• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I give up.I need help.

Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor Athlon x4 640 @ 3.4
Motherboard AsRock 970 Extreme3
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4GB x 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Dual X Boost
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Power Supply FSP Aurum 750 Watts
Software Windows 8 64bit
#1
Bought the fx8320 earlier. I checked the bios on initial boot and it got detected as an 8320. My asrock 970 extreme has an updated bios of 1.70 and should detect and be compatible to vishera. After i restarted the pc i got nothing. No video, no post and no beep. Tried swapping the athlon 640 back and still nothing. I removed everything from the case and bench tested it atop a non static foam and still nothing. Tried reseating everthing ang even used another power supply and got the same thing. I removed the cmos ang reset the jumper.

I cant figure out what's wrong. Is my mobo dead? I did notice the northbridge getting hot after a few mins of it doing nothing. Or is my card dead?

Thank you.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#2
What Bios version are you running?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor Athlon x4 640 @ 3.4
Motherboard AsRock 970 Extreme3
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4GB x 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Dual X Boost
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Power Supply FSP Aurum 750 Watts
Software Windows 8 64bit
#3
1.70 last time i checked. No beeps even with the athlon 640. Thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
Coulb be PSU or ram just decided to go south or the CPU does no llike the ram. Take the battery out for a little while. No on board GPU? CPU 12 volt connected?. CMOS reset in the correct posistion?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor Athlon x4 640 @ 3.4
Motherboard AsRock 970 Extreme3
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4GB x 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Dual X Boost
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Power Supply FSP Aurum 750 Watts
Software Windows 8 64bit
#5
Tried 2 80 plus psu. I tested the board without the ram and no beep which is wierd. I also checked the cmos jumper and unplugged the power cord and still nothing. No onboard gpu.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#6
seems simple but you sure all the I/o, speaker in the right place or not come off?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
784 (0.25/day)
Likes
968
Location
Romania
System Name Asus ROG G752VY
Processor i7-6700HQ
Memory 24GB DDR4 2133mhz
Video Card(s) nvidia 980m
Storage Samsung SSD 850 pro 2TB+1tb hdd 7200rpm
Software Mageia 6 + Windows 10
#7
Well, put on the table only motherboard with first cpu(640, because you know that worked), only 1 stick of ram,psu and vga, remove anything else and try to boot(before give a reset, remove battery for 10minutes without psu attached on mbd), if it is not star/boot, I will say that mbd it is dead, for rma use...
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#8
The FX8320 could be DOA.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#9
Sounds like the board to me, much greater probability of that going broke than anything else if the PSU has been checked.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor Athlon x4 640 @ 3.4
Motherboard AsRock 970 Extreme3
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4GB x 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Dual X Boost
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Power Supply FSP Aurum 750 Watts
Software Windows 8 64bit
#10
The mobo speaker is definitely plugged in the right place. And i am sure it is working. Tried the athlon bench as well and it is a no go. Guess the mobo is dead. :-(
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,403 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#11
You said you have a AsRock 970 Extreme3.

Do you still have the BIOS file? Can you make sure that you indeed used the BIOS for the Extreme3 and not the Extreme4?

I used to have an MSI 975X Platinum Power Up Edition board. The board said nothing about being a "Power up edition" board and I accidentally flashed the wrong BIOS to the board because apparently MSI thought it would be a good idea to have two products with the name.

"975X Platinum"
and
"975X Platinum Power Up"

:banghead:

Either way, I guess it doesn't matter how it happened because it sounds like it has to go back now. :(

1.70 last time i checked. No beeps even with the athlon 640. Thanks.
Is that what you flashed in or what was already on it?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#12
Bought the fx8320 earlier. I checked the bios on initial boot and it got detected as an 8320. My asrock 970 extreme has an updated bios of 1.70 and should detect and be compatible to vishera. After i restarted the pc i got nothing. No video, no post and no beep. Tried swapping the athlon 640 back and still nothing. I removed everything from the case and bench tested it atop a non static foam and still nothing. Tried reseating everthing ang even used another power supply and got the same thing. I removed the cmos ang reset the jumper.

I cant figure out what's wrong. Is my mobo dead? I did notice the northbridge getting hot after a few mins of it doing nothing. Or is my card dead?

Thank you.
Keep reseating the heatsink.

Some motherboards have safety features which means if it thinks* the heatsink isn't on securely enough it won't boot.

Also reseat the memory one stick at a time.

Sometimes, if the memory sticks are not making proper contact it won't boot.


I doubt it's a hardware fault (mobo or PSU) because if it was working fine before it would be a hell of a coincidence it's failed now. Although its possible your fx8320 was DOA.

Edit:

If your FX 8320 initially booted. Then it wasnt DOA.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor Athlon x4 640 @ 3.4
Motherboard AsRock 970 Extreme3
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4GB x 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Dual X Boost
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Power Supply FSP Aurum 750 Watts
Software Windows 8 64bit
#13
I flashed the bios around a month ago while i was using the athlon so i'm sure it ain't the bios. I got it off asrock's site.

I'm somewhat agreeing with dent with it not being a hardware problem. I better try and screw the default am3+ and use the stock heatsink. I dont have a budget yet to replace the mobo. :-(
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#14
Bought the fx8320 earlier. I checked the bios on initial boot and it got detected as an 8320. My asrock 970 extreme has an updated bios of 1.70 and should detect and be compatible to vishera. After i restarted the pc i got nothing. No video, no post and no beep. Tried swapping the athlon 640 back and still nothing. I removed everything from the case and bench tested it atop a non static foam and still nothing. Tried reseating everthing ang even used another power supply and got the same thing. I removed the cmos ang reset the jumper.

I cant figure out what's wrong. Is my mobo dead? I did notice the northbridge getting hot after a few mins of it doing nothing. Or is my card dead?

Thank you.

I do not know which 970 extreme motherboard you own, but I'm guessing it's the first model of the extreme3 (since the others already support the cpu). But if it had the P1.50, it would support the CPU. What version did you have earlier, before the P1.70?

Also, the power on and reset cables, are they in their correct position on the pins of the motherboard, and are the cables ok? I have experienced sometimes a cable that was caught between the chassie and the side panel door, so it actually was shorted. Even managed to place the reset and power cables incorrectly on the pins - so nothing ever happened when I tried to power on the system..

EDIT: Just a thought - but howabout static electricity?
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,403 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
I doubt it's a hardware fault (mobo or PSU) because if it was working fine before it would be a hell of a coincidence it's failed now. Although its possible your fx8320 was DOA.
I'm somewhat agreeing with dent with it not being a hardware problem. I better try and screw the default am3+ and use the stock heatsink. I dont have a budget yet to replace the mobo. :-(
How do you figure? If you didn't change the hardware and you only flashed the BIOS and resetting the CMOS doesn't work, how is it not the motherboard again?

I don't mean to be an ass, but I don't possibly see how it could be anything other than the motherboard at this point.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,688 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,278
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#16
. I better try and screw the default am3+ and use the stock heatsink. I dont have a budget yet to replace the mobo. :-(
I agree, try the stock heatsink to see if that changes anything....

Check to make sure that the backplate didn't short out anything on the back of your board when you pull the CM V8 heatsink off.
 

anoobarak

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
102 (0.04/day)
Likes
13
Location
Euroland
Processor AMD Phenom II 1090T BE @ 4030MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Samsung Green 8GB @ 1896MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 660Ti Power Edition 2 GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB; 1TB Samsung 2.5"
Display(s) LG Flatron E2241 21.5" LED
Case Thermaltake Commander MS-I Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#17
Check both CPU's if all the pins on them are okay. I've bent 2 or 3 pins on mine at some point and the computer wouldn't start either.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#18
How do you figure? If you didn't change the hardware and you only flashed the BIOS and resetting the CMOS doesn't work, how is it not the motherboard again?

I don't mean to be an ass, but I don't possibly see how it could be anything other than the motherboard at this point.
I didn't realise it stopped working immediately after the bios update. The OP didn't mention flashing the bios.

I'm under the impression v1.70 is the default bios?
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#20
are you use you have a suppoted GPU?

it will not work otherwise. 9 series chipsets dont carry onboard.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.40/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#21
Reading comprehension 101, people... OP flashed to P1.70 (official) about a month ago, and the board happily chugged along with his Athlon II X4 640. He bought an FX-8320 and swapped it in, after which the board appears dead. OP claims that putting the 640 back in yields no results. Now can we be more productive?

Could it be that some thermal paste has gotten into the CPU socket during CPU swapping around? OP, are you absolutely sure all the power cables were properly connected when you tried to power on? Have you tried removing the motherboard from the case, and trying it with the minimum of connected components (CPU, GPU, one stick of RAM)?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#22
So there is no POST beep codes, no fans turning and no lights coming on?
Sure there is nothing shorting the motherboard anywhere?? Could even be just som debris that is conductive, I know that I have had that issue once in my life.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#23
Reading comprehension 101, people... OP flashed to P1.70
No need to patronise us. Our reading is fine.

The OP never explicitly said he flashed the bios in his original message. He said he flashed it later in post #13.


the board happily chugged along with his Athlon II X4 640. He bought an FX-8320 and swapped it in, after which the board appears dead.
Dude. The FX initially worked as he said on "initial boot and it got detected as an 8320" - Reading comprehension dude:slap:

Bought the fx8320 earlier. I checked the bios on initial boot and it got detected as an 8320.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#24
most definetly a dead board... i have rarely seen a healthy board giving no beeps, rather a lot of dead boards, that gave none at all anymore... in fact it was always my rule of thumb, to see if a board is dead...no ram for example produces a LOT of noise ;)
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor Athlon x4 640 @ 3.4
Motherboard AsRock 970 Extreme3
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4GB x 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Dual X Boost
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Power Supply FSP Aurum 750 Watts
Software Windows 8 64bit
#25
I'm under the impression v1.70 is the default bios?
1.2 was the orginal bios. I have had 1.7 for about a month before upgrading to 8320.

BTW it might be posible that i smeared a little thermal grease onto the socket in between changing cpus several times any way to check or clean that?
 
Last edited: