1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i need a program to test how much my +12v drops when playing a game

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Live OR Die, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    need a program to see if my +12v rail drops

    is 11.65 on a +12v rail to low
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    dude..... asus probe...

    specific for asus mobos, will give you actual reading
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    there should be a record option with the asus probe that will record your temps fans and voltages. i use it all the time when it is hot out to make sure nothing is getting too hot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,866 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,322
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    Asus probe is quite unreliable for accurate readings.

    Just get a voltmeter/digital multimeter dude, for $10-$20 you can have accurate readings, that dont rely on software.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    but a multimeter is NO GOOD is your card is running on an isolated rail if measuring from another... you would have to go to the back power connector pins on the card with the multimeter

    but that would sort ya out
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    thanks will download asus pc probe
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    954 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    DMM is the best option... software is not really accurate
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Buy a DMM. It will come handy many times afterwards...
    An isolated rail for the GFX card, you say?
    Then tell me how would Asus Probe measure it if it actually was an isolated rail for the GFX? ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Jonnycat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    PNW
    You can get a multimeter cheap, like this one, and you can use it for a lot of other things, too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,866 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,322
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.

    Well yes... his question never mentioned the video card rail, so no need to go off the rails on that one.

    If he wants to measure the power to his video card, he does need to measure that cable in particular, but its also tricky as some card power comes from the mobo and you cant measure that voltage.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,194 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    Shouldn't need to measure that voltage as the mobo should have that locked down tight :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    my +12V rail is only 11.65 thats isn't right is it and its not the PSU would it be my MB
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,194 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    11.65 would probably be giving you stability issues.

    If you're reading this from the mobo, just pretend it doesn't exist because its no legitimate indication of anything other than your mobo has a "sensor".

    If thats AsusProbe, its reading the exact same sensor speed fan is reading.

    2 programs reading an innaccurate probe will yield the exact same result. An inaccurate reading.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    im reading it from the bios and speed fan the same reading what would make it that low
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,194 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    PSU voltages droop that low when the PSU is incapapble of handling your system load.

    You look to have a 750w toughpower. I would STRONGLY suggest locating and using a digital multimeter to double check.


    Is there anyone on this forum NOT having problems with a TT Toughpower?

    I thought TT was shaping up, but I guess they're still a steamy heap when it comes to items that matter :shadedshu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    iv have tried 3 new power PSU 2 750w and a 800 didn't help and 11.65v is in the bios when windows is running still show the same
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,194 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Means the sensor isn't accurate. Don't use it. period.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    so i shouldn't use the mb
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,825 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    nah, your psu is spot on mate, if you check it with a DMM, you'll see it's almost bang on 12v. They're good PSU's ;)

    Aparently my 12v rail is 10.03v on my P5K Deluxe :laugh:
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    thanks this program called PC Wizard 2007 from the people how made cpu z reads it as 13.05v well the hell is that reading it from?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,825 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    hopefully not the vcore :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,194 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Whatever it can find.

    Its not even worth time trying to get them to work, wondering why they don't work, or even caring they exist, really.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    well pc wizrard 2007 is useing sensor ITE IT8718F and speed fan is useing this one IT8712F and EVEREST reads from the same one as pc wizrard 2007 so how dose that work out? and pc wizrard 2007 is the only one that looks right can some one test pc wizrard 2007 on there system and post back thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,194 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Different programs may translate the 'reading" recieved from these sensorys a little bit differently.

    Regardless it shouldn't matter as neither way are accurate.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    thanks but if it is that low that maybe why i can't oc over 1360 fsb with out it crashing
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)