• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I experience half the FPS of one card with a crossfire R9 290 setup.

Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
41
Likes
25
System Name Cyberpower PC
Processor i7-3770k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16GB DDR3 HyperX Savage @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290 4GB XFX DD
Storage 3TB ( 1x1TB + 1x2TB ) @ 7200rpm
Display(s) 3x Acer XG270HU 1440p (Freesync Capable)
Case NZXT H440
Audio Device(s) Logitech G510 Keyboard + Integrated MB.
Power Supply XFX 850W XXX PRO Edition - Silver Certified
Mouse Mad Catz Cyborg RAT 7 Contagion(White) / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#1
Hi, Everyone.

When I am in crossfire mode, in the games I play, I experience roughly half the FPS from one card...

E.g. Crysis 3 one card: 80-100fps
two cards: 40-60fps
Battlefield 3 one card: 80+fps
two cards: ?40fps

I've tried drivers 14.6 and 14.7
I've tried restarting the computer many times
I've tried reseating the cards
I've also tried swapping the cards around so that each card has had some time in the primary slot, and each card works fine on its own.

i5-2500 @ 3.3GHz
12GB @ 1333MHz
XFX 850W Silver
Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
2x R9 290 XFX DD
ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Resolution: 1920x1080

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Regards,
Jared.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
please fill out your *complete* system specs in your user control panel.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
Run GPU-Z and check that each card has at least an X8 PCI-E lane
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
now that the specs are in, cant see any issues with the hardware. should be good enough.


GPU-Z or afterburner would be neccesary here to make sure the cards are running at the correct clocks, and the right PCI-E bandwidth.


you're running fullscreen yes, not windowed?
 
Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
41
Likes
25
System Name Cyberpower PC
Processor i7-3770k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16GB DDR3 HyperX Savage @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290 4GB XFX DD
Storage 3TB ( 1x1TB + 1x2TB ) @ 7200rpm
Display(s) 3x Acer XG270HU 1440p (Freesync Capable)
Case NZXT H440
Audio Device(s) Logitech G510 Keyboard + Integrated MB.
Power Supply XFX 850W XXX PRO Edition - Silver Certified
Mouse Mad Catz Cyborg RAT 7 Contagion(White) / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#5
Hi, guys...

Thanks for your replies and trying to assist me with my problem.

The cards are running at x8 each, so that shouldn't be a problem.
The clocks seem to be fine, too - no issues there, and yes, I am running things at full screen : )

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
care to take some photos of the setup? show us where the monitor is connected, the cards in the slots, etc.

try and make them clear, because blurry photos wont help us at all.
 
Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
41
Likes
25
System Name Cyberpower PC
Processor i7-3770k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16GB DDR3 HyperX Savage @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290 4GB XFX DD
Storage 3TB ( 1x1TB + 1x2TB ) @ 7200rpm
Display(s) 3x Acer XG270HU 1440p (Freesync Capable)
Case NZXT H440
Audio Device(s) Logitech G510 Keyboard + Integrated MB.
Power Supply XFX 850W XXX PRO Edition - Silver Certified
Mouse Mad Catz Cyborg RAT 7 Contagion(White) / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#7
I hope these are clear enough and that they're what you were looking for.
I apologise for the lack of cable management. I could do more, but there isn't much space in that case.


 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
damn, i cant see anything wrong there. its all connected as it should be.


all we can go by from now is GPU-Z - card 1 was running at 1x1.1 ? unless its at idle, thats a problem.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
776
Likes
406
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#9
like mussels said first card in gpu-z running at pciex1-1.1
mussels was too quick
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
try these:


1. Advanced Power Settings in control panel




2. Disable ULPS


Both of those *could* help get the PCI-E back up to the right speeds.
 
Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
41
Likes
25
System Name Cyberpower PC
Processor i7-3770k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16GB DDR3 HyperX Savage @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290 4GB XFX DD
Storage 3TB ( 1x1TB + 1x2TB ) @ 7200rpm
Display(s) 3x Acer XG270HU 1440p (Freesync Capable)
Case NZXT H440
Audio Device(s) Logitech G510 Keyboard + Integrated MB.
Power Supply XFX 850W XXX PRO Edition - Silver Certified
Mouse Mad Catz Cyborg RAT 7 Contagion(White) / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#11
It does seem to change between x8 2.0 and 1x1.1 randomly. Maybe because ULPS is active? I was only browsing the internet at the time, so maybe that's why.
It does work fine when it's under load, though. I ran the render test in GPU-Z and it was reporting both cards at x8 2.0
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#13
the 1x1.1 is a power saving feature for idle or low clock states. Literally, I see nothing wrong in GPU-Z or in the way the PC is set up. Visually, there is absolutely nothing wrong, and software isn't reporting issues either.

It may be worth having Afterburner open, and check the GPU Usage figures for each GPU core during a render test or something. Then we can see if each GPU is at 99% usage during the render, despite only providing half the performance, or if each GPU is being bottlenecked down to 50% during the test.

EDIT: By the way, there is a VRM_1 issue with XFX 290 DD cards. After reaching a certain temperature, DD 290/290X's will severely throttle performance. They literally crap themselves because the VRM cooler doesn't even exist. May be worth noting the temps. Maybe airflow is bad.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
41
Likes
25
System Name Cyberpower PC
Processor i7-3770k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16GB DDR3 HyperX Savage @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290 4GB XFX DD
Storage 3TB ( 1x1TB + 1x2TB ) @ 7200rpm
Display(s) 3x Acer XG270HU 1440p (Freesync Capable)
Case NZXT H440
Audio Device(s) Logitech G510 Keyboard + Integrated MB.
Power Supply XFX 850W XXX PRO Edition - Silver Certified
Mouse Mad Catz Cyborg RAT 7 Contagion(White) / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#14
In reply to 'basco': I haven't flashed the cards... I haven't even overclocked any since I received them both. They've been kept at their factory clocks.
I ran the GPU-Z render tool and I had afterburner up, too. The GPUs seem to be fine - they were at 100% ( at times they dropped a few percent, but they would always be either 100 or near 100, but I guess that's normal)


I then went ahead and played Crysis 3 for about 15-20minutes.... There is still no difference
I even edited the cfg file a while back so that I could get more fps (which is why it may look a bit different than what it usually looks like)
I should note that this is being played in full screen (1920x1080) and the graphics are on the lowest settings.


The temperature for GPU 1 maxed out at about 77/78 degrees
The temperature for GPU 2 maxed out at about 70/71 degrees

The GPU usage whilst in-game fluctuates quite a lot, but as far as i'm aware, that's quite normal.


I still have no idea why it's being like this :/
Thanks for all those who have replied so far. Hopefully I will get more replies in the future...
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#15
By the looks of those graphs, Crysis 3 CPU usage is bottlenecking your Crossfire. Your GPU's are using whatever they are fed, and unfortunately Crysis 3 is not so nice to CPU's even at the high end. My best guess is the GPU's are starved of data due to the IPC and clock of the CPU. Mulitple GPU's always need a stronger CPU than just one.

You don't see this in the render test, simply because it is not CPU bound in the slightest, so the crossfire is fed all the data as efficiently as possible.

EDIT:
"Originally Posted by Lowki View Post
if it is a pirated copy of crisis 3 that doesn't have patches you have to disable vsync and renable it for crossfire to kick in. That's how the game was for me vanilla when it first came out. Another reason I don't pirate games.
Or alt-tab out of the game then enter the game again, same thing. A simple reset ofr display-related stuff for CrossFire to kick in on Fullscreen with this game. And it happens with me even after it's fully updated. I have it on Origin.


I've searched a number of forums regarding crossfire on Crysis 3, and they all complain of similar issues. Single GPU 90%, multi GPU 50%. CPU is bottlenecking everything in Crysis 3 even at low resolutions, I would imagine it is a similar affair in BF3 but not quite so bad.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
41
Likes
25
System Name Cyberpower PC
Processor i7-3770k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16GB DDR3 HyperX Savage @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290 4GB XFX DD
Storage 3TB ( 1x1TB + 1x2TB ) @ 7200rpm
Display(s) 3x Acer XG270HU 1440p (Freesync Capable)
Case NZXT H440
Audio Device(s) Logitech G510 Keyboard + Integrated MB.
Power Supply XFX 850W XXX PRO Edition - Silver Certified
Mouse Mad Catz Cyborg RAT 7 Contagion(White) / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#16
To be honest, that does seem like a plausible explanation....
The CPU wasn't monitored at that time/in those pictures, but I played Crysis 3 again and monitored the CPU usage.


They are pretty much running at maximum all the time.
I guess it doesn't help that my CPU only delivers 2.0 x16 when the R9 290 can utilise (not necessarily fully) 3.0 x16
It's a shame, really. I was told by quite a few people (e.g. posts from Tom's Hardware) that the i5-2500 wouldn't be a problem with crossfire R9 290... :(

Since I don't want to buy a new motherboard, and assuming that it is the CPU that is the problem, then would an i7-3770k be a good alternative?
That seems to be the best CPU for a third gen range.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386
Likes
115
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#17
In the scond GPU-z screenshot that card looks like its not a a 290 but something else like a 290x instead. Maybe that is why they are not playing nice.
 
Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
41
Likes
25
System Name Cyberpower PC
Processor i7-3770k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H55 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16GB DDR3 HyperX Savage @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290 4GB XFX DD
Storage 3TB ( 1x1TB + 1x2TB ) @ 7200rpm
Display(s) 3x Acer XG270HU 1440p (Freesync Capable)
Case NZXT H440
Audio Device(s) Logitech G510 Keyboard + Integrated MB.
Power Supply XFX 850W XXX PRO Edition - Silver Certified
Mouse Mad Catz Cyborg RAT 7 Contagion(White) / Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#18
In the scond GPU-z screenshot that card looks like its not a a 290 but something else like a 290x instead. Maybe that is why they are not playing nice.
Yea, it does that sometimes. As far as I'm aware, the R9 290 and the x version are extremely similar and are based off the same PCB/architecture type which is why it shows those figures(the x version is basically a dumbed down version of the 290). That only happens when the GPU is in idle mode, though. When it is being used, it corrects itself to the specs of an R9 290.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#19
To be honest, that does seem like a plausible explanation....
The CPU wasn't monitored at that time/in those pictures, but I played Crysis 3 again and monitored the CPU usage.


They are pretty much running at maximum all the time.
I guess it doesn't help that my CPU only delivers 2.0 x16 when the R9 290 can utilise (not necessarily fully) 3.0 x16
It's a shame, really. I was told by quite a few people (e.g. posts from Tom's Hardware) that the i5-2500 wouldn't be a problem with crossfire R9 290... :(

Since I don't want to buy a new motherboard, and assuming that it is the CPU that is the problem, then would an i7-3770k be a good alternative?
That seems to be the best CPU for a third gen range.
I checked 3 forums, all of them detailing a 2500(K) coupled with 3 different sets of crossfire, all of which had the same issue as you. CPU is bottlenecking the crossfire quite badly, but not single GPU's. In ALL other cases, your system is fine for everything. I doubt you will see the same issues anywhere but Crysis and BF. Unfortunately both games are coded to run a million things on the CPU. Even my system doesn't handle Crysis 3 very well on high settings. 3770K would be a good upgrade, depends on whether you think it's worth it for those two games.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
so there you go, its CPU limited.


try and close down any running apps in the background that could be making it worse.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,137
Likes
5,278
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#21
someone give me a free copy of Crysis 3 and i can test the CPU side for you with my behemoth, if you feel a bit rich, some 290s would be awsum to kthnxbai.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#22
JaredzzC,

Try overclocking your RAM to about 1600Mhz+ area, and your CPU to the 4GHz area.

Don't worry if its 100% stable at first, just stable enough to run Crysis 3 and BF3 for about 10 minutes or so. Within that time I want you to conduct the same tests you did above. If your crossfire issue stops, then you know for sure it was due to CPU limitation. Then you can work on stabilising the overclock or upgrading the CPU.

If the FPS issue in CF persists, then you know its another issue, software, drivers OS etc.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,137
Likes
5,278
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#23
JaredzzC,

Try overclocking your RAM to about 1600Mhz+ area, and your CPU to the 4GHz area.

Don't worry if its 100% stable at first, just stable enough to run Crysis 3 and BF3 for about 10 minutes or so. Within that time I want you to conduct the same tests you did above. If your crossfire slowdown stops, then you know for sure it was due to CPU limitation. Then you can work on stabilising the overclock or upgrading the CPU.

If the CPU slowdown doesn't stop, then you know its another issue, software, drivers OS etc.
Its gonna be harder to OC his CPU because its a non-k model. probably squeeze another 200mhz out of it.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#24
JaredzzC,

Try overclocking your RAM to about 1600Mhz+ area, and your CPU to the 4GHz area.

Don't worry if its 100% stable at first, just stable enough to run Crysis 3 and BF3 for about 10 minutes or so. Within that time I want you to conduct the same tests you did above. If your crossfire issue stops, then you know for sure it was due to CPU limitation. Then you can work on stabilising the overclock or upgrading the CPU.

If the FPS issue in CF persists, then you know its another issue, software, drivers OS etc.
without a K chip, he wont be able to OC that high. i got a pretty awesome OC out of my i5 2400, but ~500Mhz is normal.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#25
without a K chip, he wont be able to OC that high. i got a pretty awesome OC out of my i5 2400, but ~500Mhz is normal.
500Mhz is enough to conduct the experiment. The OP has nothing to lose at this point.