• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I have a pretty decent question about soundcards and PCI DACs

Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#1
I haven't used a sound card in almost 3 years since the rollout of HDMIs Audio streaming. I have a studio running an FL studio and I want to take the outputs of each and every track in FL Studio and pipe it out to my 20 channel Ramsa WR-T820B. With soundcards now having multiple outputs, Could each of these ports on a sound card be represented as its own playback device in windows? Like as in a situation where you are using both a set of headphones and speakers taking the sounds from different applications?



audiorouting.JPG
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,695 (4.31/day)
Likes
5,888
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#2
No -- Simply no. It wasn't designed for that.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#3

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,695 (4.31/day)
Likes
5,888
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#4
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#5
Can you write your own drivers for your soundcard?
My question in theory, Is how do I bring individual virtual channels into separate analog outputs using maybe one or two DACs or soundcards?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
27 (0.11/day)
Likes
10
System Name Main / Backup
Processor FX 8350 (ebay) / Athlon 64 x2 6400+ (ebay)
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA UD3 Revision 4.0 (ebay) / Abit KN9 (brother`s in law)
Cooling Stock Am3 heatsing with ziptied fan
Memory G.skill 2400 4GB x 2 TridentX (ebay) / 8GB Mix of G.skill and Corsair DDR2 800Mhz @ CAS 5 (ebay)
Video Card(s) XFX Nvidia 9800 GTX (ebay)
Storage WD Black 1 TB Sata 3 (retail)
Power Supply Corsair CXM 550W (retail)
#6
What are you trying to achieve?
You can record small tracks from Fl studio to .wav - like only kick, only keys, and so on, as many instruments as you have - then feed that to mixer... If you want to do final alignments, levels on mixer. But if its only a FL track, then finish it there export it to .wav - much higher quality (no need to worry about digital-to-analog converter). Only do the mixer way if you want to align it with band, or other hardware instruments.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#7
What are you trying to achieve?
You can record small tracks from Fl studio to .wav - like only kick, only keys, and so on, as many instruments as you have - then feed that to mixer... If you want to do final alignments, levels on mixer. But if its only a FL track, then finish it there export it to .wav - much higher quality (no need to worry about digital-to-analog converter). Only do the mixer way if you want to align it with band, or other hardware instruments.
Lets say I want each individual track from fl studio to be ran to each individual channel on my mixer, How do I accomplish this?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
27 (0.11/day)
Likes
10
System Name Main / Backup
Processor FX 8350 (ebay) / Athlon 64 x2 6400+ (ebay)
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA UD3 Revision 4.0 (ebay) / Abit KN9 (brother`s in law)
Cooling Stock Am3 heatsing with ziptied fan
Memory G.skill 2400 4GB x 2 TridentX (ebay) / 8GB Mix of G.skill and Corsair DDR2 800Mhz @ CAS 5 (ebay)
Video Card(s) XFX Nvidia 9800 GTX (ebay)
Storage WD Black 1 TB Sata 3 (retail)
Power Supply Corsair CXM 550W (retail)
#8
"Lets say I want each individual track from fl studio to be ran to each individual channel on my mixer, How do I accomplish this?"

There must be an option to export instrument by instrument in FL. Then export each instrument into a wav. If you trust your soundcard with d-t-a then play each wav and record it on your mixer (I am not familiar, but I assume they have storage capabilities? kind of again digital, catch 22? not using any reel tapes?) Once you have the wav, if you are unhappy with current d-t-a, you can always play it again on some other device and capture on that mixer again and easily substitute previos capture)
You may want to export it (and play for capture) in 24bit 96khz. If you used 44khz samples then it`s not useful, but if there are soft-synth-generators then higher than CD quality might be useful.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#9
"Lets say I want each individual track from fl studio to be ran to each individual channel on my mixer, How do I accomplish this?"

There must be an option to export instrument by instrument in FL. Then export each instrument into a wav. If you trust your soundcard with d-t-a then play each wav and record it on your mixer (I am not familiar, but I assume they have storage capabilities? kind of again digital, catch 22? not using any reel tapes?) Once you have the wav, if you are unhappy with current d-t-a, you can always play it again on some other device and capture on that mixer again and easily substitute previos capture)
You may want to export it (and play for capture) in 24bit 96khz. If you used 44khz samples then it`s not useful, but if there are soft-synth-generators then higher than CD quality might be useful.

I don't care for sample qualities, I am doing this so as in, I can use my mixer for further mastering

I am simply asking for a direct bridge between each track on fl studio and each track on my mixer. This isn't strictly for recording either and I don't want to bust my ass with exporting.

How would I run a 2.5mm Jack from my computer into my mixer is what I want to know. And each jack going to each channel on my mixer? How do I configure this
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
569 (0.15/day)
Likes
130
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#10
You might be able to do this with USB sound cards and virtual audio cable. Search for it on the net. One VAC is free, the other is paid.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,635 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,449
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#11
The software does not have this option.
And 2.5 mm ? I think you mean 1/4 or 3.5
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#12
The software does not have this option.
Elaborate, I know FL studio can output to individual Audio interfaces, the question is how do I do that 16 times over?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,635 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,449
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#13
Not at the same time from individual tracks
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#14
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,635 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,449
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#15
I'm not a professional sound engineer but why hypotheticly would you want to connect a studio mixer to another mixer?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,826 (1.66/day)
Likes
2,883
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#16
Forget about your analog mixer. FLStudio won't be able to stream individual tracks to individual outputs, nor does this idea make any practical sense.

Sell your mixer, gather all that cash you wanted to spend on half-a-dozen audio interfaces, throw in a few bucks for all the time, nerves and manual labor you've saved and just buy a mixer with both MIDI and analog interfaces. Less hassle and no chance of desync between audio cards (assuming that what you were asking is actually doable with consumer hardware).
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#17
I'm not a professional sound engineer but why hypotheticly would you want to connect a studio mixer to another mixer?
I would be connecting FL studio to the mixer so I can mix things alongside vocals and hardware instruments without spending a shitload of cash on audio interfaces.

Forget about your analog mixer. FLStudio won't be able to stream individual tracks to individual outputs, nor does this idea make any practical sense.

Sell your mixer, gather all that cash you wanted to spend on half-a-dozen audio interfaces, throw in a few bucks for all the time, nerves and manual labor you've saved and just buy a mixer with both MIDI and analog interfaces. Less hassle and no chance of desync between audio cards (assuming that what you were asking is actually doable with consumer hardware).
Who the hell sells a mixer with still functioning and perfectly good rupert neve pres? Consumer hardware cards don't get out of sync, Not to my experience anyway. I've ran multiple soundcards before without this effect being demonstrated. And IF I can't run fl studio to individual tracks why does FL studio support the functionality of doing it in the first place? Even WITH multiple channels at a time?


By the time I sold my mixer, I would be an old man getting calls from a Rupert Neve/RCA Museum wanting me to give it away
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,635 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,449
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#18
Audio interfaces are not that expensive
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
54 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
A dusty server room
System Name Dell Poweredge R810
Processor 4x Xeon X7560 @2.67
Motherboard R810 Proprietary motherboard
Cooling A cargo plane's worth of turbofans
Memory 128GB DDR3 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480
Storage 8x 100GB Intel D S3520 SSDs in RAID 10
Display(s) 3x Hisense 1080p 42" monitors
Case Dell Poweredge R810
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply 2x 1100w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Orion's Spark
Software Windows server 2016
Benchmark Scores No idea
#19
Audio interfaces are not that expensive
The word expensive varies on meaning for whomever you talk to. In my situation, I would want a decent audio interface. Get off this post...
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
27 (0.11/day)
Likes
10
System Name Main / Backup
Processor FX 8350 (ebay) / Athlon 64 x2 6400+ (ebay)
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA UD3 Revision 4.0 (ebay) / Abit KN9 (brother`s in law)
Cooling Stock Am3 heatsing with ziptied fan
Memory G.skill 2400 4GB x 2 TridentX (ebay) / 8GB Mix of G.skill and Corsair DDR2 800Mhz @ CAS 5 (ebay)
Video Card(s) XFX Nvidia 9800 GTX (ebay)
Storage WD Black 1 TB Sata 3 (retail)
Power Supply Corsair CXM 550W (retail)
#20
Top