• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards)

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Rhole, I was having the same gpu loading issue, including with MW3, it is not a hypersli issue. To fix it, update to beta 290.36 first. Then you may have to create a shortcut on desktop to iw5sp.exe. Then rerun nvidia control panel, and it should have added it. I get this usage when I do it this way:
 

snipe

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Actually you are right, if I disable Windows Composition, then Dual monitors works fine 100% of the time lol. Such a pain that has been.

even the latest 290.36 driver performs exactly the same. Really not sure what is going on. My best guess is the PCI express bus or CPU.

But surely if it was the CPU, increasing the clock from 3.4 to 3.8 GHz should give even a tiny bit of an increase in loading on the first GPU. Dropping the multiplyer to 8 from 9 and increasing the FSB also give no improvement. So I'm gonna rule out CPU here.


From testing today I have observed that if i remove the SLI Bridge, then the system performs the same! So having the bridge give no improvement at all. I can confirm the bridge is working when connected with the flickering when removed. But SLI over the PCI Express bus gives the same performance. My mobo drops to 8x/8x and I see no performance drop.

Surely on a 16x 4x motherboard, this is not right? Is the 4x PCI-e socket to blame here? I've read many review and even posts in this thread that give only little performance drop with that configuration.

I'm totally confused. Could the 4x slot be making the card in the main 16x slot run slow? as loadings on the second card are always 90%+ yet the first card shows 30% all the time.
There is not a problem with hardware, I just think it is a side effect of SLI on CF mobos, I do not get it with all games, so far just EA titles (BC2, BF3, NFS The Run) I just learn to live with it, and I turn off the options when I lauch those games, oh ya and I CANNOT ALT + TAB or it BSOD's, no big deal.

Also to the guy having the issue with SLI not working, try removing the SLI bridge and turning it around or even just reseating it.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2667v3
Motherboard Asrock x99e-ITX
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2*8GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) Dell OEM GTX 1080
Storage Samsung PM961 256GB + Corsair Force3 120GB + Crucial MX100 512GB
Case Corsair 250d
Just a slight update of my situation.

I have ordered a new system (i5 2500k, Asus P8P67 EVO, 16GB ram, Corsair H100) and just recieved the new motherboard today (hopefully the rest will come tomorrow).

I tried the SLI connector from my new motherboard and, guess what, it works!
Don't know how the other one got broken, but hey, at least it weren't one of the graphic cards! :D
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
336 (0.14/day)
Likes
51
Location
Portugal
Processor Intel i7 7700k @4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Strix Z270I Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 2x8GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX980TI OC
Storage Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z / Dell SE198WFP
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv Mini ITX Red/Black Windows
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer Naga Hex Wraith Red
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 - 64bit
Hi,
could someone do me a favor?
I need someone who's running Hyper SLI to try running Cheat Engine (http://www.cheatengine.org/downloads.php) and see if the computer freezes or gets a bsod.
I'm asking this because when HyperSLI came out i was getting bsod when i ran Cheat Engine, so i had to go back to SLIPatch.
But since HyperSLI is now on 0.7 beta i was wondering if it got fixed, and i don't want to reinstalled everything if it still fails, can someone try it for me ?
Thanks
 

RoMeO

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Smoked Bacon 101
Processor Q9650 @ 4.01ghz
Motherboard x48 P5E3 Asus Premium WiFi@n
Cooling H50, IC Diamond Paste
Memory 4GB DDR3 1420mhz 7-7-7-26
Video Card(s) 2-way SLi GTX480 (1x Asus & 1x KFA2 Anarchy)
Storage 1x Crucial M4, 2x Crucial M225 SSD
Display(s) Acer 3d 120mhz
Case NZXT Phantom Modded
Audio Device(s) X-Fi 5.1 USB External
Power Supply 900w Modular
Software Windows 7 x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 Score P9501 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1674493;jsessionid=1pedxe1jxbccv?show_ads=true&page=
New drivers are out
GeForce Forceware 290.53

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=2836

Download GeForce Forceware 290.53 driver for Windows Vista or 7 64-bit

This is the second beta release from the R290 family of drivers. For more information, read the 290.53 driver article on GeForce.com.

This driver package supports GeForce 6, 7, 8, 9, 100, 200, 300, 400, and 500-series desktop GPUs as well as ION desktop GPUs.

New in 290.53

Optimizations for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Increases performance by up to 25% in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim vs. 290.36 drivers (measured with GeForce GTX 560 at 19x10 Ultra – Indoor Scene). Results will vary depending on your GPU, system configuration, and in-game location.
Updates the NVIDIA Control Panel ambient occlusion support for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim to a higher performance profile.
Added new 3D Vision laser sight /crosshair options to better match Skyrim crosshairs.
For a full Skyrim tweak guide, visit GeForce.com.

NVIDIA SLI

Adds SLI profiles for Trine 2, WRC 2: FIA World Rally Championship 2011, and Afterfall: InSanity.

Version 290.53 Highlights

This section provides highlights of version 290.53 of the NVIDIA Release 290 Driver for
Windows Vista/Windows 7.

What’s New in Release 290
What’s New in Version 290.53
Limitations in This Release
Advanced Driver Information

What’s New in Release 290
The section summarizes the following driver changes in Release 290:


Control Panel

Adjust Desktop Color Settings page
Color settings are now preserved across system reboots, logins, and fast user
switching for GPU/displays that support HDMI infoframes.
Set Up Multiple Displays page
Slight change in the menu process for setting up Clone mode–displays are now added
to a ‘Clone group’.
NVIDIA Ambient Occlusion
Added NVIDIA Control Panel ambient occlusion support for
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3.

NVIDIA Surround

Enabled NVIDIA Surround support for Intel X79 SLI‐certified motherboards.
NVIDIA SLI
Added or updated SLI profiles for Crysis 2, Heroes and Generals, Inversion, Stronghold 3,
3D Vision
Added support for 3D Vision over native DisplayPort 1.1 connection ‐ available on
BenQ XL2420T and BenQ XL2420TX monitors.
Added or updated the following 3D Vision game profiles
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 ‐ rated Good
Cang Sheng ‐ rated Good
Diablo 3 ‐ rated Good
Fei fei ‐ rated Good
Final Combat ‐ rated Goo
L.A. Noire ‐ updated rating to 3D Vision Ready
LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5‐7 ‐ rated Fair
Qian Nv You Hun Online ‐ rated Good
QQ Xi You ‐ rated Good
Sonic Generations ‐ rated Good
Xian Tu ‐ rated Good
Yong Bing Tian Xia Online ‐ rated Good
The Adventures of Tintin: The Game ‐ rated 3D Vision Ready
Ignite ‐ rated Good
Orcs Must Die! ‐ rated Good
PT Boats ‐ Knights of the Sea ‐ rated Good
PT Boats ‐ South Gambit ‐ rated Good
Stronghold 3 ‐ rated Good
Trine 2 ‐ rated 3D Vision Ready
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Hi to all, installed 290.53 and works fine.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
For sli usage, this new driver seems to be better. In MW3 it utilizes both cards better, and load is more even:

Compare to my above results where one card was barely passing 70% usage.
Edit: they also fixed the sli profile issue.
 

gtech

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Thanks for the hard work everyone, especially anatolymik.

I tried the latest version of the HyperSli. It stared out smoothly, I can enable the SLI in
the NVIDIA control penal. I can see both of my GTX460's working with the GPU-Z. However,
2 issues came up after it. I don't think it is the problem with the HyperSli but I would like to
get your feedback

- got green flickering in StarCraft2, I haven't installed other games yet so this is still under debug.
I got a SLI bridge from Fry's (Rhino!?) It is cheap and looks cheap, too.... Can it be a problem?

- 2nd issue concerns me more. After I got SLI working, I tried to shutdown the computer but it
rebooted right away. I found many articles on web regarding this issue but none of the resolutions
works for me. Just want to get your feedback before I undo the SLI. My build includes

INTEL Core2 Quad Q9550
ASUS P5E Deluxe (supporting CrossFire only)
Window 7 x64 Ultimate
Galaxy GTX460 GC 768MB X2
OCZ ZX series 850W PSU


I think I have read all of the articles in this thread and did not see anyone got P5E Deluxe MB
working. Can it be the MB?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Your motherboard should be fine. Do not try to overclock your video cards as much in sli as you would with a single card. Try the newest 290.53 driver.
 

gtech

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Your motherboard should be fine. Do not try to overclock your video cards as much in sli as you would with a single card. Try the newest 290.53 driver.
The thing that I noticed is that P5E deluxe has 2 PCIe x16 slots and the document does not
say it will be x8 in dual GFX setting. Maybe this is the issue?

I will try the new driver. However, I don't think it matters since I cannot shutdown the
PC even in the SAFE MODE. (with 2 GFX on)
 
Last edited:

DeahSeed

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD x4 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Water cooled
Memory 8 Gigs corsair xms 3
Video Card(s) 2 gtx 470's
Storage 2 TB
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch LED
Case Cooler Master HAF 912 full tower
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 950 Watt
Ok this may be a little off topic but i have had to rma one of my gtx470's got a new one back today and it's doing the same thing as the old one it runs 10'c hotter then the other one so i am thinking it may be the mobo or could it be the cpu cooler cause it sits almost on top of where the graphics card is. Also hyper sli works great so far.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
44
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts
Hi guys i'm new here..nice thread anatolymic i'm very interesting to do sli on x48
I have these systems specs:
Asus P5E64WS EVO
4GB Corsair dominator
And 2x Asus 9800GTX+
Windows 7 64Bit
i tried lots way to do sli but still not working:banghead:can someone help me plz?
I tried hypersli slipatch modded drivers but nothing happend:cry::cry::cry:




Soz for my english
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
44
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts
here a screen
 
Last edited:

snipe

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Ok this may be a little off topic but i have had to rma one of my gtx470's got a new one back today and it's doing the same thing as the old one it runs 10'c hotter then the other one so i am thinking it may be the mobo or could it be the cpu cooler cause it sits almost on top of where the graphics card is. Also hyper sli works great so far.
Are you running 2 monitors? And if so are they on the same card? I have same issue, but when I remove one monitor they are the same.

I have same issue, DO NOT ALT TAB. It seems to be ONLY ea games that do this, also if your game starts in WINDOWED mode it crashes.
 

DeahSeed

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD x4 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Water cooled
Memory 8 Gigs corsair xms 3
Video Card(s) 2 gtx 470's
Storage 2 TB
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch LED
Case Cooler Master HAF 912 full tower
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 950 Watt
Nope only one monitor
 

hegugi

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Korea (Republic of,)
help me

Are you running 2 monitors? And if so are they on the same card? I have same issue, but when I remove one monitor they are the same.



I have same issue, DO NOT ALT TAB. It seems to be ONLY ea games that do this, also if your game starts in WINDOWED mode it crashes.

yeah i am using dual monitors and i have tried everything about monitors.

i think the real problem is that there are no fps difference between 'sli mode' and 'non sli', especially in bf3. now i am using one card as 'phys X' and this show better fps and this making me really sad. GTX560TI as phys X!!! OMG!!!
 

hegugi

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Korea (Republic of,)
yeah i am using dual monitors and i have tried everything about monitors.

i think the real problem is that there are no fps difference between 'sli mode' and 'non sli', especially in bf3. now i am using one card as 'phys X' and this show better fps and this making me really sad. GTX560TI as phys X!!! OMG!!!
fixed fps problem by updating same gpu bios, but sitll BSOD after "alt+tab"
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
44
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts
Someone have a solution?
Maybe are the 4 pci express the problem?:confused:
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
121 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy - Versilia
System Name Water Damage Inc.
Processor AMD Phenom X6 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Full watercooled EK W.B. - Aquacomputer Gmbh. CPU-MB-VGA
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR 3 8gb 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) P.O.V. GTX 570 U.C. - EVGA GTX 570 S.C.
Storage SSD vertex 2 64 Gb - SSD Agility 4 128 Gb
Display(s) ASUS VE278Q
Case CoolerMaster CM690 Nvidia edition
Audio Device(s) Built in MB
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1350W
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
Ciao parliamo italiano giusto?
Hai installato lo sli bridge?
Hai installato hypersli 0.7?
All'avvio scegli win 7 hypersli?
Hai installato driver aggiornati?
Non conosco la tua mainboard, hai 2 slot 16x o 8x?
Ti ricordo che hypersli funziona solo se la mb supporta virtualization
Technology. Altrimenti installa slipatch e modded drivers,
che ahime credo siano obsoleti.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
44
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts
Grazie per la veloce risposta:toast:

la mia cpu supporta la VT e per il momento hypersli sembrerebbe funzionare(all avvio di win mi dice che è attivo) ho provato con molti driver e adesso ho gli ultimi (i 290.53) ma lo sli ancora non funziona.
Prima di provare con win 7 ultimate 64Bit ho provato anche con XP X64 ma non funzionava neanche li.
Ho testato Slipatch e driver modificati ma niente:banghead::banghead:
La mobo ha 2 pciexpress 16x e 2 a 4x, attualmente le schede sono entrambe sulle porte 16x(quelle blu per intenderci) collegate con un ponte sli...........help!!!
La mobo è questa...
 
Last edited:

hegugi

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Korea (Republic of,)
Grazie per la veloce risposta:toast:

la mia cpu supporta la VT e per il momento hypersli sembrerebbe funzionare(all avvio di win mi dice che è attivo) ho provato con molti driver e adesso ho gli ultimi (i 290.53) ma lo sli ancora non funziona.
Prima di provare con win 7 ultimate 64Bit ho provato anche con XP X64 ma non funzionava neanche li.
Ho testato Slipatch e driver modificati ma niente:banghead::banghead:
La mobo ha 2 pciexpress 16x e 2 a 4x, attualmente le schede sono entrambe sulle porte 16x(quelle blu per intenderci) collegate con un ponte sli...........help!!!
La mobo è questa...
SaZ, did u check "VT-d"?

go to bios, advance -> cpu configuration-> Intel virutalization Technology (=vt-d) enable-> save and exit

after that u will get boot selection(normal and sli mode), select sli one.