• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I need advice on a router

Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#1
I need advice on a router. My current WRT54GL running Tomato apparently isn't good enough for my current connection. I'm getting huge lag through the router, so I have to take the router out in order to have stable online gaming. I got this with all previous, and even cheaper routers. The problem with the current method is, I have to disconnect my 2 folding boxes. What the heck kind of router do I need to keep latency/lag down? Please help, this has been going on for years, and my isp has ripped up all lines and replaced with fibre optics, so I just shouldn't be dealing with this.....
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
1,362 (0.46/day)
Likes
633
Location
TX
System Name Beast, little beast
Processor Core i7 2600K 4.5GHZ 24/7, Core i7 Xeon6 core 3.6GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 1155Sckt, EVGA X58 sckt 1366
Cooling H80, H100
Memory 24 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill RipJaws,12 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) 1 Nvidia 670 eVGA FTW, 1 Nvidia 580 eVGA
Storage 1- WD Black 640GB, 1X Samsung 1.5TB, 2 X 160 WD Veloc Raptors Raided
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" 1920X1200, Acer 24" 1920X1200
Case rig#1 Dismatech test bench, rig#2 Made By Bill Tech Bench
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec 1000 Watt, PC power&cooling 850 watt
Software both Rig's, Win7 64Bit
Benchmark Scores rig #1 4.8GHZ @ 1.375 Volts. running 4.5GHZ 1.272 Volts 24/7. Rig #2 4.6GHZ @ 1.3 Volts 24/7.
#2
I use a Dlink DIR-655, connect 4 wired computers, 3 wireless laptops and a Wii at the same time with no lag at all. 3 of those are full time folders.:)
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#3
I use a Rosewill RNX-GX4 that connects 3 wired rigs and a 8-Port 10/100 switch to feed the rest of the rigs. I used to use a WRT54G, but the ol' VM's we used to run would crash it several times a day. No issues with the Rosewill router and it accepts Tomato. What about a firmware upgrade for the Linksys?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#4
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,443 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,867
#5
I use a Dlink DIR-655, connect 4 wired computers, 3 wireless laptops and a Wii at the same time with no lag at all. 3 of those are full time folders.:)
+1

This router is on the cheap end of prices. but it's not crippled. It doesn't support 3rd party firmware, but for a home network you really won't need the extra features. Otherwise; it's been running for 6 months continuously without so much as being warm to the touch, doesn't choke with multiple (8 between wired and wireless) connections, and has enough features to be very friendly for bandwidth control.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
I switched from my WRT54GL to a E1000 when the WRT54GL could no long keep up with my internet connection(though the WRT54GL should be good for any connection under 25Mb/s). I run USBTomato on it, because I love the Tomato firmware so much.

Plus you can pick them up for $30.

Haven't had any issues with lag or poor pings with it.

The RT-N16 is probably the most bad ass router you can get, and since it also supports USBTomato, you can load that on it and have the interface you are already used to from your WRT54GL.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#7
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#8
If anyone could recommend under $100 routers on ncix, I'd appreciate it!
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#9
Good lord!!! I sure like it though....
Edit: found one router.. http://ncix.com/products/?sku=55875&vpn=E1000-CA&manufacture=Linksys
Yea, I was going to say the same thing. A router that has an integrated CPU and RAM, seems a bit much IMO. But I guess it would benefit the user if he/she is a bandwidth fiend and uses every ounce of the connection to it's limits.
I've got a 15MB connection and this is my router:Linksys WRT160N Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/...
Never had any problems with it thus far, unlike some people.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#10
Having a bad net day:

Nope, bad internet day for me!!
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
888 (0.25/day)
Likes
139
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#11
I wish I had that "bad net day". :laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#12
This thread is a of much interest to me. I'm still in the market for wireless routers that can handle megatons of simultaneous connections, and epic quantities of bandwidth.

Scenario A) There are about 6 or 7 students and they all like to torrent, as many students do, which utterly obliterates the single WRT54G router.
Scenario B) There are far fewer connections but a huge amount of high bandwidth content being zipped around over a decently large wireless network.

To solve scenario A I've considering setting up a gateway server using a cheap quad-core (AthlonII X4) and using a couple access points to link it together and distribute the load. The RT-N16 might be a cheaper solution.

For scenario B I'm planning on just setting up a single commercial router and then running CAT6 to several dual-band n-wireless access points.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
50
Processor i7-6800K @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99 Strix
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Scythe AP-15
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (8GB x 4)@ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB + Corsair Force 3 120GB + WD Black 1TB + SG 7200.14 3TB
Display(s) DELL U3415W
Case Cosmos SE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS
Mouse Corsair K70 MX Brown
Keyboard Razer Mamba
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#13
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,482 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeXBill
I use a Dlink DIR-655, connect 4 wired computers, 3 wireless laptops and a Wii at the same time with no lag at all. 3 of those are full time folders.

1

This router is on the cheap end of prices. but it's not crippled. It doesn't support 3rd party firmware, but for a home network you really won't need the extra features. Otherwise; it's been running for 6 months continuously without so much as being warm to the touch, doesn't choke with multiple (8 between wired and wireless) connections, and has enough features to be very friendly for bandwidth control.

+1
+1

I have two of these, both sets of parents have one, my brother has one. HW vers...A3, A4, B1. All "A" versions on firmware 1.35NA. Bother's (B1) firmware? Sent him new firmware, v 203NA, last week.

None have failed. Oldest two, mom's and mine, are 4 years old approx.

I thought I had one on the blink so I bought another, it's in the box as a backup.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
952 (0.27/day)
Likes
403
Processor i7 5820K
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4
Cooling Swiftech ApogeeXT + EK-FC R9-290X DCII (2) + 3x120mm Rad + 1x120mm Rad + 2xDDC1T W/XSPC Dual pumpto
Memory 16GB Gskill DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5 + ASUS R9290X-4GD5
Storage Corsair ForceGT 120GB + Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 3TB Seagate + MediaSonic Raid array (4x 3TB WDRED)
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z (1440P 144Hz, TN, Freesync) & 2x ASUS VE248
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Aune T1/Fiio E17/Realtek, SE535, TH-X00, ATH-M50 modded w/ V-Moda Boompro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Sharkoon Fireglider optical
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog CH Pro Pedals
#15
Yea, I was going to say the same thing. A router that has an integrated CPU and RAM, seems a bit much IMO. But I guess it would benefit the user if he/she is a bandwidth fiend and uses every ounce of the connection to it's limits.
I've got a 15MB connection and this is my router:Linksys WRT160N Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/...
Never had any problems with it thus far, unlike some people.
:wtf:

All routers have a CPU and some form of RAM. How do you expect they work, magic?

This one just has more, and a faster proc. That generally is more of an issue when you have lots of connections (Torrents, Gnutella, other forms of P2P) than a lot of bandwidth (Steam). Having multiple computers connected all torrenting will knock most consumer routers out pretty fast.

EDIT - a better way of saying that is: It's easier to hit the connection limit of a given router's ability than the bandwidth limit, for all but the fastest internet connections.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#16
:wtf:

All routers have a CPU and some form of RAM. How do you expect they work, magic?

This one just has more, and a faster proc. That generally is more of an issue when you have lots of connections (Torrents, Gnutella, other forms of P2P) than a lot of bandwidth (Steam). Having multiple computers connected all torrenting will knock most consumer routers out pretty fast.
I've never seen CPU or RAM in MOST routers's spec sheets. Maybe they just don't put them down, I don't know. I thought all routers ran on protocols, firmware/software and communicated with your isp and routed traffic through its hardware in correlation to what frequency bands they operate on. Can you link a source to your statement please?
I don't know much about networking, that's why I'm a bit curious.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
952 (0.27/day)
Likes
403
Processor i7 5820K
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4
Cooling Swiftech ApogeeXT + EK-FC R9-290X DCII (2) + 3x120mm Rad + 1x120mm Rad + 2xDDC1T W/XSPC Dual pumpto
Memory 16GB Gskill DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5 + ASUS R9290X-4GD5
Storage Corsair ForceGT 120GB + Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 3TB Seagate + MediaSonic Raid array (4x 3TB WDRED)
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z (1440P 144Hz, TN, Freesync) & 2x ASUS VE248
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Aune T1/Fiio E17/Realtek, SE535, TH-X00, ATH-M50 modded w/ V-Moda Boompro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Sharkoon Fireglider optical
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog CH Pro Pedals
#17
A router is an embedded computing device. Most modern routers run on a linux-based firmware. How exactly does one run firmware/software without a processor? We're not talking Sandybridge here, we're talking a specialized, usually ARM based processor. Broadcom and others have liscenced the ARM architecture and designed their own chips. These aren't full-featured general purpose x86 devices, they're tailored to what they do. We're not (usually) talking DDRx but some form of NAND used as storage and ram.

How do you "run on a protocol"? How do you get a configurable webpage out of a purely electrical device? Does your incandescant lightbulb produce a webpage? You don't get protocol from constant voltage by simple circuitry, you need some form of intgrated circuit (the circuits would be too bulky to build from discrete components). Even the LAN card in your computer has its own processor. It's even less complex. a simple Microcontroller which controls I/O in response to signalling from the bus (PCI/PCIe)


The realm of what is a basic IC to what is a Microcontroller to what is a CPU is kind of blurred. The processor in any router is a specialized device, meant for, you guessed it: routing Ethernet traffic. In order for it to do things like NAT, SPI Firewall and webpage production it needs to have some general purpose computing capability, but many functions are culled to save transistor count, energy use,heat, and production cost.

Here's a good basic description, from the University of Virginia Computer Science department, no less. Link, PDF


If you really want a more indepth analysis, go google it.

EDIT - After reading what I wrote, I realise it may come off as condescending. That's not my intention. I'm just trying to be straightforward.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,443 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,867
#18
I've never seen CPU or RAM in MOST routers's spec sheets. Maybe they just don't put them down, I don't know. I thought all routers ran on protocols, firmware/software and communicated with your isp and routed traffic through its hardware in correlation to what frequency bands they operate on. Can you link a source to your statement please?
I don't know much about networking, that's why I'm a bit curious.
The most spectacular way to demonstrate this is using the good old wrt54g router from Linksys. Check out the wikipedia page listing the variations in hardware between revisions: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wrt54g


A little bit of history here. Linksys utilized a GPL based kernel in their initial firmware to run the wrt54g. To save more money, they had 1 initial router model, but crippled the consumer version in firmware. Once people discovered the kernel's basis, Linksys was forced to open the source code (very simplified, read up on the topic if you are actually interested). Once the source code was opened, people re-enabled the more expensive functions of the router, making a $100 router a $600 router. Linksys was, understandably, miffed by the losses in sales of the $600 routers. In order to reclaim the market, they started to release less functional consumer grade models (less rom, ram, and slower processors). So started the crippling of the wrt54g, and the subsequent push for smaller and smaller firmware.


Back on topic. Routers don't need to be connected to the internet to work. They must therefore be able to dynamically assign IPs, route packets, and maintain communications. All of this requires a processor, rom (non-volatile memory, like an HDD on a normal computer), and ram (storage for an IP/identifier table).

Increasing rom allows for more features on the router. A larger firmware file, assuming optimized coding, means more functionality. Increasing ram allows for larger tables, and thus routing efficiency increases and a larger device pool. Increasing processor speed allows for more data to be sent. More data means more connections, which means that chronic torrenters won't crash the network.


On a side note:
Hub: Everyone shares all traffic.
Switch: Fastest solution that segregates traffic. Does not assign IP (no discrete processing), but will respond to any assigned IP schemes.
Router: Assigns IPs, segregates traffic, and creates artificial networks (ever wonder why so many people can have an internal IP of 192.168.0.xxx). It pays for these functions by requiring much greater processing, and more complex systems (ie higher cost).
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
This thread is a of much interest to me. I'm still in the market for wireless routers that can handle megatons of simultaneous connections, and epic quantities of bandwidth.

Scenario A) There are about 6 or 7 students and they all like to torrent, as many students do, which utterly obliterates the single WRT54G router.
Scenario B) There are far fewer connections but a huge amount of high bandwidth content being zipped around over a decently large wireless network.

To solve scenario A I've considering setting up a gateway server using a cheap quad-core (AthlonII X4) and using a couple access points to link it together and distribute the load. The RT-N16 might be a cheaper solution.

For scenario B I'm planning on just setting up a single commercial router and then running CAT6 to several dual-band n-wireless access points.
Scenario A) Really this is where the amount of RAM a router has comes into play the most. The WRT54GL has 16MB of RAM, the standard WRT54G has only 8MB, the E1000 has 32MB, and the E3000 has 64MB. I find that 16MB is enough for a single user torrenting, maybe 2 if they aren't each downloading like 100 things at once. While 32MB can handle a pretty decent load from 4-5 people torrenting, but most connections(at least in the US) will be maxed out on bandwidth before a 32MB router runs out of memory in this situation.

Now, speaking of bandwidth, that is where the CPU on a router comes into play. The CPU on the standard WRT54G and WRT54GL is a Broadcom chip running at 200MHz. At that speed the router is good up to about 22Mb/s, any more than that and the CPU starts to choke the bandwidth. Overclock the CPU to 250MHz and the bandwidth the router can handle jumps to about 33Mb/s. Now if you move to a router like the E100 the CPU is clocked at 300MHz as well as being a more efficient CPU, so the bandwidth the router can handle jumpes even further(the fastest connection I've tested my E1000 with was a 60Mb/s Cable connection and it handled it fine).
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
952 (0.27/day)
Likes
403
Processor i7 5820K
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4
Cooling Swiftech ApogeeXT + EK-FC R9-290X DCII (2) + 3x120mm Rad + 1x120mm Rad + 2xDDC1T W/XSPC Dual pumpto
Memory 16GB Gskill DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5 + ASUS R9290X-4GD5
Storage Corsair ForceGT 120GB + Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 3TB Seagate + MediaSonic Raid array (4x 3TB WDRED)
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z (1440P 144Hz, TN, Freesync) & 2x ASUS VE248
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Aune T1/Fiio E17/Realtek, SE535, TH-X00, ATH-M50 modded w/ V-Moda Boompro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Sharkoon Fireglider optical
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog CH Pro Pedals
#20
^ Good post. I was pretty sure of the CPU vs. RAM scenarios from random things I've read but I didn't want to comment as I don't have a link to back it up nor a connection anywhere near fast enough to approach the limits of the lowliest of router CPU, so I just posted about the connections->RAM problem. Your description was better anyway :)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#21
I've already oced my router cpu ect, but I guess for the traffic I put through it, it's not enough. And I can't keep disconnecting my network every time I want to game online. So looks like a 100 spot for a router...........
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#22
Scenario A) Really this is where the amount of RAM a router has comes into play the most. The WRT54GL has 16MB of RAM, the standard WRT54G has only 8MB, the E1000 has 32MB, and the E3000 has 64MB. I find that 16MB is enough for a single user torrenting, maybe 2 if they aren't each downloading like 100 things at once. While 32MB can handle a pretty decent load from 4-5 people torrenting, but most connections(at least in the US) will be maxed out on bandwidth before a 32MB router runs out of memory in this situation.
I've noticed the students pick torrents which start a huge number of connections (albeit slow ones). Consequently I'm planning for worst-case-scenario and I think the ASUS RT-N16 (as mentioned earlier) fits that bill with its monstrous 128MB RAM and modest $90 price tag.
Now, speaking of bandwidth, that is where the CPU on a router comes into play. The CPU on the standard WRT54G and WRT54GL is a Broadcom chip running at 200MHz. At that speed the router is good up to about 22Mb/s, any more than that and the CPU starts to choke the bandwidth. Overclock the CPU to 250MHz and the bandwidth the router can handle jumps to about 33Mb/s. Now if you move to a router like the E100 the CPU is clocked at 300MHz as well as being a more efficient CPU, so the bandwidth the router can handle jumpes even further(the fastest connection I've tested my E1000 with was a 60Mb/s Cable connection and it handled it fine).
I'm confused. Are you saying that you can't run 100Mb/s through a 100Mb/s router?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
952 (0.27/day)
Likes
403
Processor i7 5820K
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4
Cooling Swiftech ApogeeXT + EK-FC R9-290X DCII (2) + 3x120mm Rad + 1x120mm Rad + 2xDDC1T W/XSPC Dual pumpto
Memory 16GB Gskill DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5 + ASUS R9290X-4GD5
Storage Corsair ForceGT 120GB + Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 3TB Seagate + MediaSonic Raid array (4x 3TB WDRED)
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z (1440P 144Hz, TN, Freesync) & 2x ASUS VE248
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Aune T1/Fiio E17/Realtek, SE535, TH-X00, ATH-M50 modded w/ V-Moda Boompro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Sharkoon Fireglider optical
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog CH Pro Pedals
#24
Worth noting: Under some (most?) circumstances that's only true for LAN-WAN and WAN-LAN traffic. Most routers (all newer ones should) avoid running traffic through the CPU as much as possible. WAN-LAN and vice versa necessitates CPU use (NAT, Routing table lookup) in all but the big-boy routers in top end commercial hardware (and probably even in that hardware, too). LAN-LAN traffic can be handled by the inbuilt switch. How sophisticated and seperated the switch hardware from CPU is in a consumer router, is another matter. (If at all, depending on architecture... see the PDF I linked)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#25
There's overhead as well. You have to account for that as well. Nothing is ever clean.....
And I need zero latency, with multiple computers connected.....
 
Last edited: