• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I need a 2070 MaxQ refresh 115w vbios.

MezZo_Mix

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
Like the title said, I’m using a RB2020 with a 2070 MaxQ refresh, I successfully flashed a HP vbios with 105W and it worked. But since the refreshed 2070 MaxQ is an actual 115W card, I need a vbios dump. I can’t find a valid one on the internet and I won’t take the risk to find a false one. I will attach a GPUZ Screenshot, and in case you don’t know how to make a dump I will also tell how. Just open GPUZ, click on the arrow next to the BIOS Version tab. Save it and upload it somewhere for me.

Thanks in advance!
 

Attachments

  • Unbenannt.PNG
    Unbenannt.PNG
    38.3 KB · Views: 74

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Like the title said, I’m using a RB2020 with a 2070 MaxQ refresh, I successfully flashed a HP vbios with 105W and it worked. But since the refreshed 2070 MaxQ is an actual 115W card, I need a vbios dump. I can’t find a valid one on the internet and I won’t take the risk to find a false one. I will attach a GPUZ Screenshot, and in case you don’t know how to make a dump I will also tell how. Just open GPUZ, click on the arrow next to the BIOS Version tab. Save it and upload it somewhere for me.

Thanks in advance!
Can you please re-open GPU-Z and click the black arrow next to the white UEFI checkbox please?
Then attempt to upload the bios through GPU-Z to the VGA Bios Collection/database.
You may be prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link.
Please copy and paste that link here,
 

MezZo_Mix

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
Can you please re-open GPU-Z and click the black arrow next to the white UEFI checkbox please?
Then attempt to upload the bios through GPU-Z to the VGA Bios Collection/database.
You may be prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link.
Please copy and paste that link here,
It is actual already uploaded.



still searching for a 2070 MaxQ refresh 115w vbios.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,877 (3.30/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
But since the refreshed 2070 MaxQ is an actual 115W card, I need a vbios dump.
If the card is really officially rated for 115W out of the box, then it will already come with a BIOS that will allow it to work at this level, so you don't need to flash it.

Are you trying to flash a card which you believe is capable of this performance, but not officially rated for it out of the box? I can't see any other reason for wanting to flash it.

What brand is this card?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,715 (0.76/day)
System Name MSI GP76
Processor intel i7 11800h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 3070
Storage x2 PNY 8tb cs2130 m.2 SSD--16tb of space
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 240Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
The 2070 max-q was not rated at 115w, I think it was rated somewhere at 80-90w.

Are you looking for a 2070 super bios. I have a 115w 2070 super laptop from MSI.
 

MezZo_Mix

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
The 2070 max-q was not rated at 115w, I think it was rated somewhere at 80-90w.

Are you looking for a 2070 super bios. I have a 115w 2070 super laptop from MSI.

Thanks for the answer. I also believe the only way to get this 2070 up to 115W is via a hardware flasher to bypass the all the security Nvidia put in. Or more like a have to flash it into a normal mobile 2070.


Are you trying to flash a card which you believe is capable of this performance, but not officially rated for it out of the box? I can't see any other reason for wanting to flash it. If the card is really officially rated for 115W out of the box, then it will already come with a BIOS that will allow it to work at this level, so you don't need to flash it.
What brand is this
according to This. The RTX2070 “MaxQ” refresh is ratet at 115W. I’m already using the 105W vbios from HP. And it really gave me a almost very good FPS boost and higher benchmark points. Im using a Razer Blade 15 2020 with a 2070 MaxQ refresh. Temps peaking at 75 at max. Even with the higher vbios no temperature difference. Also undervolted it a little bit, combined with an OC of +770mem and about +180core.

Also a note here: Razer Blade Pro 17inch users with a 2070 MaxQ have a 100W vbios pre installed.

Oof it doesnt even give you wattage, also HP does white listing on mobile

What do you mean? I flashed the vbios and got more FPS since then and a higher 3DMark score on the gpu. Dark Souls 3 runs now with about 90-110fps. Before the flash it was about 80-90. Every game I tested runs much better and with higher FPS. No mans sky was running with like 55-75fps before the flash flash and now I see more like 60~ - 80~. I also opens the vbios and it’s "rated" for 80-105w.


Left is the stock vbios, and right the HP one.
 

Attachments

  • 29D3B2D9-722E-45BA-A931-721C9116D3C3.png
    29D3B2D9-722E-45BA-A931-721C9116D3C3.png
    780.2 KB · Views: 45
  • prof.JPG
    prof.JPG
    106 KB · Views: 40
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,715 (0.76/day)
System Name MSI GP76
Processor intel i7 11800h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 3070
Storage x2 PNY 8tb cs2130 m.2 SSD--16tb of space
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 240Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Thanks for the answer. I also believe the only way to get this 2070 up to 115W is via a hardware flasher to bypass the all the security Nvidia put in. Or more like a have to flash it into a normal mobile 2070.



according to This. The RTX2070 “MaxQ” refresh is ratet at 115W. I’m already using the 105W vbios from HP. And it really gave me a almost very good FPS boost and higher benchmark points. Im using a Razer Blade 15 2020 with a 2070 MaxQ refresh. Temps peaking at 75 at max. Even with the higher vbios no temperature difference. Also undervolted it a little bit, combined with an OC of +770mem and about +180core.

Also a note here: Razer Blade Pro 17inch users with a 2070 MaxQ have a 100W vbios pre installed.



What do you mean? I flashed the vbios and got more FPS since then and a higher 3DMark score on the gpu. Dark Souls 3 runs now with about 90-110fps. Before the flash it was about 80-90. Every game I tested runs much better and with higher FPS. No mans sky was running with like 55-75fps before the flash flash and now I see more like 60~ - 80~. I also opens the vbios and it’s "rated" for 80-105w.


Left is the stock vbios, and right the HP one.
I've never heard of a 2070 refresh, don't you mean the 2070 super.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks for the answer. I also believe the only way to get this 2070 up to 115W is via a hardware flasher to bypass the all the security Nvidia put in. Or more like a have to flash it into a normal mobile 2070.



according to This. The RTX2070 “MaxQ” refresh is ratet at 115W. I’m already using the 105W vbios from HP. And it really gave me a almost very good FPS boost and higher benchmark points. Im using a Razer Blade 15 2020 with a 2070 MaxQ refresh. Temps peaking at 75 at max. Even with the higher vbios no temperature difference. Also undervolted it a little bit, combined with an OC of +770mem and about +180core.

Also a note here: Razer Blade Pro 17inch users with a 2070 MaxQ have a 100W vbios pre installed.



What do you mean? I flashed the vbios and got more FPS since then and a higher 3DMark score on the gpu. Dark Souls 3 runs now with about 90-110fps. Before the flash it was about 80-90. Every game I tested runs much better and with higher FPS. No mans sky was running with like 55-75fps before the flash flash and now I see more like 60~ - 80~. I also opens the vbios and it’s "rated" for 80-105w.


Left is the stock vbios, and right the HP one.

On the TPU vga bios database, under details it doesnt even mention the tdp, so its a crapshoot. You will need to look through the database and check files individually to see what may work. I can't use the tool as my pc is in storage.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,877 (3.30/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
No it is an actual refresh of the 2070, I believe released early 2020.
NVIDIA have only ever hard the original 2070 and the 2070 SUPER.

Same deal with my 2080 SUPER.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
12,293 (2.12/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
NVIDIA have only ever hard the original 2070 and the 2070 SUPER.
And even then, did the Supers end up in laptops at all?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,715 (0.76/day)
System Name MSI GP76
Processor intel i7 11800h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 3070
Storage x2 PNY 8tb cs2130 m.2 SSD--16tb of space
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 240Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
And even then, did the Supers end up in laptops at all?
Yes it did, I had one until 3-4 months ago, MSI GE75, with the 2070 super.
 

MezZo_Mix

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
6 (0.08/day)

Literally the first few sentence:

The GeForce RTX 2070 Max-Q Refresh is a mobile graphics chip by NVIDIA, launched on March 4th, 2020. Built on the 12 nm process, and based on the TU106B graphics processor, the chip supports DirectX 12 Ultimate.

Im not stupid or something else, it’s literally posted on TechPowerUp. It’s not a super it’s a refresh with vram that needs less volt. You can’t flash a normal 2070 maxQ vbios, only refresh versions work.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,877 (3.30/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

MezZo_Mix

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
That's a laptop chip, so I was right.

Have you been posting about a laptop graphics card all this time without making that clear?


The title literally says maxQ… if you just had read post number 7# for just a few seconds. How many times I have to mention MaxQ or that I’m using a Razer blade.


That’s made up right?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,877 (3.30/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
The title literally says maxQ… if you just had read post number 7# for just a few seconds. How many times I have to mention MaxQ or that I’m using a Razer blade.


That’s made up right?
Don't be so sarcastic ffs.

You state something significant like that in the first post, not the 7th as it's pretty central to the whole discussion, otherwise you're just misleading the people trying to help you. And the fact you mentioned max q doesn't cover it either, as not everyone is familiar with it.
 
Last edited:
Top