1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I am thinking of upgrading...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 3991vhtes, Jun 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    What should I do? I have been on slow computers for a while (my only good one lasted about 3 weeks). I am not sure on what I could get for about $300. Note: I don't need to worry about a keyboard, monitor, mouse, or speakers.
     
  2. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I reckon a cheap AM2 nforce motherboard (check my sys specs)and then a 3600+X2. That would really help you. Of course you'd need new RAM. For cheap fast memory I'd use the Corsair XMS2 modules. DDR2 667 or 800.
     
  3. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    save the money and wait for more....
     
    aximbigfan says thanks.
  4. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Save up about $1000 and get yourself a computer like mine.
     
  6. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I can't do that one, J-Man, I need something inexpensive, because I am only 14, and I don't have a job yet. I've already got $75 saved up for it.
     
  7. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Go build a cheap AM2 system. You can get like 40dollar mobo and 40dollar cpu and spend the rest on case, psu, hdd, dvdrw, etc.

    Then later on you can slowly upgrade your system.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Only 14? Haha.
     
  9. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    Well what are you planning on running on this new system?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Any games?
     
  11. raven009 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i would get a x2 3600 brisbane for $60 and a biostar tforce 550 board which are really good for over clocking and are pretty cheap. You can get decent ram for cheap now. you could buy a gig and then buy more later.

    I have a gig of g.skill memory that i am going to sell, pm me if you are interested.
    It is this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231099
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    the X2 3600+ Brisbane. BioStar Tforce 550 series mobo (I think thats what its called) and the Gskill Black heat spreaders.

    All in all it should be about, oh.....lets see:
    G.Skill Micron D9's $109.99

    AMD X2 3600+ Brisbane Socket AM2 $69.99

    BioStar TForce 550 skt AM2 $79.99, $69.99 with $10 MIR.

    All this is $259.97. Im sure with the AM2 combos they have going on you can get it a little cheaper. This is without a graphics card, so I hope this is fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    There ya go! this is perfect. Now a vid card after wards...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I plan on running Office 2003, Windows XP Home, Nero 6 Ultra Edition, Alcohol 120%, TuneUp 2007, iTunes, and some other things.

    Yes. I plan on playing The Sims 2 and all EPs, Battlefield 2 and all EPs, Medal of Honor, NFS Most Wanted, The Movies, RollerCoaster Tycoon 1, 2, and 3, and some more with steep specs.
     
  15. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    well those aren't to heavy, maybe just a x800 later?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    is the x800 nvidia or ati?
     
  17. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
  18. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    Maybe less on the video card as he isn't running a lot of graphic heavy games, and more proc? if there is still a cheap AM2 one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Sorry, JC316, $300 is my budget. I saw the part "That would put you in at just under $400".
     
  20. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    is that nvidia? or ati?
     
  21. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    So for starters, get like a x800 (ATI) and a lower like 450 or 480 PSU. That should knock you down a few bucks:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
  23. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
  24. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,048 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Venice
    No, you need PCI-X for that card. What everyone said about the brisbane is what you want. What ever that cheap board, as long as it has AM2 and that cheap 2 gig kit is good. All the links are up above. And don't forget about that thanks button :) Edit: You need DDr2(which has already been linked above too)for AM2 systems.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Screw DDR400, go with DDR2. It's cheaper. Go get a damn cheap AM2 motherboard, Sempron, 1gig stick of DDR2, cheap psu/case, cheap hard drive and dvdrw and enjoy one cheap ass decent computer.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.