• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HyperSLI (Enabling SLI on non-sli motherboards)

SaZ

Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts

Matze/O²

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Processor 2x Intel Xeon E5530
Motherboard EVGA Classified SR-2
Cooling Watercooling
Memory 24GB Hynix DDR3-1333 ECC
Video Card(s) 2x Zotac GTX580 AMP2 3GB @ SLI
Storage 1x Seagate 7200.11 500GB, 8x WD Caviar Black 1TB @ LSI 3ware SAS 9750-8i
Display(s) 3x Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW @ NVIDIA Surround
Case Lian Li PC-90B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
What do you have for monitors?
I've three Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW.
Two of them are the second version with a dynamic contrast of 50.000:1 and one is the first version with a dynamic contrast of 20.000:1.
But is that really the problem?

Regards
 

SaZ

Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts
Hi guys with P5E64WS EVO and a pair of 9800GTX+ in sli the nvidia whql 285.85 seems to be better than the 290.53, 190.62 and 195.62 , gpu loading is balanced well, better score and frames in the benchmarks.

Nice one anatolymic for the sli with different videocards:toast:
 

Matze/O²

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Processor 2x Intel Xeon E5530
Motherboard EVGA Classified SR-2
Cooling Watercooling
Memory 24GB Hynix DDR3-1333 ECC
Video Card(s) 2x Zotac GTX580 AMP2 3GB @ SLI
Storage 1x Seagate 7200.11 500GB, 8x WD Caviar Black 1TB @ LSI 3ware SAS 9750-8i
Display(s) 3x Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW @ NVIDIA Surround
Case Lian Li PC-90B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
I've two screens attached. The first one without SLI and the second one with SLI enabled. (both without the second CPU, because of incompatibility with the motherboard)

I'm still not able to activate NVIDIA Surround and I don't know why... :(
 

Attachments

aldon

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
@anatolymik my SLI is not active after using a cleaner, remove any OC, reinstaled drivers and HyperSLI. Same BSOD as before.

What now? :)
 

aschampion

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
I'd like to report a successful installation using HyperSLI 0.7:

Asus P5E WS Pro (X38)
EVGA GTX 460 1GB
PNY GTX 460 1GB XLR8

using latest beta drivers (290.53)

Note that it didn't work until I updated my BIOS from 0507 to 1203, though that simply could be because the flashing process cleared a wrong setting the CMOS.

Thanks so much for this patch!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.35/day)
@anatolymik my SLI is not active after using a cleaner, remove any OC, reinstaled drivers and HyperSLI. Same BSOD as before.

What now? :)
first of all check your system for stability. start with cards. test them separatively.
 

SaZ

Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
71 (0.02/day)
Location
Italy
System Name SGC K2 -K1
Processor Intel 4790K -Intel Q9650
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS- Asus P5E64WS EVO X48
Cooling SGC Prototype-EK 240 HF+ 2x GTX295 single pcb Aquacomputer
Memory Mushkin Redline- Corsair dominator 8GB 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Asus GTX980 DC2OC -2x Asus ENGTX295 QuadSli with DifferentSLiAuto v1.1
Storage Corsair Force GS240GB(Games+Programs)+Seagate 2TB(Storage)-OCZ Vertex 3 60GB(OS)
Display(s) 2X Samsung Syncamster P2250+Acer V243H - Acer X193w
Case Corsair 900D-Buffetti...a 13 years old case
Audio Device(s) Integrated sound card is enough for both
Power Supply Corsair TX750M-Coolermaster 650W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Win 7 Ultimate X64
Benchmark Scores K1 score Unigine Heaven dx10 2731 pts 3DMark Vantage (CPU@4GHZ-RAM@7-8-8-24) 23417 pts
I'd like to report a successful installation using HyperSLI 0.8:

Asus P5E WS Pro (X38)
EVGA GTX 460 1GB
PNY GTX 460 1GB XLR8

using latest beta drivers (290.53)

Note that it didn't work until I updated my BIOS from 0507 to 1203, though that simply could be because the flashing process cleared a wrong setting the CMOS.

Thanks so much for this patch!
Hi aschampion did you use the hypersli for the P5E64 WS EVO mobo?
 

aschampion

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Hi aschampion did you use the hypersli for the P5E64 WS EVO mobo?
No, I used the vanilla HyperSLI version.

I haven't checked the functionality of any PCI-X expansion cards since installing HyperSLI, which would be the major feature distinguishing the P5E WS from other Asus X38 mobos.
 

bigboy19_07

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
i've downloaded hyper sli ver 0.7 beta in the first page and install it. then i get an error, when i go to the bios page (by pressing DEL in boost state), my keyboard and mouse are freezed :(( and in Hyper SLI mode, i cant use any of USB device (example for WD My book):(( . help me plz, anyone...:((

here is my system:
i7 2600k
asus p8p67 le b3
8gb gkill bus 1600
sparkle gtx 460 1gb
evga gtx 460 1gb

thanks for reading... and sorry for my bad english...:((
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,433 (0.35/day)
i've downloaded hyper sli ver 0.7 beta in the first page and install it. then i get an error, when i go to the bios page (by pressing DEL in boost state), my keyboard and mouse are freezed :(( and in Hyper SLI mode, i cant use any of USB device (example for WD My book):(( . help me plz, anyone...:((

here is my system:
i7 2600k
asus p8p67 le b3
8gb gkill bus 1600
sparkle gtx 460 1gb
evga gtx 460 1gb

thanks for reading... and sorry for my bad english...:((

post screenshot of HyperSLI CP
 

bigboy19_07

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
post screenshot of HyperSLI CP
i've fixed the bios error and for the error "cant use usb device", im gonna re-install windows... let's see if that error still exist...:(

and one more thing... when i get that error, im still using asus bios 1013... the latest bios is 1104... i wonder if the old bios version is not compatible with hyper sli 0.7:(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
1,268 (0.38/day)
Processor Core i9 10940X @ 4.9GHz
Motherboard Asrock Taichi XE
Cooling Custom loop, 2x360mm radiator,Lian Li UNI, EK XRes140,EK Supremacy EVO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill RGB 3600MHz C16
Video Card(s) Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 2050 core 8200 mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB,XPG SX8200 Pro,Micron 1100 2TB SSD,OCZ Vector 512GB,750GB Samsung,1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer X34P, Acer XB270HU
Case LianLi O11 Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro RGB
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
I've two screens attached. The first one without SLI and the second one with SLI enabled. (both without the second CPU, because of incompatibility with the motherboard)

I'm still not able to activate NVIDIA Surround and I don't know why... :(
All your monitors support the same resolution correct? How do you have the monitors hooked up to the video cards?
 

Matze/O²

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Processor 2x Intel Xeon E5530
Motherboard EVGA Classified SR-2
Cooling Watercooling
Memory 24GB Hynix DDR3-1333 ECC
Video Card(s) 2x Zotac GTX580 AMP2 3GB @ SLI
Storage 1x Seagate 7200.11 500GB, 8x WD Caviar Black 1TB @ LSI 3ware SAS 9750-8i
Display(s) 3x Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW @ NVIDIA Surround
Case Lian Li PC-90B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
Yes, they support and are set to the same resolution and refresh rate.

I've two monitors connected to the first card and one to the upper DVI-Port of the second card.

But even if the monitors aren't connected the right way (even though they are) the option should be displayed in the control panel, right?!
 

gtech

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
i've fixed the bios error and for the error "cant use usb device", im gonna re-install windows... let's see if that error still exist...:(

and one more thing... when i get that error, im still using asus bios 1013... the latest bios is 1104... i wonder if the old bios version is not compatible with hyper sli 0.7:(
For my case, (x48 chipset and 2 GTX 460 768MB ) I have to reset the BIOS to
get over the shutdown problem. (system reboot right after shutdown)

For me, just updating the BIOS is not enough.

Maybe you can try the BIOS reset before the re-installing. good luck.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
1,268 (0.38/day)
Processor Core i9 10940X @ 4.9GHz
Motherboard Asrock Taichi XE
Cooling Custom loop, 2x360mm radiator,Lian Li UNI, EK XRes140,EK Supremacy EVO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill RGB 3600MHz C16
Video Card(s) Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 2050 core 8200 mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB,XPG SX8200 Pro,Micron 1100 2TB SSD,OCZ Vector 512GB,750GB Samsung,1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer X34P, Acer XB270HU
Case LianLi O11 Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro RGB
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Yes, they support and are set to the same resolution and refresh rate.

I've two monitors connected to the first card and one to the upper DVI-Port of the second card.

But even if the monitors aren't connected the right way (even though they are) the option should be displayed in the control panel, right?!
All monitors using DVI?

Not sure why it won't work with you, I only have 2 monitors so I can't really test it for you (and see if it's just a HyperSLI problem or not).
 

Matze/O²

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Processor 2x Intel Xeon E5530
Motherboard EVGA Classified SR-2
Cooling Watercooling
Memory 24GB Hynix DDR3-1333 ECC
Video Card(s) 2x Zotac GTX580 AMP2 3GB @ SLI
Storage 1x Seagate 7200.11 500GB, 8x WD Caviar Black 1TB @ LSI 3ware SAS 9750-8i
Display(s) 3x Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW @ NVIDIA Surround
Case Lian Li PC-90B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
Yes, all three monitors are connected via DVI.
 

litldrmrby2003

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I have a Z68Ap-D3 Motherboard wich does not support sli and also would like to use my 2 quadro FX4600 in sli mode.Is this possible Thans in advance
 

cutlerbeast

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Thank You!

I registered just to thank you for this wonderful software.

I'm running on an ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (Crossfire support only), however, with the SLI BETA Patch 1.5, I was able to run my GTX 560Ti Twin Frozr(s) in SLI. There was only one problem, all drivers past 275.33 gave me flashing video while gaming (as well as in Unigine Heaven). I tried every possible fix throughout google/Toms/Guru3d, etc, to fix this issue and nothing worked. I ordered a new SLI bridge - NOTHING. I randomly stumbled upon this thread, immediately removed SLI BETA Patch 1.5, and installed HyperSLI 0.7 and am now cruising with SLI using Nvidia 290.53 drivers.

I have been ripping my hair out for days/weeks/months, THANK YOU!
 
Top