• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I have an unusual, and frustrating problem

Simusar

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
I recently purchased new RAM and video card to improve my PC's gaming performance. Before the upgrade I had 6GB (3x2GB) of RAM installed into my Sabertooth x58 motherboard, but my system was showing only 4GB usable. I purchased a 24GB (6x4GB) package with the hopes of not needing to upgrade my RAM for a while. With the new RAM installed into the same motherboard, only 8GB shows up in BIOS and Windows(7 64bit) as available. Secondly, I upgraded my Nvidia GeForce 9800GTX to a GTX 580(3GB), and while the computer itself runs fine, every game I try to load up causes the computer to restart as soon as the ingame graphics load.

I've tried adjusting the power and speed setting for the RAM in the BIOS but have not seen either issue resolved. I have uninstalled the graphics card driver and reinstalled it, same effect, only now that the ingame graphics load faster, meaning my computer restarts sooner. I am planning to try testing my RAM slots to see if any are dead.

Any assistance/advice that can be given would be greatly appreciated.

Games tested so far are SWTOR and Deus Ex: Human Revolution (both caused the reboot).
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#2
Hmm. The RAM could be because you have faulty slots if it's consistently reporting less than what it should. Also, Home Premium has a limit of 16GB IIRC. With regards to the GPU issues, if it works fine with your 9800GTX, then it could be a faulty card. Download Furmark and run it to see if it reports massively high temps or something.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#3
Well on the computer restarting when you load a game right away points to me that perhaps your PSU is not up to the task(the 580 is pretty hungry)Filling in your System Specs would help with that.
I don't know alot about X58 and RAM handling other than it is Triple Channel. I do know that Windows 7 Premium has a 16GB Ram limit while Pro and Ultimate have 192GB limit.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
742 (0.32/day)
Likes
331
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#4
Ok. About your ram, im running 12g and last night it said 8g installed. Now b4 that it did say 12g. The only thing i did was plug a fan on the cpu fan motherboard pins. I took it off and now its back to saying 12g again. Dont ask why coz i dont know!. Anyway try that dude. Put your cpu fan on a diffrent motherboard fan pin.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
208 (0.09/day)
Likes
35
Location
Kilmarnock Scotland
System Name White Phantom
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.4ghz = 1.360-1.368 vcore
Motherboard asrock p67 pro (not pro3)
Cooling prolimatech megahalem with 2x nocuta in push pull (thanks to the 54thvoid) ;) , stock phantom fans
Memory 8gb pny optima ddr3 1333mhz cas 9... oc'd to 1600mhz 1.56v's
Video Card(s) asus 560ti 1gb TOP bf3 edition (stock 900mhz oc)
Storage primary seagate 7200rpm 80 gig, secondary maxtor 250gig ,external maxtor 750 gig
Display(s) samsung syncmaster p2450 via DVI @1080p 60hz
Case White and blue NZXT Phantom (carbon fibred sides/door)
Audio Device(s) onboard , philips AMBX pro speakers 80watts rms
Power Supply corsair TX 650 watt
Software windows 7 ultimate 64bit service pack 1 64bit
Benchmark Scores world record for most amount of times machine has pissed me off ....
#5
what psu are you using? maybe its not good or powerful enough to hold the 580 on load and therefore causing the machine to shut down. as for the ram is there a setting in bios thats like memory remap or something? i remember when i installed four gigs on my 775 socket only two came up useable the rest being reserved, this was untill i turned on remap and therefore all 4gigs was usable
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.82/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#6
Try running furmark without mem load, if rebbots its the PSU. If you dont get a BSOD or any error, its the PSU
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#8
It definitely sounds like a PSU problem. I checked a review of your PSU and it doesn't sound good. Here you have the conslusion of the review:

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Thermaltake-TR2-RX-750-W-Power-Supply-Review/902/9

Anyway I can't think that it's so bad that it can't power your card. You connected eight pin and six to the card? Try to put your card in another PCI-e slot. Remember that adding more RAM also increases the power consumption.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#9
give it some more qpi/vtt voltage that should get the ram working ... you need to add voltage once you start going over 8GB x3 sticks
remember on x58 the DRAM voltage needs to be within .5V of VCCIO/vtt (1.65v ram users beware you WILL permanently damage the cpu if thats not set right)
for 1.65v DIMMS the VTT/VCCIO MUST BE 1.20v!!!
 
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#10
The reboot issue is totally seperate BUT may be a side effect. The random restarts are due to the PSU.

Now as far as ram, try your stock cooler without an overclock on the cpu.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#11
The reboot issue is totally seperate BUT may be a side effect. The random restarts are due to the PSU.

Now as far as ram, try your stock cooler without an overclock on the cpu.
where are you fucking morons getting this crap from .. that has absolutely nothing todo with anything ..... he hasnt touched his cooler or the mounting screws ...
 
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#12
where are you people.. getting this crap from .. that has absolutely nothing todo with anything ..... he hasnt touched his cooler or the mounting screws ...
Didn't let me finish, was working on an edit. I have experienced random restarts like these before a few times and that was power supply. Also, missing ram & nonfunctioning ram slots on similar sockets LGA1155/1156/1366 is very possible due to tension on the socket. If there is a 3rd party cooler involved, try the stock cooler.

Also how do YOU KNOW if there isn't a 3rd party cooler on the cpu involved? As far as "getting this crap from" where do you get yours?
 

Simusar

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#13
I am and have been using the stock fan. I've taken half of the RAM out (meaning 12GB still installed) and it still only shows 8GB. I removed an old wifi card I wasn't using and my PC is still rebooting when the in-game graphics load. Also it seems that without a RAM chip in the 4th slot (some have referred to it as b2) my computer doesn't boot.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#14
Also it seems that without a RAM chip in the 4th slot (some have referred to it as b2) my computer doesn't boot.
OK so this tells me you have ram install @ A2 & C2? Try ram in ABC 1 set(dark brown Sorry, light green). Really think it all boils down to psu, but even on a stock cooler try reseating it with first trying the other set of dimms.

@OneMoar

If I offended you, I am sorry. I got other things on my mind right now also.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#15
sorry my tolerance for randomly poorly thought out posts is low lately ...
lets simplify
pull the 580 put the old gpu back in and lets see if we can get the ram stable I hightly doubt its the power supply looks more like IMC load stress or maby a bad IMC in the cpu .....
start with 2 sticks and test 2 and a time ...
 

Simusar

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#16
I'm in the process of testing each slot one by one with the same chip. So far the tan ones have worked but the brown ones haven't.

##Edit##

Tested all 6 slots. All of the brown ones (ABC 1) have not worked. Only the tan (ABC 2) have worked.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#17
I thought as much, something iffy with the mobo. Bad RAM slots are a dead giveaway.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#18
I thought as much, something iffy with the mobo. Bad RAM slots are a dead giveaway.
Upon just experiencing it recently with this Max 3 I am using right now, this is why I stressed the cooler. I had a Dark Knight installed on it and A1&2 didn't work AT ALL until I installed the H50.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,035 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name mine
Processor 2600k@5.2ghz 1.41 vcore
Motherboard asrock z77 OC Formula
Cooling pa120.3, apogee HD, mcp655 pump
Memory 16gigs ddr3 1600mhz sammy's @ 1886
Video Card(s) evga gtx470 under water on a seperate loop
Storage Crucial M4 128gig SSD
Display(s) HP 2511x 25inch led
Case none ATM
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750watt seasonic x-1250watt(dead)
Software win 8 pro 64bit
#19
sounds like psu issue to me aswell.

i'm currently dealing with the same issue. had to lower oc to stock, and unplug a few hard drives and fans to get stable. this happened after i added a second gtx 470 to my rig.

i would suggest buying the best psu you can afford. psu's are the heart of your rig, and usually get moved from build to build for a few years before retirement. i bought my pc power&cooling Silencer 750 Quad, back in 2007 and it has served me very well until now.

i just saw that you are running a decent brand 750watt psu, that should be enough to power the rig and a 580. keep in mind that a psu will loose output capacity over time. so if it is several years old like mine is, it may not be capable of 750watts anymore.

i'm not familiar with x58 platform so i can't offer any more help on the ram front.
 
Last edited:

Simusar

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#20
I don't overclock, haven't felt the need to.

With one RAM chip in each of the tan slots the BIOS shows 12 GB of useable RAM
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#21

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#22
don't go buying ANYTHING until you are sure you have a problem Put the 9800gtx back in and see if that solves the resetting ... sheese people will you read and think here ...
a: if the power supply was at fault there is a 70% chance that it would NOT cause the ram issue hes having
b: if the ram/cpu/socket is at fault then there is a 99% chance it WOULD cause the stability issue he is having ...
throwing parts at a problem when you dont even know for sure thats the issue is WRONG

A: pull the 580 out put the 9800gtx back in
B: up the VTTVCCIO voltage to 1.20v (+0.25mv should do it)
>test it;else
for the sake of humoring jrracing: do
pull the heatsink off the cpu pull the cpu from its socket and inspect the socket for bent pins and then reset everything with fresh paste ..
and you also might need to face the fact that the cpu you have simpley wont run more then 8 or 12gb of ram no matter what you do ... officially intel lists max support as 16gb but 99% of the time you need todo a lot of fiddling to get more then 8 to behave ...
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#23
where are you people.. getting this crap from .. that has absolutely nothing todo with anything ..... he hasnt touched his cooler or the mounting screws ...
was he using all the slots before? If he wasnt uising all the slots and got more ram and populated them then couldnt it be an issue?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#25
Shows 12GB as well.

And...

Computer still restarted once in-game graphics loaded
With 9800GTX or GTX580?

Ram issue isn't totally solved yet ..... try the other 3 sticks along with it you current ones next.

EDIT:

Saw your edit so it restarted with the 9800GTX also?