• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I cannot re-install "I am Alive"...pls help!

YawJr

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
So my HD died and it was the location of "I am Alive". Now when I try to install it again, I have no luck. Uninstalling the game doesn't work and I managed to remove the entry, but I still cannot install the game. Is there a way to wipe it clean? Sorry if this is the wrong section.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#2
You said your HD died, and then you tell you tried to reinstall it on the same drive? You are confusing.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#3
His HD died, not HDD
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#5
I too am interested in the difference between "HD" and "HDD". Given the context, I'm inclined to believe OP is referring to his hard drive.
 

YawJr

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Yeah y'all it's my Hard Drive/Hard Disk Drive (same thing). What I meant was that, the HD I installed the game to originally has died (label "H"), and now I cannot install the game to any other Hard Disk on my machine.

The installer just hangs, but on my laptop it installed just fine (it's a first time install for the laptop). Guessing there might be some remnants causing the game to not install.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
Yeah y'all it's my Hard Drive/Hard Disk Drive (same thing). What I meant was that, the HD I installed the game to originally has died (label "H"), and now I cannot install the game to any other Hard Disk on my machine.

The installer just hangs, but on my laptop it installed just fine (it's a first time install for the laptop). Guessing there might be some remnants causing the game to not install.
Clean the registry with CCleaner and see if that helps. Even though you removed the entry in the control panel doesn't mean windows does not still see it installed.
 

YawJr

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
OK. I'll do that then. I cleaned the registry with TuneUp Utilities but from what I hear CCleaner must be better. Maybe Tuneup Utilities missed some things.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#9
For clarity, from now on, as mentioned, you really should abbreviate harddrive as HDD, not HD. For all we know you could have meant you were having problems with high resolutions or HD audio.

There are apps that can check for and sometimes even repair bad HDD sectors. The bigger HDD manufacturers have such tools, but there's also some companies that make their own, many have free versions of them.

Given the cause of this problem, you also probably should have posted it in the Storage forum, because it has to do more with a HDD problem than a game problem.
 
Last edited: