• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

i cant get windows 7 to install please help

saverio

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
i have a mdg computer d915gav motherboard 3.0 ghz dual core proc 1 gigz ram 256 gig hdd
and an ati 512 mag video card and running xp pro sp2 and i cant get windows 7 to install i instaled windows 7 on my laptop and it works fine but wont even run on the mdg computer specs are


Intel 915 G
Compatible Processors Intel Pentium 4, Intel Celeron D
Front Side Bus Speed 800 MHz
Technical Features
Integrated Input/Output Ports USB 2.0 x 8 • Serial Port x 1 • RJ45 Lan Port x 1 • PS/2 Mouse x 1 • PS/2 Keyboard x 1 • Parallel Port (ECP/EPP/SPP) x 1 • Floppy Port x 1
Expansion Slots PCI Express x16 x 1 • PCI x 4 • PCI Express x1 x 2
Storage Controller Type(s) DMA/ATA-100 (Ultra) x 1, Serial ATA x 4
South Bridge Chip Intel ICH6
Processor
Socket Type Socket LGA775
Max supported CPUs qty 1
Memory
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Number of Memory Slots 4 x 184 Pin DIMMs
Supported RAM speeds 400 MHz • 333 MHz
Max Supported RAM 4 GB
Audio / Video
Audio Output Line Out
Integrated Audio Realtek ALC860
Audio Input Microphone Jack • 1 x Line In
Video Out Ports 15 Pin D-Sub VGA port x 1
On Board Graphic Processor Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900
Communication
Networking Type Ethernet, Fast Ethernet
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
please fill out your system specs on the UserCP.
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#4
i could use any help i can get
I had the same problem, what i had to do in the end was run the install from inside windows and point it at the drive i wanted the OS on and included updates, and it worked.

Still unsure why it didnt work from disk at startup
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
i could use any help i can get
You can't get any, start by telling why you can't install it, does it give some error? Does it hang at some point? Unless you give some useful information my theory is that killer bees are draining power from your CPU in order to resurrect their dinosaur god.

What I was able to do, is move this thread to the right forum.
 

saverio

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
i get an error when i try to install windows 7 from xp and if i try from boot up my computer just restarts over and over
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#7
be more specific if you can.

we need hardware info as well as the error.

i can tell you most of my OS install problems have been caused by bad dvd/cd drive, bad ide/sata cable, bad OC, or bad instal dvd/cd.
 

Duffman

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
1,011 (0.28/day)
Likes
66
Location
Mt. Pocono, PA
System Name Black Knight
Processor Intel Xeon W3520 @4.2Ghz
Motherboard evga Classified 760
Cooling Prolimatech Mega Shadow with Dual Noctua NF-P12 fans
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 (3gb x 2) 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Vapor-X
Storage Corsair P128 SSD for OS, 4 Samsung 500GB in RAID10 For Storage
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240HD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800d Twin Zalman ZM-MFC Plus fan controllers
Audio Device(s) HT|OMEGA CLARO
Power Supply Antec Truepower 1000
Software Win7 64bit ultimate
#8
I had an issue when i installed on our older laptop. I was trying to install 64bit and it kept erroring. I installed 32bit and it was fine. you might try that.