• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I don't understand 4870x2?

Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
Okay I don't know if someone has made this thread. AMD has claimed that they haven't even used the full potential of the 4870x2, i don't know if it's due to the bandwidth limit of the pcie 2.0, but they said that there is an unactivated bridge or something that links the two chips together for better performance. I want to get a 4870x2 right now I got the money, but is it a wise investment or should I wait for a 5870x2, if the rumors are right they are making one. please give me your feedback
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (0.82/day)
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
Okay I don't know if someone has made this thread. AMD has claimed that they haven't even used the full potential of the 4870x2, i don't know if it's due to the bandwidth limit of the pcie 2.0, but they said that there is an unactivated bridge or something that links the two chips together for better performance. I want to get a 4870x2 right now I got the money, but is it a wise investment or should I wait for a 5870x2, if the rumors are right they are making one. please give me your feedback
Its called Sideport

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Sapphire/HD_4870_X2/
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
that's the name but is the sideport enabled on the card now or is it still dorment
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,985 (1.11/day)
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor i9-9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370XP SLI, BIOS 15a
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory XPG GAMMIX D30 2x16GB DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G400s Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
Its called Sideport
Yes, and supposedly they could not get it to function properly... it would only increase the memory bandwidth which isn't even a limiting factor with the card right now from what I have read. But I'd imagine a 5870X2 might use it and it may help its performance but thats of course not on the radar just yet.

Paying full price for any card right not would be a real bad idea. Buy whatever you can find with the deepest discount until the next generation IMO. :toast:


that's the name but is the sideport enabled on the card now or is it still dorment
Its not even enabled. ;) Its only found on the onboard solutions from what I understand. It increases memory bandwidth I believe.
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,027 (2.62/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
iirc, Fitseries3 found out you gotta have the X2 in CF with another 48xx card or 4870x2 card for sideport to be enabled, but don't necessarily quote me there. Not too sure, but at this point, it's a damn good card, depends on how much you game, what res you game at and if it's something you feel is worth the investment in comparison to other products that may be in a similar price range or a better bang for the buck with a little less performance. I've seen some for sale used at good prices.

:toast:
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,514 (1.04/day)
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
stay with what u have or check the for sale section and buy used
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
well i got a 30" most the the time i game at 2560x1600 but i don't max everything out
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,985 (1.11/day)
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor i9-9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370XP SLI, BIOS 15a
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory XPG GAMMIX D30 2x16GB DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G400s Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
well i got a 30" most the the time i game at 2560x1600 but i don't max everything out
Sounds like you could use a GTX 295 with that kind of a display! :eek:
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,687 (0.81/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
it would also dappen micro-stuttering a great deal, since the 2 chips would communicate directly instead of having to communicate between the crossfire chip onboard which increases latency. This is where the bandwidth increase comes from, so in a sense the sideport would increase performance as FPS drops wouldn't be as frequent
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
Sounds like you could use a GTX 295 with that kind of a display! :eek:
I would perfer to at least keep one 4850 in my system to go cfx with the 4870x2 if i got one or sell both of the 4850s and grab a 4870
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,985 (1.11/day)
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor i9-9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370XP SLI, BIOS 15a
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory XPG GAMMIX D30 2x16GB DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G400s Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
it would also dappen micro-stuttering a great deal, since the 2 chips would communicate directly instead of having to communicate between the crossfire chip onboard which increases latency. The bandwidth increase i believe comes from the 2 chips sharing the 2GB of onboard memory, whereas currently with dual chip, single PCB designs, it's 1gb per chip on the card. Same thing with nvidia cards, GTX295 and 9800GX2 it's 1gb per chip.
What indicates a collective use of RAM on dual GPU solutions associated with Sideport? I have never heard that before..... :confused:
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,687 (0.81/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
What indicates a collective use of RAM on dual GPU solutions associated with Sideport? I have never heard that before..... :confused:
for some reason i was thking ring-bus was part of sideport....my brain dissapoints me sometimes :slap: :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
569 (0.13/day)
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name Built By Me
Processor Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5.1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 32GB (2 x 16) GSkill Ripjaws V DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Evo NVMe
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG @ 165 Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S2
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud Alpha
Power Supply 850W Seasonic Platinum
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G413 - RomerG Switches
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Check my system specs, I have a 4870x2, and it is wonderful! GPUz tells me that my sideport is enabled, but is unsure with Vista 64, so I don't really know if it is on or not. But, I can play Crysis Warhead at 1920x1200, all enthusiast settings, 8x AA, and 16x AF at about 28-35 FPS.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,687 (0.81/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
Check my system specs, I have a 4870x2, and it is wonderful! GPUz tells me that my sideport is enabled, but is unsure with Vista 64, so I don't really know if it is on or not. But, I can play Crysis Warhead at 1920x1200, all enthusiast settings, 8x AA, and 16x AF at about 28-35 FPS.
this was mentioned previously about the sideport being enabled according to GPU-Z, but w1z stated that it may be enabled, but that doesn't mean there's data using the connection.

source:http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=69546
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
well i don't play crysis, to me it's just a benchmarking tool lol, i don't even think it was ever meant to be a real game, I think i was made to tell use that technology is awesome.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
but I think I just might wait until the 5870x2 comes out and use the money i have right now to put some extra on my bills
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,687 (0.81/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
well i don't play crysis, to me it's just a benchmarking tool lol, i don't even think it was ever meant to be a real game, I think i was made to tell use that technology is awesome.
and what DX10 is capable of, which no other developers seemed to have taken advantage of, though thk god cause there'd be barely any playable games if they had.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.09/day)
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
and what DX10 is capable of, which no other developers seemed to have taken advantage of, though thk god cause there'd be barely any playable games if they had.
that's a good point because having a 30" monitor would be a waste if i was playing everything at 1440x900 lol
 
Top