• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I need a new monitor...

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#1
Ye ol' 17" CRT died about a month ago. I already bought a StarTech SV431DDUSB KVM with DVI-D and VGA support (digital monitors look best with a digital signal and PS/2 is going away anyway :(). Some time this month, I am going to be replacing monitor...

Requirements:
  1. Must be great for gaming and software development.
  2. Cabinet no wider than 26" and must be black.
  3. If it has an ATSC tuner, remote, or speakers, they won't be used.
  4. Approximately $300 USD budget, prefer ordering it from Amazon or Newegg unless some other retailer has a great deal.
  5. Must be able to auto-switch between DVI-D and VGA sources in order to work with my new KVM.
  6. The longer the manufacturer warranty, the better.
  7. Must be able to tilt; swivel and height adjustments aren't necessary.
  8. I will not use any built in USB or HDMI capabilities.
  9. If it doesn't include a male-male VGA cable, I'll have to factor in the purchase price of a 6' VGA cable. I already have good quality DVI-D male-male cables.

I was looking at the Samsung T240 but I'm wary of all the mediocre/poor reviews it got.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,781 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,772
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
Preferred/min resolution?
 
Joined
May 13, 2009
Messages
176 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
Processor Core i7 @ 3.5GHz stock voltage
Motherboard MSI Eclipse
Cooling Noctua NH-12P SE
Memory 6 GB 1066MHz
Video Card(s) 2x GTX260 @ 701/1506
Storage Raptor 74 GB
Display(s) NEC MultiSync 2080UX+
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Win7
#3
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#4

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
1,172 (0.31/day)
Likes
148
Location
UK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3.40GHz (400x8.5)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev 1.1
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x Crucial Ballistix DDR2 2GB 4:5 @ 500MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 560Ti 1GB TOP Edition
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD + WD Black 500GB WD5001AALS
Display(s) Samsung P2370HD @ 1920x1080 60Hz
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24-bit w/ Creative Inspire T6060 5.1 200W
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 600w
Software Windows 7 Professional Edition SP1 64-bit
#7
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
350 (0.12/day)
Likes
46
Location
Westminster, B.C
System Name Asus G60vx
Processor Intel P7450 @ 2.666 MHz (setfsb)
Motherboard Intel PM45 Rev 07 + ICH9-M Rev 03
Cooling Stock
Memory Hyundai DDR2 800 @ 1000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX260 1024MB 256-bit
Storage 250GB SATA 2 (5400rpm) *time to upgrade*
Display(s) 1366x768 @ 90hz
Case Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Stock
Software Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
#8
that sucks your crt died. I guess when you get your LCD you will see some input lag. Good luck anyway
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#9
Any advantage/disadvantage of that over the Samsung T240 (except price)?


i do like the T240HD version. you just cant go wrong with a samsung monitor (unless you just an unlucky person)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824001280
Blah, the ATSC tuner version is cheaper than the standard monitor. Why must they torment me? The only reservations I have about T240HD over T240 is that a) I'll never use the ATSC tuner/speakers and b) it would be more inclined to autoselect the wrong source with my complex KVM. I think, in my situation, simpiler will pay for itself.


that sucks your crt died. I guess when you get your LCD you will see some input lag. Good luck anyway
Very few manufacturers (if any) still make CRTs. I really don't have a choice unless I go refurb. :(
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,911 (1.11/day)
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
#10
I think Samsung's are overrated. They are nice, but ASUS monitor's are just as good. Unless you're big into photography or video editing, or are simply a monitor nut, the ASUS monitor would do just fine. Read what the buyers report, also check out reviews. It's no worse/better than the Samsung, but the price is certainly nice.

If you are big on refresh rates, look into 120Hz LCD's.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824116402&Tpk=120hz lcd
http://www.samsung.com/us/news/newsRead.do?news_seq=11954&page=1

You will be limited to 1680x1050 though. If I had the money, I'd get a 24" Apple Cinema display. If you've never seen one in action, don't dare leave a negative comment about them. They are wonderful displays. :) . If your big into quality, don't forget about Dell's UltraSharp series. Those are very nice too.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,781 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,772
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#11
You will be limited to 1680x1050 though. If I had the money, I'd get a 24" Apple Cinema display. If you've never seen one in action, don't dare leave a negative comment about them. They are wonderful displays. :) . If your big into quality, don't forget about Dell's UltraSharp series. Those are very nice too.
The irony is the Dell 2405FPW was the same panel as the apple. I don't know about the 2408FPW, but I'm staring at one right now.

Funny thing is I miss my Samsung T260HD thats at home - I'm in love with that monitor, despite the fact it's a TN panel with a response time that's not as good as this Dell.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#12
The T260 has possibility--it's not that much more expensive than the T240 but again, HD is cheaper than non-HD. How well does that T260HD auto-detect a source? If you plug in a DVI and VGA cable to the monitor, does it automatically switch to the one that is plugged in if you unplug the other?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#13
i just got the new samsung 2494HM 24 inch model and it is way better than that 240 model out there and a few bucks cheaper. you may wanna check it out in person though.

note: this is a 1080p panel so not 1920x1200
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.76/day)
Likes
465
#14

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#15
i just got the new samsung 2494HM 24 inch model and it is way better than that 240 model out there and a few bucks cheaper. you may wanna check it out in person though.

note: this is a 1080p panel so not 1920x1200
What changed besides the resolution? Anything noteworthy?


You bet me to it, I have this monitor and LOVE IT!!! :rockout:

My favs are samsung or asus, never had a problem either one. Only replace them due monitor size ;) Went from LCD 17" Samsung to Westington LCD TV27" to Asus LCD 24" 1080p. 24" is alot easier on the eyes :p
Can you try what I said here:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1619957&postcount=12

If the Asus can quickly switch between VGA and D-Sub without putting up any fuss, it looks like the better route to go...


One advanatage of the T240/T260 over the Asus is that the Samsung displays have an "Auto Source" button to make it search for a new source. Obviously, if the Asus autmoatically detects a source great, there's no reason for it. I can't find anything that says whether or not the 2494HM has that button.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#16
What changed besides the resolution? Anything noteworthy?



Can you try what I said here:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1619957&postcount=12

If the Asus can quickly switch between VGA and D-Sub without putting up any fuss, it looks like the better route to go...


One advanatage of the T240/T260 over the Asus is that the Samsung displays have an "Auto Source" button to make it search for a new source. Obviously, if the Asus autmoatically detects a source great, there's no reason for it. I can't find anything that says whether or not the 2494HM has that button.
the 2494hm indeed has the source button which auto checks. as far as what else is different, it is really up to your personal screen preference. the 1080p has a better pixel pitch because of the slightly smaller res but that is normal since all lcd manufacturers use the same tech in the models of the same size.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#17
Could you try DVI-D + VGA on that monitor to see if it automatically detects which source actually has a signal? That's really my biggest concern because I probably use my KVM 10 times on the average day and having to push an extra button on the monitor everytime I switch will be annoying.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#18
Could you try DVI-D + VGA on that monitor to see if it automatically detects which source actually has a signal? That's really my biggest concern because I probably use my KVM 10 times on the average day and having to push an extra button on the monitor everytime I switch will be annoying.
I have a 2493HM and it will detect the correct port that has a signal if Auto-source is on.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#19
So, to clarify: if the monitor is set to auto, and it is currently getting a signal via analog, if you were to unplug the analog cable leaving the DVI cable in, it will automatically switch over? Likewise, if you were to unplug the DVI cable and plug the VGA cable in, it will switch back to analog? That's effectively what the KVM will be doing.

The other question would be what resolutions do games usually support? 1920x1080 or 1920x1200?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.76/day)
Likes
465
#20
What changed besides the resolution? Anything noteworthy?



Can you try what I said here:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1619957&postcount=12

If the Asus can quickly switch between VGA and D-Sub without putting up any fuss, it looks like the better route to go...


One advanatage of the T240/T260 over the Asus is that the Samsung displays have an "Auto Source" button to make it search for a new source. Obviously, if the Asus autmoatically detects a source great, there's no reason for it. I can't find anything that says whether or not the 2494HM has that button.

Yes the ASUS monitor has the auto source, by default it's on. You can change this setting in the menu.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#21
But the question is, will it correctly auto-source on KVM switch--any of them?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#22
On the KVM I use you have to press the monitor switch as well. Of course you could put up with an analogue signal from both pcs or buy a DVI KVM switch !
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#23
unfortunately i think the only way you will know for sure is to try it out :ohwell:
 
Joined
May 13, 2009
Messages
176 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
Processor Core i7 @ 3.5GHz stock voltage
Motherboard MSI Eclipse
Cooling Noctua NH-12P SE
Memory 6 GB 1066MHz
Video Card(s) 2x GTX260 @ 701/1506
Storage Raptor 74 GB
Display(s) NEC MultiSync 2080UX+
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Win7
#24
I can't stand TN displays because of viewing angles and color distortion (vertical or horizontal). The Dell eIPS has nearly 180 degrees, while all TN claim only 160-170 and that is after the manufacturers changed the rules how that angle is measured. With large sizes (above 20") the small viewing angle will mess up the color fidelity in the edges of the screen. Furthermore, it will change colors even more when you change the distance to the monitor, or rotate in portrait. My best example would be to go to Fry's or BB and look at the rows of monitors on an angle- all gray. Watch the video closely in the link I posted- you will see how the color stays the same while the monitor is being rotated, regardless of the angle. Good luck getting that from TN.
Check this out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dell_monitors
Unfortunately E248WFP is 6-bit TN.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#25
So, to clarify: if the monitor is set to auto, and it is currently getting a signal via analog, if you were to unplug the analog cable leaving the DVI cable in, it will automatically switch over? Likewise, if you were to unplug the DVI cable and plug the VGA cable in, it will switch back to analog? That's effectively what the KVM will be doing.

The other question would be what resolutions do games usually support? 1920x1080 or 1920x1200?
I will double check the auto-source, but yes I do believe it will atomatically select where there is a signal.

All games today pretty much support 1920x1080 (16:9) and 1920x1200 (16:10). I really haven't run into anything that doesn't.