• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I can't get my #!^$(*^ sound working!

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#1
Look at this screen shot. Both my onboard sound and my pci sound card are installed. Yet I can't get sound with either one. I know there's a possibility of a conflict, but with either one disabled, the other will not work.:banghead:
 

Attachments

newmodder

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
669 (0.15/day)
Likes
7
Location
british columbia
System Name Gamer
Processor amd phenom quad core 9950 black edition
Motherboard msi ms-7309
Cooling 120mm front,120mm rear
Memory 2gigs ddr2 800
Video Card(s) BFG gtx 260 maxcore
Storage wd 160gig sata2 hd
Display(s) LG 20in widescreen
Case USP 100
Audio Device(s) onboard Logitech x-530 5.1 spkrs
Power Supply Antec Neo 550watt
Software windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#2
no sound

first i would check the bios and see if the onboard is disabled, then try and change the irq..according to your pic the snd card is installed but in the sound properties it says no sound device installed...my guess is a IRQ conflict.try ununstalling your onboard sound drivers, i had to do the same thing my onboard sound is the ATI express 200, and it had a conflict with my audgly zs.
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#3
I have had onboard disabled, but only when I'm trying to get the sound card working. I'll try uninstalling the onboard drivers.
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
#4
Well you've probably done this, but when you disable one or the other, go into sound properties and hit "Primary sound device" or Primary input device or whatever that tab is, and click on the PCI card. I really can't figure out why sound is SOOOO tempermental, I mean everything in this day and age is digital and works for you, but all sound (even digital) acts analog and only works when it wants.
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#5
Well uninstalling onboard didn't help. AMDCam, are you talking about the "Sounds and Audio Devices" under control panel?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
yes i bealive he is then you go into like "audio" and set up your deafault divice recording midi etc.....
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#7
It won't let me, all the drop down menu's are faded out.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
hmmm i had that problem......i solved it by installing drivers from the site and my buddy had the same problem but it was fine before i told him to restart his computer it did and windows auto installed it mkae sure its hooked up right its trivial but sometimes....uninstall all of the soundcard drivers (if it was installed before) hook the card up(id download the drivers before all this) turn the computer on see if it detecs it...then run your drivers and follow the instructions.....and no im saying no ones an idiot but my card did this too me for about a week and i was $#%^$%:shadedshu :mad:
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#9
Alright I'll give that a shot.

Edit: That didn't fix it.
 
Last edited:

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
#10
Solaris kinda said it in that post but, did you uninstall the built-in drivers (the ones for the motherboard) instead of just the PCI ones?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#11
I have only skim read what you have there mate, but try this;

In you BIOS disable the On-Board Sound Device and leave your sound card left in the PCI slot, connect all the relevant connections to the connection slots in the sound card on your PCI slot.

When you boot up your computer and go into the control panel, select "Sounds and Audio Devices", then select the "Audio" tab.

Make sure to set the "Sound playback" and "Sound recording" to the same device. Hit apply then you should be set to hear your sounds and music.

Also, what sound card are you using and what drivers are there?

If you still have trouble, I could setup a WinVNC (RealVNC) sever with you, a private one so I can try and sort it out on the fly, basically I could try to get your sound working while on my computer but working on yours. -- ONLY DO THIS IF YOU TRUST ME, I have never broke a promise in my life and I will never do so because I wouldn't live with myself... Though I will tell you now, I promise that nothing will be touched on your computer other than the primary goal for me to help sort out your sound, that will be it.

I would advise you to decline if you wasn't sure about the procedure and I am not making you do anything, all I want to do is help you out and hopefully get your sound working as it should :)

Good luck and hope you get it sorted out soon!

--Lee
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#12
Well I've pretty much done both everything you and AMDCam have said. I can't change anything iunder the Audio tab because it's all greyed out. It's fine with me if you want to setup a server like that. I've done it before with other friends of mine. My AIM screen name is wtf8269 if you need to contact me beforehand. I just don't want to spend all night on it becuase I have an outline to type for a pursuasive essay for english sometime tonight. (Doing it on why the X1800 XT is a better buy than the 7800GTX. :laugh:)

PS. Don't start a flame just because I said that. They're both awesome cards and we all know that.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#13
wtf8269 said:
Well I've pretty much done both everything you and AMDCam have said. I can't change anything iunder the Audio tab because it's all greyed out. It's fine with me if you want to setup a server like that. I've done it before with other friends of mine. My AIM screen name is wtf8269 if you need to contact me beforehand. I just don't want to spend all night on it becuase I have an outline to type for a pursuasive essay for english sometime tonight. (Doing it on why the X1800 XT is a better buy than the 7800GTX. :laugh:)

PS. Don't start a flame just because I said that. They're both awesome cards and we all know that.
Hehe, sureo =)

As for the cards; personal preference mate =) -- Just glad you like the card non-the-less :)

Will contact you soon enough and will try to give you a hand!

--Lee
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#14
Did you try not having the Karajan audio module pluged in. You don't need to have them on the board. Just incase there is a conflict.

-Dan
 
Last edited:

regg187

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
152 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
Ariz- USA
#15
I've had the same thing happen, get your cd for your MoBO and reinstal; your onboard sound drivers and prog and also your chipset drivers. restart , make sure your pci card is out and and enable your on board in the bios. when thats done then install your pci card normally
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#16
Well I spent about an hour and a half on a VNC server with Israar and we went over most of the things suggested here. I put my Audigy into my CS:S server and it worked like a charm. That's with onboard sound drivers already installed on that server, and the onboard sound still enabled in the BIOS. *Sigh* I (probably with the help of somebody else) will figure it out eventually. Lol man I spent my entire break just getting this thing to work, haven't played games or even listened to music since Wednesday.

For now I'm going to take a nap then wake up at some point, install my printer drivers, install MS Office, then type my outline for English.:ohwell: