• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I have Crossfire !!!

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#1
I also have big time questions . First off they are both XFX HD5770 cards .
I need some help in setting them both up . I do not know this crossfire setup as well as I knew SLI . This is a new toy any one know what I should do first ( Before I start to benchmark ) ?
What do I do now ? I have the latest drivers installed , All I have done so far is just hook it up . The cat control panel took me to the crossfire setup and well that is all I have done so far . But I would really like to Optimize the set up . So any help suggestions Any thing at all ?
WOW first time for crossfire EVER ! I would like to run some benchmarks so post some suggestions for me as what to run . Thank You all .
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
What do I do now ? I have the latest drivers installed , All I have done so far is just hook it up . The cat control panel took me to the crossfire setup and well that is all I have done so far .
Nothing left to do. It's setup, no optimizations needed. Best to leave CCC settings at default.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#3
Nothing left to do. It's setup, no optimizations needed. Best to leave CCC settings at default.
Ok thank you .
Man that was easy too . :rockout: I am looking for some DX11 benchmarks just to see :D
I have to say WOW ! This is So COOL ! :rockout:
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#4
Ok I have another question . In CCC I can "see" both cards , But the "2nd" card is not giving any readings like The temp and also current values . They are all at 0 ? .
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#5
tahts normal its ULPS working some love it some hate it basically it shuts off the other card when its not used
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.95/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#7
run dx11 heaven bench and see if it activates card 2 if not you may need to manually force drivers to that card, had to do it when the 3870X2 came out and some of the 4XXX cards, havent heard much of it with the 5XXX cards though but its always an option in worst case scenario
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#8
run dx11 heaven bench and see if it activates card 2 if not you may need to manually force drivers to that card, had to do it when the 3870X2 came out and some of the 4XXX cards, havent heard much of it with the 5XXX cards though but its always an option in worst case scenario
Ok I will check now and see thank you .

Ok works fine !
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#9
Is this good ?

I went into CCC and ran the Auto tune .
Now here is what I am confused about .
875/1215 are the clock speeds of card #1
Card #2 clock speeds are 950/1435 .
Is this right ? why is the second card faster than the first card ?
 

Attachments

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#10
never run auto tune ever BLARG if memory speeds get to far the card auto throttles and u get worse performance manually overclock the cards seriously dont mess with auto tuners
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#11
never run auto tune ever BLARG if memory speeds get to far the card auto throttles and u get worse performance manually overclock the cards seriously dont mess with auto tuners
LOL . Yeah well I have been looking for a reference point to start with . But I think for now I am going to leave it at stock settings .
One thing I am having a hard time with is the fact that I no longer have a post boot up screen . I can not figure this out . I have only one monitor so I just tried the bottom card and I got the boot up screen ( Bios and all that ) but it would not leave the welcome screen I had to switch the monitor cable back to the top card . Any way I am confused . I also ( after doing that ) got some error message from CCC saying it could not start . It did start and all just strange shit happening .
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#12
reinstall the driver from scratch follow erockers guide that seems like driver issue the ccc thing as for post screen meh if it boots does it matter :toast:
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#13
reinstall the driver from scratch follow erockers guide that seems like driver issue the ccc thing as for post screen meh if it boots does it matter :toast:
Ok Yeah I think I will start the drivers from scratch .
Well yeah I like to see my post screen . You know you kind of get used to it . :D