• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I can't get a decent overclock on my Q6600..Help!

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Specs to the left, it is in a P5N32-E SLI(680i). I just can't seem to get this thing to a decent overclock. I can get the FSB up to about 1300, but it is unstable even there, and it seems the P5N32 needs a very high NB vcore to even POST at that(1.5v) and I think the NB is overheating at that speed because the machine freezes shortly after POST, usually shortly after logging into Windows. Plus the northbridge heatsink is hot enough to burn my finger if I touch it for more than a second.

I don't know what to do. The vcore on my Q6600 is 1.5v, and temps are fine. That vcore should be more than enough and I don't think it is the problem. If I lower the NB vcore the machine won't even post.

I'd like to get the damn thing up to 3.0GHz, which would be a 1333FSB, but I can't even get it stable at 1300.:banghead:

Is the P5N32-E just not cut out for overclocking Quads?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#2
As usual, Nvidia chipsets run very hot. Newtekie, its obvious to me that the stock cooling solution was not designed with the intention to handle any form of overclocking. I'd immediately grab a cooling solution such as a thermalright HR-05 IFX and bolt a fan on it. I've seen how hot Nforce chipsets run and its somewhat scary :wtf:

Yeah...so the problem is just the cooling. Its more than capable, but the cooling isnt. (And this is a reason why I go with Gigabyte instead these days :p)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
The cooling solution on the ASUS is actually very good, especially with the optional fan strapped on it. I know the chipset runs hot, my eVGA 680i board was the same way. I don't mind the temps as long as it is stable, but it isn't, and the voltage required to keep it stable is insane.

Perhaps I just got a bad board, or a bad processor. I think I'll try RMAing the board and see if a new one helps any, I think I have an older PCB revision anyway, It's what I get for buying used parts. :(

I guess it could also be that I'm not using RAM on ASUS's approved list, but I've never had a problem with that before...

Edit:After do some reading it seems a lot of people are having the same problem I am with this board. Or more specifically the 680i chipset in general, it just doesn't like to overclock quads. Which sucks since I use SLI and it is pretty much my only solution. Looks like I'll be buying a 780i board when they come out. Hopefully nVidia has got their act together.
 
Last edited:

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#4
I'm going to say it's the motherboard.

I have also learned this lesson about 680i + quad core.

I'm getting rid of mine and buying a P35 board instead - probably the Abit IP35 pro.

If you're not going to use SLI, I just wouldn't bother with any 680i board to be honest

edit - oh, I see you DO use SLI.. i'm not sure what you can do in this case. Probably just wait for the new board and hope they are better.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#6
The cooling solution on the ASUS is actually very good, especially with the optional fan strapped on it. I know the chipset runs hot, my eVGA 680i board was the same way. I don't mind the temps as long as it is stable, but it isn't, and the voltage required to keep it stable is insane.

Perhaps I just got a bad board, or a bad processor. I think I'll try RMAing the board and see if a new one helps any, I think I have an older PCB revision anyway, It's what I get for buying used parts. :(

I guess it could also be that I'm not using RAM on ASUS's approved list, but I've never had a problem with that before...

Edit:After do some reading it seems a lot of people are having the same problem I am with this board. Or more specifically the 680i chipset in general, it just doesn't like to overclock quads. Which sucks since I use SLI and it is pretty much my only solution. Looks like I'll be buying a 780i board when they come out. Hopefully nVidia has got their act together.
Revision A1 EVGA 680i SLI mobos are supposed to clock quads well.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
I had an A1 before, it wouldn't do anything over 1300FSB either.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#8
Well, looking around on other forums, there are reports of fsb holes when OCing quads on 680i. Just weird random ranges that won't work, but even going above them will. If you absolutely can't set it manually to 333fsb or better, you could try the 1333fsb BSEL mod.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#9
680i's seem to have an awfully hard time clocking quads. i believe nvidia's working on a patch or something for it.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#10
the latest bios for nvidia reference design boards (most of them, alas not the asus ones) is supposed to really help with overclocking quads, there was an article over on bit-tech a while back:-

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2007/08/12/refreshing_the_nforce_680i_sli/7

plus, as wile e said theres lots of fsb holes with 680's (and 650's), these seem to cause problems with dual cores too, theres a semi relevant article below, and while its a different board and dual chip, i found memory performance drops at the same fsb's as they did on my 650 board, so it seems relevant to all 6 series nvidia boards

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainboards/display/abit-in932x-max_9.html
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#11
i had black holes all over the shop with mine (nf650/c2d) some only 12mhz some as much as 60mhz.

caused me some head aches untill i found out what they were, try dropping your multi and going higher on the fsb.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#12
In some boards, the Q6600 is a bitch to overclock. Take my board (eVGA NF68 A1 680i) and the Striker Extreme for example. They can overclock a C2D like mad. However, if you plop a quad core in there, they cant OC them for shit. Your motherboard is probably doing the same as the aforementioned boards. Might want to try a different one. Look into a P35 or x38 chipset. Only go x38 if you arent doing SLi as it doesnt support SLi.

eVGA just release another BIOS update for me not to long ago. It was to help support overclocking with a quad core. I am now able to get to 3.2GHz which is a feat I wasnt able to get to before, however, my temps soar when running prime95 so I cant even tell if it will be stable enough unfortunately. Damn B3 chips!:banghead: I cant wait for the Penryn CPU's in Jan.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
I tried the latest BIOS on my eVGA A1 board before switching to the P5N32-E. I just can't get the CPU stable at anything over 1300FSB on any of my nVidia 600 series boards. Unfortunately I need SLI, so I can't switch to something else.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#14
You would think there would be more chipsets out there that can do SLi other than 680i.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#15
I'm in the same boat...I haven't built my quad system yet but I want a board that will do SLI and OC...
 

Aguiar

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
PORTUGAL
Processor Prescott 2.8@3.16 # P4 3.2@3.5
Motherboard ASUS P4C800 Deluxe # MSI 915p Neo2 Platinum
Cooling Stock # Stock
Memory 4x512 PC3200 KINGSTON @DUAL # 1.512 TwinM /533
Video Card(s) 9800SE 128 R350@385/340 # X600HDMI
Storage 200 Gb # 2x80 GB RAID (0)
Display(s) CRT 17" SyncMaster # CRT 17" PHILIPS
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 # ONBOARD
Power Supply 580 w # 350 w
Software Windows XP Pro/SP2 & UBUNTU 7.10
#16
yeah,B3 sucks...we should be able to get refund from intel or get a G0...there´s a huge diference bettwen.Lets all make noise at Intel door..."we want G0...we want G0"...maybe theyll trade it.
I can go till 3,10 but i think Mem´s are cutting me...i run it stable but can´t run PI 1.5Xs more than once , it will go " not convergent with SQR5".
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
Well my P5N32-E went south during a BIOS flash, so now I am waiting for ASUS to RMA the damn thing. I could put my eVGA board back in the machine, but I really don't want to do another format and re-install only to have to do it again when the new P5N32-E comes. Luckily I have a few spare machines laying around. :)

I'm in the same boat...I haven't built my quad system yet but I want a board that will do SLI and OC...
Yeah, it sucks. I would be perfectly happy with a stable 3GHz and I can't even get that.

yeah,B3 sucks...we should be able to get refund from intel or get a G0...there´s a huge diference bettwen.Lets all make noise at Intel door..."we want G0...we want G0"...maybe theyll trade it.
I can go till 3,10 but i think Mem´s are cutting me...i run it stable but can´t run PI 1.5Xs more than once , it will go " not convergent with SQR5".
The difference is only really in overclocking, which voids you warranty anyway...:laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#18
yeah,B3 sucks...we should be able to get refund from intel or get a G0...there´s a huge diference bettwen.Lets all make noise at Intel door..."we want G0...we want G0"...maybe theyll trade it.
I can go till 3,10 but i think Mem´s are cutting me...i run it stable but can´t run PI 1.5Xs more than once , it will go " not convergent with SQR5".
The only thing keeping me from sending a complaint to Intel is that Penryn will be here in two months. (which I intend on getting a Q9450)
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#19
680I(evga a1, striker extreme,etc.) + A quad core= not a happy realationship.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#20