1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I believe my sensors are a little damaged...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Velvet Wafer, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    I just used Hardware Monitor, to find a proof for the strange voltage spikes,OCCT showed (Spikes that kill)
    the desktop screen, is a few minutes old, the other values are from 2 tests within an hour, a few days ago.
    but i talk too much:
    pictures say more than thousand words;)

    i dont believe my PSU is shot, even the temperature sensors play mad. what do you say?

    thanks for help,guys and lads!:D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    maybe time for a RMA your sensors seems all defunked i doubt its your PSU
     
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    the board is brand new.... nooooo :D
    can i rma for such a bit?

    at least im now happy, it cant be the psu: i crunched at 3.937 ghz with 0.00 vcore;),stable!!

    the longer it stays on, the weirder the readings get

    everest works normal tho, never encountered a problem, besides that the socket sensor is flawed, and is always between 46-54 no matter how cold the cores are. in the biostar 790gx a2+, it was the socket sensor, that was always cooler than the cores....
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,665 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    779
    Location:
    TEXAS
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    as long its only a glitch... i shouldt be too concerned,or should i?
     
  6. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I've always gone to the fact that you can never trust the voltage sensors 100%. I'd recommend testing with a voltmeter.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    software voltage readings are completely useless
     
    Kenshai says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i have a multi here... where to measure? how to do it safely?:)
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    black lead on the meter to a black wire on a molex plug, and move the red wire to what you want to measure.

    orange = 3.3V
    red = 5V
    yellow = 12V
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    thanks, just measured 12v and 5v on my core duo and my x2 939
    there both 11.74-5
    5 volt is 5.0-5.1 on the 939 and 4.9-5.0 on the core duo
    just to measure the main rig, but i will try that after i showered. stay tuned!;)
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    11.75v is low.

    not "omg its gunna catch fire!" low, but "that PSU is either cheap, old, or feeling the strain" low


    test the 12V again, but run a CPU test program like linpack


    The OCZ gameX and stealthX lines actually have a little doodad inside them you can turn with a screwdriver to adjust the voltages, FYI
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    theyre both the same psu, 400 watt codegen,generic with 2 12v rails, one 14A and one !8!A

    my main psu is a ModXstream, didnt tested it yet... does it has this "doodad" also? and where to find it?
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    modXstream might, it looks like a little blue box with a white 'square' a screwdriver would fit in.

    [​IMG]

    this is an image from the rear of the old powerstream line, you can see the pots (potentiometers) up top. the colors are inverted to whats in my gameX/stealthX units however. the newer units only have one, which raises 5V and 12V at the same time (so measure both, before and after - a little high on one, is better than low on both)

    P.S - 11.75V aint so bad from a codegen, they're umm... cheap crap. lets see how it fares under load, i've seen 11.2V (and it was incredible, but that PC was stable)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    they were both under crunching load;). the intel rig even has a 9500gt, that gets powered over the slot. the 939 has onboard. to the main PSU: the really new modxstream doesnt seem to have that. not even a single poti:shadedshu
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    they're on the inside, under the fan. sometimes covered in hotglue to lock them in place
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you mean, in the casing of the psu itself? then it has to be off for that,eh?;)
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i turned mine off, opened it up, went into the BIOS and hooked the meter up. with the fan blowing on it from the side, i then tweaked it til i got good readings from the meter.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    wont i lose my RMA-rights then? there is a protective sticker....
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    so dont do it til its out of warranty, or the voltages go bad :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    besides from these humoristic droppings to even 0.0
    the voltages on all rails are more than good. only 5 V is exactly 5V,sometimes 4.9, but there is also the biggest pull i believe (see my current VGA,it wont pull much from the 12v, that wont go below 12.233, normally its 12.354;))
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    12.35 is high actually.

    the best PSU's are within say, 11.98 to 12.03


    12.35V is just under 3% above 'stock', which some PSU's use as a trigger point to shut down (Over voltage protection)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    under load, it is between 12.223 and 12.246, that should be ok,hum?:)
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,465 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its ok, just that if you ever have issues with sudden shutdowns - look at the PSU voltages
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i forgot to say: the modxstream has every kind of protection. it would have instantly shut down, when real issues were present. i once shorted the 12v line,a few weeks ago, and it protected itself, even if it sounded like its death. i had to hardreset, and to wait one minute, to deactivate the protection:)

    EDIT: i just had generics before. i know the "Bang of death", and the symptoms ;-)
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  25. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,260 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    hm .gif this has got me interested now why?
    because my hw monitor says this wtf
    [​IMG]
    mah i trust my multi meter :D it says the same as all of my other testin stuff
    oh and my multimeter is the n56fu monitor with a usb output sadly no optical isolation:wtf::shadedshu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)