080] (Primary: ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 16:9 + Secondary: HP w2207 16:10)
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP
Power Supply COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
Software Win7 x64 (Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601))
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark v2.5 Basic: 1578; DX11, 1920x1080, Fullscreen, High, Tess Normal
I wonder if it works on this GA-870A-UD3? Its not X-Fire or SLI certified but have 2 PCIE.

ga-870a-ud3rev_21

mb_manual-ga-870a-ud3_v.2.1_e.pdf

Max speed? both at 4x??? Bottlenecked??

Greeat JOB!
I did a simple search on Google and came up with this thread: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/284640-30-870a-crossfire

Though not officially supported, Crossfire supposedly works. This means that HyperSLI will most likely work, assuming the board supports virtualization, which I haven't looked up.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
58 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
System Name Black-Raptor
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X UD4 B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory Corsair XMS3 8Gb
Video Card(s) SLI GTX 660Ti
Storage 500Gb Samsung, 80Gb Maxtor
Case Tt V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Tt Toughpower XT 750w
In a few weeks i'll buy a Z68 board and I truly gonna miss this piece of software, the work of anatolymik y brilliant, however i'll keep track of this thread as long as exist.
 

Buschti

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Windows 7
Processor Q9650
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Premium
Cooling Liquid
Memory 4 GB DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 570
Display(s) ASUS VG236HE
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatality
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
The new owner of my P5Q Deluxe motherboard is going to love this!
 

Yimmeryams

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Ohio, US
System Name Scoots
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3.2GHz (Auto)
Motherboard NB: AMD 890FX + SB: AMD SB850 (Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev. 2.0)
Cooling Air (ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa CPU Cooler)
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) @1333 (G.SKILL ECO Series 2GB CL7D-4GBECO)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 460 1GB, x2 SLI (Palit GeForce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum 1GB + MSI Hawk GeForce GTX 460 1GB)
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM WD1501FASS
Display(s) [1680x1050][1920x1080] (Primary: ASUS VH226H Black 21.5" 16:9 + Secondary: HP w2207 16:10)
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP
Power Supply COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified
Software Win7 x64 (Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601))
Benchmark Scores Heaven Benchmark v2.5 Basic: 1578; DX11, 1920x1080, Fullscreen, High, Tess Normal
Does this cpu: AMD Athlon II X3 425 Rana 2.7GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cach...

support secure virtual machine? Also will hypersli work on the 870 chipset?
Don't be lazy. Press "Details" and look yourself. I'll give you a hint. It's next to "Virtualization Technology Support".

As for if the 870 chipset working with HyperSLI, it depends on the board. Look for Crossfire support. Some boards support it, some don't, and some don't officially support it but still work.

Try a simple Google search and do some research on it.
 

ThePOO

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II 1090T
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling Scythe Orochi Rev B
Memory 4 Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1333C9 (16GB)
Video Card(s) 2 MSI GTX580 Frozr II/OC (Asus SLI Adapter)
Storage 4 Crucial RealSSD C300 in Raid-0 (1TB) & 2 Seagate ST2000DL003 6Gbps in Raid-0 (4TB)
Display(s) 3 HannStar Hanns.G iF281 28" (2D Surround - 3600x1920)
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M 1000W
Software Window 7 Pro SP1
Benchmark Scores No overclocking here. My goal was fast, and extremely quiet. -- Achieved.
HyperSLI 0.7 ....

so I can now install 285.62 drivers, install HyperSLI, run 2D Surround (3600x1920, 3 28" monitors), and can run Virtual Machines as well? or no?

I must use 2D Surround .. there's no way I can work and/or play without that. I can't tell what I do, sorry. But I -do- play games with the system as well ... BF3 is my current heartthrob ....

Anyway, is what I want asking too much, or will it all just run fine?

(oh, yeah, currently SLIPatch working fine, but looks like support has stopped for that and without 285.62 drivers, and modded files, I'm stuck)
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
114 (0.04/day)
Likes
33
System Name Bigfoot
Processor Q6600@3.2Ghz
Motherboard P5Q Pro Turbo
Cooling Artic Cooling
Memory 4Gb GSkill DDR2 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) 2xGTX460 1Gb HyperSLI
Storage 3x500Gb
Display(s) 22'' LG/ 32'' LG
Case Nox Coolbay 25
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX-850W
Software Win7 64/XP 32
New version.

1) Hypervisor controlling
2) EFI systems supported

See first message

Just push update button and reboot
Just tried it and when hypervisor is disabled, VT-x pops up in cpu-id so i suppose that virtualization is working again, the cool part is that even with hypervisor disabled and HyperSLI working in legacy mode i got no fliquering in games:)
Is that because the nvidia driver check is done apon boot?

Great job btw, simply awesome!!
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.46/day)
Likes
834
Just tried it and when hypervisor is disabled, VT-x pops up in cpu-id so i suppose that virtualization is working again, the cool part is that even with hypervisor disabled and HyperSLI working in legacy mode i got no fliquering in games:)
Is that because the nvidia driver check is done apon boot?

Great job btw, simply awesome!!
the driver does checks at boot time